We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Purist Villas and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Purist Villas and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
4.5 of 5 Spa   |   Jalan Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
THE PURIST CAMPAIGN RATE
Ranked #9 of 120 hotels in Ubud
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We loved our stay at The Purist. River villa 1 is perfect - its outdoor living area and indoor/outdoor bathroom were incredible. The bed linen was fabulous and the laundry service first class. The attentive butler service was great, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were incredible - fresh and delivered at the exact time specified. A couple of niggles were that dinner (our second there) took more than 2 hours to arrive - even on 'Bali time' (as referred to locally) that was unexpected; and the building works started by 8am so wiped out our chance of a planned lie in or afternoon relaxation by the incredible pool. We hired a local driver, called Made, through the Purist who was knowledgeable, courteous and prompt and planned our tours to meet our needs. He also told hilarious stories of his family - ask for him by name if in Ubud! All in all, a fabulous trip - we would highly recommend the Purist!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    35
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
180
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

the purist is a little paradise in ubud. extremely nice villas, tastefully decorated, beautiful pool(s), friendly and very professional service!!! every little detail is thought through in the villas! highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved our stay in Ubud but the nights at The Purist were our best. Very tranquil and great service from everyone. Love the river room with the amazing bath and space. Great food (we had breakfast in the room every day). The spa was also top notch we had a lovely couples massage.

Room Tip: We stayed in River 1 and it was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I write to thank you and, if I may, through you, to thank all the staff and personnel at " the Purist Villa and Spa " for your superb hospitality and service during my stay in Ubud. This was my first visit to Indonesia , and so I'd like to say a special thank you for being such an outstanding ambassador for your City and Country!

All the Staff was just awesome and outstandingly helpful and I can't praise everyone enough.

the weather was good and I was able to spend quality thinking time walking to and from Kutuh Kaja.

By writing this review i was asking myself if i had any constructive criticisms to make about the Purist Villa and Spa. I was glowing and not the one to ask. I have been racking my brains to find something positive to contribute in this respect. But, so far, I have not come up with anything other than praise and thanks. My only advice is: just keep doing what you do and i'm sure that you will.

I hope to return to Bali again, but, alas, probably not until next year.



Please tell everyone you have a number-one fan over here in Marrakech. I've been telling everyone about the Purist Villa and Spa !

That very special atmosphere you all promote so gently, and so naturally, was much appreciated and makes all the difference and feeling really home .

Thank you. Thank everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I have just stayed at The Purist for the second time in 2 years - we loved it so much the first time that we just had to come back. We stayed in the Timor suite - spacious, peaceful, private. The butler service is a real treat, and the staff are just so lovely. The food is great, and they have a nice little spa on site, so if you don't feel like heading into town and just want to chill out for a while it's all there on call for you. Totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Each villa has its own merits - ie private pool vs price - so study their website for more details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

On our honeymoon we wanted something special and we got it!!
We stayed in the jungle villa and it was fantastic, a huge bath, bed, living space, outside deck and living area where we ate breakfast every day & a couple of meals there too
Breakfast cooked fresh & superb on time for exactly when we ordered it
Dinner was as good as anywhere in ubud & well priced
Service from all the butlers was lovely & personal
The pool was picturesque & relaxing
The tour with Wayan organised by Purist was really good although you do have to pay for lunch & entry to all of the temples and attractions about 15,000 Rp per person per attraction - take plenty of money
Only negatives were about a 20min walk from ubud although they offer a free shuttle service @10am & 5pm and they will also pick you up at anytime & that cost can be added to your bill
Would recommend it to anyone staying in Ubud
Thanks everyone at purist for starting our honeymoon on a fantastic note!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is not just a hotel. It is different. You will know and feel it when you are there. The Villas you will stay in will let you feel like living in a paradise :) We have been in River Villa1 and we wished we could take it with us. We also wished to take their cook with us. Unexpected amazing local food!
The Spa - 5 Stars!
The people serving you - all stars!
This place is a must have :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Address: Jalan Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PURIST VILLAS AND SPA is a hip designer’s hideaway nestled in the green fertile hills of Ubud, Bali. It wants to be a meeting point for individuals, for those who need to unwind in an inspiring setting and being pampered with great massages and delicious food. Our chefs use the freshest of ingredients, locally produced and in season, whether your meal is served in your villa or in the restaurant. In its rural and tropical setting you can fully appreciate the tranquil peacefulness the Balinese are famous for. The beautiful surrounding rice paddy fields make the short walk to the centre of Ubud a scenic walk. Being the cultural and spiritual heart of Bali, it is obvious why Ubud is a haven for writers and artists from around the world. The secluded Purist compound includes a spa building used for the specialist Ayurvedic massages as well as a yoga and meditation deck. We offer a variety of treatments, given by the best massage therapists, yoga and meditation teachers. The construction and design of The Purist reflects the ancient Balinese Hindu belief embracing the importance of balance, purity of spirit and harmony, as well as a deep respect for the natural environment. We use an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, authentic Indonesian artifacts, natural lava and lime stone and green river stones. With The Purist, Yvonne and Alberto succeeded in creating yet another home away from home, which has become their trademark signature. The Purist offers only seven private villas, making it the smallest boutique hotel in Bali. In this way, we can meet any of your personal and specific needs. The Purist: sophisticated hospitality stripped to the essence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Purist Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.