We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute paradise with sensational service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Purist Villas and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Purist Villas and Spa to your Saves list
The Purist Villas and Spa
4.5 of 5 Spa   |   Jalan Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 30%
Ranked #11 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise with sensational service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from an amazing 5 days at the Purist. We booked the garden residences with us in the Timor villa and our friends in the garden villa. We had three little kids between us with a 5 month old, 1 year old and 3 year old and it couldn't have been a better holiday. The staff were incredible with every request done in lightning speed and they went above and beyond our expectations. It was completely private and you really felt like the whole resort was your own and the staff seamed to appear out of no were when something was asked for.

The kids were treated like royalty and the 3 year old loved the huge koi around that she was allowed to feed. They bought us a high chair to our villa and were happy for us to keep it there for the whole 5 days which was great. The 1 and 3 year old had a great time in the huge stone bath and open bathroom. The only negative of travelling there with such small kids was the amount of steps and drop offs near ponds and gardens etc- it just meant we had to watch them a bit more than usual while they were out in the gardens. And the beautiful old floorboards in the Timor squeaked so loudly if we tried to tiptoe past sleeping children.

It was definitely a bit further out of town than we would have liked, I'm used to being able to walk out for a meal or visit a shop. Drivers were extremely easy to organise though which was great and it cost roughly $5 each way. They offer a complimentary shuttle but we only managed to use it once due to timing not being when we wanted to head out.

The food was INCREDIBLE! We were so excited for breakfast to arrive each day, it was an amazing selection and we all tried basically everything off the menu. Someone would quietly arrive about 15 minutes before the nominated time to set up the table on our deck restaurant style. They were more than happy to bring anything extra we asked for throughout breakfast aswell. We ate multiple lunches and dinners there aswell either setting up by our private pool, on our front deck, or by the main pool. Food had to be ordered in advance which was a but frustrating if the kids were hungry but we understood this was due to them cooking everything fresh.

Big thanks to Wayan one of the drivers we had on several occasions, he was an extremely friendly and knowledgable man and really made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    37
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
196
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamen, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I spent 10 days in this resort from May 02 through May 12. We stayed in the Hill Villa which is the largest villa with two bedrooms, a private pool (approx. 7m by 3m) a half-open bathroom, terrace and a Balinese cabana to relax by the pool.

The design of the villa, its interior and the decoration are absolutely stunning. We also had a chance to take a look at some other villas in the resort and all of them are unique and have different highlights.

The service is absolutely perfect and the complete Purist Team to me represents the friendliest and most helpful staff that I have ever experienced. Once again, thank you very much for this excellent experience!

My wife and I spent most of the time in our villa relaxing by the pool, enjoying the great breakfast and a-la-carte dinner or dinner menu (both dinner options have to be ordered a little bit in advance, because everything is prepared with fresh ingredients). Food prices are very reasonable as well as prices for spa treatments which we enjoyed several times.

Everything else has already been said before in previous posts by fellow travelers and I can absolutely second all these comments, so all in all, the perfect experience.

However, there is a little bit of trouble in the Purist paradise right now resulting in the fact that I cannot give the ultimate five-star rating: The resort is currently in the process of being extended by another 7 villas right beside the current premises. This results in constant construction noise 7 days a week from 9 a.m. through 7 p.m.! Fair enough that the property is being enlarged and it is absolutely clear that there must be some construction noise, but listening to an electric jack-hammer or some sort of percussion drill for most of the time at the resort is simply getting on your nerves at some point in time. We mentioned this to the Manager and he did his utmost to limit the noise, however, with only limited success. Construction will continue for at least another 6 months and it might pretty well be that my wife and I had our stay at an unfavorable stage where jack-hammer works were necessary. Nevertheless, I would expect that at least this fact is mentioned on their web page so that you know about it. I have to say, however, that the reaction of the staff to our mild complaint was very professional and the spa treatment offered as some kind of compensation was very nice.

Bottom line: The resort and service are impeccable and the staff is the friendliest ever. I am sure that once the extension is finished, the calm and quietness of this beautiful location will return and we would really like to come back to the Purist after that.

Room Tip: All villas are great and unique, but not all have private pools. I would always opt for a private po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just returned from an incredibly relaxing week at the Purist in Ubud. If you are looking for a quiet home-away-from-home with excellent service in very pretty surroundings, this is the place to choose. We stayed at the Garden villa which is bright and nicely decorated and which has the largest private pool. The bed in the villa is excellent, the shower sexy, the sunbeds outside are large and the dining area next to the pool is superb.
The service provided by the Purist is very friendly and not intrusive, which means that they respect your privacy when you do not require their services. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be served in the comforts of the villa, or in the central lounge area. We chose to stay at our villa for most of the time, as all services are just a phone call away. As it should, all staff are very helpful and interested in your well-being.
We also had the opportunity to use the spa facilities. The spa is located in a separate villa and offers different kinds of treatments. We were very pleased with the level of professionalism in the treatments, but be sure to double-check your bookings, as we experienced some (minor) problems here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amazing hotel in Ubud. The villas are amazing. We stayed in the river view villa and had a private cabana where they served breakfast just by the pool. The villas are all unique and decorated with so much taste. Food is excellent
Staff is amazing and always available. Special thanks to Oktri.
A little expensive for Ubud but it is definitely worth it especially for a couple.
Note: the hotel is not in the very center of Ubud, need to take a car (5 minutes)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I contemplated several properties for our 4 days in Ubud and read Tripadvisor for hours. There was something about the Purist's reviews that convinced me it was the one and I am so glad I went with my gut! I cannot believe this is not the #1 rated hotel, but with only 7 villas perhaps I should be glad it's not - because maybe I wouldn't have been able to secure a reservation!

This is a true superior and gorgeous hotel with top notch customer service. We could not want for anything and the villa we stayed in was absolutely stunning.

We stayed in River 1 which is one of the villas without a private pool but it's about 10 steps from the central pool so it feels like it's yours -- and we only ever had max 4 other people with us at the pool but usually less than that. The villa has a fantastic HUGE outdoor living room in addition to the bedroom w/ AC. The bathroom is half in/half out and the covered but outdoor shower was a dream to use.

The property isn't big, but every villa is tucked away and feels private. There is a lovely common space where you can dine but you can also dine poolside or at your very own dining table in your villa.

The staff really rounds out why this place is 5 stars. I can't commend them enough. Anything you want/need and they will be there to work it out. But beyond that, they were all just so lovely and gracious and it was a pleasure to get to know them.

It's true that this place is about a 7 minute drive out of Ubud, so a taxi (or bike) is required to get to restaurants/sites. They do offer 3 free shuttles, but a taxi is only $5 US if you want to go at alternate times. I don't think it's a negative at all to not be within walking distance to Ubud. The taxis were always easy to get.

The Purist is the only choice in Ubud! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked a little villa with my family. The hotel is located in Ubud but you feel like being in the middle of the jungle. Design, decoration, comfort, food, bar, pool, spa, service... everything is really nice. This is a 20 mn walk to Ubud center but they have a driver and they also have complimentary bikes that we used to ride in the middle of rice plantations very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have spent 4 nights here as part of our honeymoon and it was been an amazing stay, the staff here are so friendly and the villa is gorgeous. You can walk in to Ubud from here and you are amongst all the local villages and rice paddie fields, breathtaking. You are so well looked after here, you feel like royality its just been a perfect experience for us. After staying in 2 private villas now that is the way I would always travel here now its the privacy but also being so close to the town centre. We had dinner and lunch here and both were oustanding. We both highly recommend this place to anyone. Also had a facial here which was lovely. There is a gym 100m up the road if you want to use it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Address: Jalan Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PURIST VILLAS AND SPA is a hip designer’s hideaway nestled in the green fertile hills of Ubud, Bali. It wants to be a meeting point for individuals, for those who need to unwind in an inspiring setting and being pampered with great massages and delicious food. Our chefs use the freshest of ingredients, locally produced and in season, whether your meal is served in your villa or in the restaurant. In its rural and tropical setting you can fully appreciate the tranquil peacefulness the Balinese are famous for. The beautiful surrounding rice paddy fields make the short walk to the centre of Ubud a scenic walk. Being the cultural and spiritual heart of Bali, it is obvious why Ubud is a haven for writers and artists from around the world. The secluded Purist compound includes a spa building used for the specialist Ayurvedic massages as well as a yoga and meditation deck. We offer a variety of treatments, given by the best massage therapists, yoga and meditation teachers. The construction and design of The Purist reflects the ancient Balinese Hindu belief embracing the importance of balance, purity of spirit and harmony, as well as a deep respect for the natural environment. We use an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, authentic Indonesian artifacts, natural lava and lime stone and green river stones. With The Purist, Yvonne and Alberto succeeded in creating yet another home away from home, which has become their trademark signature. The Purist offers only seven private villas, making it the smallest boutique hotel in Bali. In this way, we can meet any of your personal and specific needs. The Purist: sophisticated hospitality stripped to the essence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Purist Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.