We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Purist Villas and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Purist Villas and Spa to your Saves list
The Purist Villas and Spa
4.5 of 5 Spa   |   Jalan Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Purist November Delight
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Heaven in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It was my boyfriend 21st Birthday and I decided to stay in The Purist to surprise him. I'm really glad that I've made this decision, The Purist was really amazing in every sense. Our hired driver did spent some times to find the villa, but everything was great from the moment we arrived. It was quite impressive that each of the staffs could called us by our name and greeted us with warm & lovely smile all the time. Jungle villa was totally incredible and the pictures don't do the justice. They welcomed us with flower petals on the bed and a nicely decorated rose bath. We felt like royalty throughout our stay in The Purist. On the second night, we have the In Villa Romantic Candlelight Dinner. Antara was a great looking butler who provided us with five star hotel service standards, Gede or Oktri if you are reading this, he really deserves a salary raise! Though we did encountered some problems during our stay, but the staffs were really helpful and always be there for us even in the middle of the night. We were upgraded to the Hill Villa on the last night and the management also offered us a complimentary Reflexology treatment as a birthday gift for my boyfriend. The spa treatment in The Purist is a must to do lists in Bali, their therapists were really amazing. I just can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Jungle villa provide more privacy as it is in a more secluded part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    36
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
192
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fitzroy, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After a rough drive from Amed to Ubud we were delighted to arrive at The Purist. From the very start we knew this place would be a special experience and it did not fail to deliver. We stayed at the hill villa, perched above the river villas. The house just oozed style and comfort and was so tastefully appointed. It was hard to leave the villa each day for the 5 minute drive to central Ubud as we spent so much time just lazing around in the pool enjoying the jungle surrounds. Consider using the bicycles as its a pleasant ride through the local streets to the centre. Had a great massage that was included in our rates after we extended our stay. The staff at all levels were professional and courteous, even offering to stop the construction work for the extension so that the noise would not disturb us, it was minor and did not bother us at all. Our stay at The Purist was one of the highlights of our Bali honeymoon, oh and we rate rate the nightly turn down service as the best in the business!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent 5 amazing nights at The Purist for our honeymoon and we didn't ever want to leave. We stayed in the Jungle Villa and it was incredible. The staff were the nicest and most helpful we have ever encountered, nothing is too much trouble for them. They serve breakfast in your villa every morning which adds to the secluded & intimate feel. It is about a 20min walk from the centre of Ubud however they offer a free shuttle bus and are only too happy to pick up throughout the day & night.
I would highly recommend The Purist if you are staying in Ubud and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Jungle Villa, it is very secluded and away from the other villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Everyting was 5 star, the design, service, food etc. The staff was kind an helpful. Free transportation. 24 hour butler.
The villas was absolutely wonderful and had everyting you mat need.

Nuff said...a great value for the buck!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Purist in the first week of May 2012. It was a lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of Bali. We both loved it. Our room was quiet and romantic with a private garden view, breakfast bale, and outdoor shower. The service was fantastic and nothing was beyond the staff and all delivered with a smile. The food was fresh, tasty, and wonderfully presented. It was a beautiful and relaxing place to stay. We talked for hours and really enjoyed the opportunity to reconnect from our busy schedules. I would highly recommend the Purist to anyone visiting in Ubud.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at River 2 villa, which is connected to the public pool but since there is so little villas we got the pool to ourselves for 2 of our 3 day stay!

The villa is done tastefully and luxurious and the service is immacable! We have our own butler, breakfast can be serve anywhere we want to. We had such an enjoyable time and will recommend any couple or small family there! My bf esp loved the outdoor shower!

The only minor pain point is the distance to central ubud. But the villa provides 2 daily shuttle service (fixed time) to ubud central.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and i honeymooned at the purist for 5 days, we stayed in the hill villa and loved it & we never wanted to leave. Starting with our driver Wayan who is a great guy, was all to happy to share his knowledge of Bali and its culture with us,all the butlers ,reception,the kitchen staff,the groundskeepers everyone at this villa made our stay exceptional.The food is the best we have ever had on any vacation anywhere,everyone was friendly and nothing was to much trouble.Would recommend this to anyone.Had great reflexology massage from Ketut,she has magic hands.The Hill villa was great,own pool,very private,big and spacious,and very comfortable,cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Address: Jalan Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PURIST VILLAS AND SPA is a hip designer’s hideaway nestled in the green fertile hills of Ubud, Bali. It wants to be a meeting point for individuals, for those who need to unwind in an inspiring setting and being pampered with great massages and delicious food. Our chefs use the freshest of ingredients, locally produced and in season, whether your meal is served in your villa or in the restaurant. In its rural and tropical setting you can fully appreciate the tranquil peacefulness the Balinese are famous for. The beautiful surrounding rice paddy fields make the short walk to the centre of Ubud a scenic walk. Being the cultural and spiritual heart of Bali, it is obvious why Ubud is a haven for writers and artists from around the world. The secluded Purist compound includes a spa building used for the specialist Ayurvedic massages as well as a yoga and meditation deck. We offer a variety of treatments, given by the best massage therapists, yoga and meditation teachers. The construction and design of The Purist reflects the ancient Balinese Hindu belief embracing the importance of balance, purity of spirit and harmony, as well as a deep respect for the natural environment. We use an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, authentic Indonesian artifacts, natural lava and lime stone and green river stones. With The Purist, Yvonne and Alberto succeeded in creating yet another home away from home, which has become their trademark signature. The Purist offers only seven private villas, making it the smallest boutique hotel in Bali. In this way, we can meet any of your personal and specific needs. The Purist: sophisticated hospitality stripped to the essence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Purist Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.