We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and chill villa with great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Purist Villas and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Purist Villas and Spa to your Saves list
The Purist Villas and Spa
4.5 of 5 Spa   |   Jalan Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Pay 2 Nights
Ranked #13 of 132 Hotels in Ubud
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful and chill villa with great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at River 2 villa, which is connected to the public pool but since there is so little villas we got the pool to ourselves for 2 of our 3 day stay!

The villa is done tastefully and luxurious and the service is immacable! We have our own butler, breakfast can be serve anywhere we want to. We had such an enjoyable time and will recommend any couple or small family there! My bf esp loved the outdoor shower!

The only minor pain point is the distance to central ubud. But the villa provides 2 daily shuttle service (fixed time) to ubud central.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    38
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
198
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and i honeymooned at the purist for 5 days, we stayed in the hill villa and loved it & we never wanted to leave. Starting with our driver Wayan who is a great guy, was all to happy to share his knowledge of Bali and its culture with us,all the butlers ,reception,the kitchen staff,the groundskeepers everyone at this villa made our stay exceptional.The food is the best we have ever had on any vacation anywhere,everyone was friendly and nothing was to much trouble.Would recommend this to anyone.Had great reflexology massage from Ketut,she has magic hands.The Hill villa was great,own pool,very private,big and spacious,and very comfortable,cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loenen aan de Vecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in the hill villa for 3 nights. We had the best Bali experience. We travelled with 2 small children (1+3y old) and it was wonderfull to have dinner on your own terrace with the restaurant experience. The food was amazing as was the staff of the hotel. We had our own pool and 2 bedrooms and an outdoor shower and bath. The villa is very tastfull but still feels homy.
The breakfast is fantastic and the service is excellent.
A warm welcome and stay. For us the Purist is the best hotel in Bali.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong in the Purist. All the villa's are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have never stayed in Ubud before, even though we have been to Bali many times. I decided on the Purist after reading many reviews, and I am so glad that I did. We stayed four nights in River Villa 1, it was beautifully and tastefully decorated. It was very peaceful and quiet, and even though we didn't have our own pool, we only saw one other person using the main pool in our whole stay. We enjoyed breakfast each day in our villa and afternoon tea by the pool. We ate one dinner in the villa and that was very enjoyable, accompanied by a huge thunderstorm and heavy rain!

The most wonderful thing about the Purist, though, is the staff. So friendly and helpful, always on hand for whatever was needed - thank you Sugeng, Gede, Agus, Antara and "little" Gede - you helped to make our holiday the best ever.

I would highly recommend the Purist to anyone looking for a peaceful and serene holiday within easy reach of the joys of Ubud.

PS: look out for their new property, Villa Levi, in Canggu coming up later in the year - WOW! Maybe if the Purist got the same soft pillows as the ones at Villa Levi, it would be even better :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We got in after a 2 hour taxi drive from Jimbaran, where we stayed for one night after a late arrival in Denpasar. After having been in Jakarta for a 3-day business trip, the serenity of The Purist was great.

We weren't allowed to carry one of our own bags because and I quote: "It's your holiday sir". Service like this continued throughout our stay. Always with a smile, the butlers catered to our every need and were very friendly.

The villa was great. There's we were staying in the Jungle Villa which has lots of privacy, a great bathroom with stone bath, open shower and little fish in a pond (yes... in the bathroom). Also there's a spacious private deck with lounge bed and a stone-with-wood dining table. The villa's doors lead to the excellent shared pool (infinity style) and both the pool and the villa look out over the jungle. After a refreshing shower, we had lunch on the private deck.

It was my girlfriend's birthday (which the staff had figured out by themselves, without my letting them know) that day, so we decided to stay in for the night and have a romantic dinner. This is a special of the resort, $100-125 per couple. We came back from Ubud and were welcomed in the greatest of all surprises: flowers on the deck, followed by flower on the bed, followed by (open up the bathroom door) a flower bath. Incense in the rooms and on the deck. Just WONDERFUL! We first had a bath, after which our dinner was setup.

The dinner was amazing as well. A 4-course with choices between a European-style menu and a traditional Balinese menu. We opted for the latter and that was great!

During the night I got sick. According to my (medically skilled) girlfriend, it was a food infection, cause by something I ate a few days ago. I was in bed all day next day and the staff took care of me with special herbal tea and other niceties. All-in-all not a bed place to catch a little sickness in.

A few minor things that could be improved (not that it really bothered during this otherwise GREAT never to forget experience)
- the bed pillow are a bit on the hard side for our taste (note that we didn't bother to ask for softer ones, maybe they're around)
- all the toiletries are great, natural ingredients. The conditioner however can best be avoided if you have curly hair because it gets tangled
- the taxi drop to the airport is a bit pricey. We took a normal taxi from Jimbaran (further than the airport) which was about half the price

Don't let these minor things put you off by the way. In total, it's a great place!! We'd love to be back some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jungle Villa. This was really nice; but not if you want a private swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just returned from 4 days at the Purist Ubud, Bali. This is a truly remarkable place in the sense that as soon as you check in you feel totally relaxed, and pampered. The staff are superb, and nothing was to much trouble for them. We had come to stay in Ubud from Seminyak, which is a much more hustle and bustle town. The whole feeling of both the Purist and Ubud is so chilled that you dont want to leave. We stayed in River Villa 1. im sure our butler thought we were a little stupid, as when we entered our villa my partner and I just looked at each other agog, and didnt say a word. Our terraces, one from the lounge and the other from our bedroom, look out onto jungle, which is quite amazing. The outside bathroom is great with a stone bath and a fabulous separate shower. There is a dressing room area with a stone sink pedistal. The bedroom is very large with a kingsize bed, looking out to the jungle. My only complaint and this is very minor is that there could be more drawer space. We tend to travel with lots of luggage so notice things like this, but normal people would probably find the drawer space adequate. There is a great infinity pool, shred with three of the villas, but we hardly saw the other people so it was almost like having a private pool. Would definately go back to the Purist and hope to in 2014. Steve

Room Tip: Try either River Villa 1 or 2 for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a wonderful trip at The Purist. We stayed in the Hill Villa for 4 nights. The room, or shall I say house was spacious, comfortable and luxurious. Our private pool was beautiful as well, honestly wish we could have spent more time in our actual room! The service was fantastic, all of the butlers who helped us were very friendly and gracious. The front desk assistance was great and they were always able to arrange transportation with ease. We would love to come back one day and spend more time at the hotel as it is definitely a special experience.

Room Tip: The Hill Villa offers a very private stay as it's location is higher up above some of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Address: Jalan Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PURIST VILLAS AND SPA is a hip designer’s hideaway nestled in the green fertile hills of Ubud, Bali. It wants to be a meeting point for individuals, for those who need to unwind in an inspiring setting and being pampered with great massages and delicious food. Our chefs use the freshest of ingredients, locally produced and in season, whether your meal is served in your villa or in the restaurant. In its rural and tropical setting you can fully appreciate the tranquil peacefulness the Balinese are famous for. The beautiful surrounding rice paddy fields make the short walk to the centre of Ubud a scenic walk. Being the cultural and spiritual heart of Bali, it is obvious why Ubud is a haven for writers and artists from around the world. The secluded Purist compound includes a spa building used for the specialist Ayurvedic massages as well as a yoga and meditation deck. We offer a variety of treatments, given by the best massage therapists, yoga and meditation teachers. The construction and design of The Purist reflects the ancient Balinese Hindu belief embracing the importance of balance, purity of spirit and harmony, as well as a deep respect for the natural environment. We use an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, authentic Indonesian artifacts, natural lava and lime stone and green river stones. With The Purist, Yvonne and Alberto succeeded in creating yet another home away from home, which has become their trademark signature. The Purist offers only seven private villas, making it the smallest boutique hotel in Bali. In this way, we can meet any of your personal and specific needs. The Purist: sophisticated hospitality stripped to the essence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Purist Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.