We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sabandari

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Sabandari to your Saves list
Villa Sabandari
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Pura Gunung Sari 4 | Banjar Ambengan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
See a Balinese Dance!
Ranked #4 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Sabandari - the resort is beautiful, very tranquil, modern and has lovely views of the rice fields. We were lucky and were granted my request for the Barong Room, which is upstairs facing the rice fields - definitely the best room if you can get it. The room has a nice bed (great bed side lights for those who read) and nice bathroom with outdoor shower. The pressure in the shower is great but we found that they ran out of hot water at the peak morning time (around 9am to 10am). There's robes and slippers provided and a bar fridge. Breakfast is good, you just let them know the night before what time you would like it and they serve it on your balcony. It consists of fruit, yoghurt and cereal for starter and then a rotating main dish plus usually some extra bread/pastries and jam - we had bread and cold meats and cheese, noodles, toasted sandwich and bacon and eggs during our stay. The location is actually good (I was worried it was too far out before we arrived) but it was only a 15min walk to Monkey Forest Road. Generally we used the complimentary transfer to get into town and then walked back. The transfers generally work well but allow for a 10-20min wait. One problem we had was that we requested early in the day to book a transfer for 7pm to attend a Balinese Dance (and were told that was fine), when we went to the lobby at 6:55pm we were told they had someone else to take first (the Manager, Ester, and an older couple) but that they would be back in 10mins. I wasn't sure that it was too professional for the Manager to use the hotel's vehicle at the guests expense? Although I am not too sure that Ester understood that we had made a booking. Anyway, we suggested maybe they should call us a taxi, but they said no, they would be back in 10mins, plenty of time to get to the show ontime. 20mins later and the driver arrived back. We just made it to the show before it started but got the worst seats. The staff are very friendly and lovely (especially the drivers), but if you do want to make a set reservation for something, I would suggest you speak to Ester (or Dirk when he's back) - as I am sure sometimes messages are lost in translation. Until the last day I didnt realise where to find Ester (she wasn't ever at the reception/lobby area) but there is a manager's office (and residence) out the back. We also took advantage of the complimentary day tour to go Lake Bratan - which is really lovely and the driver they booked for us was great. Overall (apart from the small mishap) we loved the resort and would recommend it to those that are looking for a peaceful Ubud hotel.

Room Tip: The Barong room is definately the best (most private and best views). The other upstairs room is als...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
185
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

If it is within your budget, this is where you should stay in Ubud. The experience was fantastic - this is exactly the type of 'Zen' relaxed experience that travelers to Ubud are seeking. You can find cheaper but I think the price/value combination here is deserving of it's stellar rankings. The staff are excellent, the food is superb, the minimalist/modern decor is beautiful and the pool/rice terraces/location exude sanctuary, tranquility and relaxation.

This is not a place for families with young children, or people looking for a lively place or entertainment. But if you want a relaxing, serene experience in Ubud look no further.

Perfectly situated near the center of Ubud it is sufficiently off the main road to appear secluded/much further from the bustling town.

This is a small, boutique setup and one needs to accept the difference from a large resort. You must plan in advance if you want breakfast, a driver, a visit to town - but expecting snap-of-the-finger service from a 6-room villa is unfair in my opinion.

Please disregard any negative comments that you read - I just returned from Villa Sabandari today and the entire experience was flawless.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms that directly face the rice terraces - these are the ones you want to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

For us first timers in Bali, we were looking for the "Eat, Pray, Love" experience and chose Ubud as opposed to the famous beach strip of Kuta-Legian-Seminyak. We trusted the #1 ranking of Villa Sabandari under B&B and all we can say is, it deserves its top ranking and worth every Rupiah.

Villa Sabandari is rather like an extension of a private compound, family-owned, and unbeknownst to us at the time of our stay, we were actually dealing with the owners' daughter/manager and overall hip chic Ester. She was kind enough to set her alarm clock at the ungodly hours of 3 AM to personally welcome us and added her personal touch into the operations.

The rice paddies surrounding the Villa gives the impression that it is far out into the middle of nowhere but is merely 5 mins by car (maybe 10-15 mins by foot) to the main Ubud street where all the touristy action is. Fortunately, the Villa is far enough from the tacky commercialism, happily backpacker- and loud-mouth tourists free. After a long day of touring Bali, the Villa is all one really needs. I didn't even mind the no TV in the room.

Breakfast is simple: fruits, yogurt, cereals, breads, coffee and a "main" dish which changes every day (stir-fried chicken noodles on our first day, cheeses and cold cuts on our second, and ham and cheese sandwich on our third). Afternoon tea is quite delightful. Transportation around central Ubud is free. The outdoor shower is fabulous. This place is not for couples traveling with children (I think they expressly discourage this) but close to perfection for honeymooners or just about anybody who wants a quiet time.

As for the room choice, all rooms are gorgeous but I don't believe all views are equal. I would say the one we got (Lesong, if I'm not mistaken) was at the edge and had therefore a direct view of the rice paddies. I would think the room above us would even have a nicer panoramic view and more privacy too.

Room Tip: Request the upper rooms for privacy and the last rooms nearest the rice paddies for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Definitely specify which room you are getting. We were in the Lebong room. It is dark, and you need to crane your neck to see the rice paddies. It has a walkway running next to it along the side and also the walkway along the front to the upper level rooms, so you have a lot of foot traffic past the room. From reading the other reviews there are bath tubs in some rooms. It also only has air conditioning, not a fan. Which is probably fine for most people, but sleeping in a/c for me is not my personal preference. They probably should consider two tiers of pricing, as this room was quite disappointing.

From what I could see, there are 3 rooms which looked to be worth the price. These are the rooms on the upstairs level, and the room on the ground level overlooking the rice fields. The other two rooms overlook the pool, and when you sit out the front you have people walking by. It is a very small place, so not a huge problem. The room we were in, the Lebong room, sadly for us! - is probably the worst of the lot.

Otherwise, a nice place!! The location is good, and the breakfast is different every day. The pickups, free driver for the day, and service generally is really nice. You need to specify your breakfast time, which of course is needed for the staff to prepare. However, if you are 10 minutes late, expect a phone call inquiring where you are. Not the most relaxing approach for the unplanned sleep in! Having said this, I stress again, the staff were lovely.

I have put is as a good rating, as we came with such good expectations from having read the rooms. I think if we had been in a different room, then the experiences of the other reviews would have been repeated.

Room Tip: Choose the two upstairs rooms, or the downstairs room which over looks the rice paddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

An absolutely incredible experience. Upon arriving ultimate serenity surrounds you, as Dirk, your host welcomes you. When seeing your room you are immediately impressed with the luxurious simplicity and the amenities to meet your every need. Every cell in your body begins to relax. Not to be missed are the superb dinners. Whatever is being served that evening, you may rest assured that it will be perfection, from preparation to service. If you are lucky enough to be there for Quiz Night, be sure to participate for an entertaining ex-pat experience. An indescribable level of excellence awaits at the Sabandari to meet your every need, from the infinity pool to the spa to the car service for the short ride to town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

This was the third place we stayed on our honeymoon, and our favourite. The location is convenient for walking into town, but also really secluded. The rice paddies had recently been harvested, which meant we looked onto muddy ponds, but the setting was still beautiful. Our room was gorgeous with a great outdoor bathtub and shower, and really comfy bed. The staff here were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and they were always smiling. The breakfasts changed every day which was a nice touch, and afternoon tea was an ndulgent treat. We enjoyed borrowing the mountain bikes to follow one of the suggested routes, and also went for a walk around the rice paddies which was really interesting. The free shuttle into town was really handy for going out for dinner in the evening. It was my husband's birthday while we were there, and the staff made lovely decorations, and gave him a cake and sang - a lovely gesture.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I can't say enough wonderful things about Villa Sabandari. Pictures simply don't capture the true magic of this special place. My husband and I stayed here in early May. Tucked away from the hustle of main street Ubud, Sabandari sits atop a hill overlooking rice fields. It's just close enough to town to easily go shopping or eat in Ubud, but far enough away to feel like a beautiful escape. The architecture, details (outdoor shower, incredible swimming pool, and breakfast on our balcony being highlights) are simply wonderful. This place is so cozy and romantic and was by far our favorite place in Bali. The owners are beyond lovely, and arranged airport transport, welcome shoulder massage, a one day tour with driver to anywhere in Bali (we did Central Bali - Beautiful!) and helped with Ubud transport when we needed it. This is a 6 room B&B with the feel of 5 star luxury. We had zero complaints and find ourselves daydreaming about being back there. Trip Advisor gets it right again - we LOVED Sabandari!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are GREAT- the two best being the ones that sit right against the rice fields. You won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sabandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sabandari

Address: Jalan Pura Gunung Sari 4 | Banjar Ambengan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sabandari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel hidden in the rice fields, yet at walking distance from the center of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Sabandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sabandari Hotel Ubud
Villa Sabandari Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sabandari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.