We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amori Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amori Villas to your Saves list
Amori Villas
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Br. Dukuh, Pejeng Kawan, Ubud, Bali 80552, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Aussie Special
Ranked #2 of 139 Hotels in Ubud
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent 6 peaceful , relaxing days at Amori villas. Had amazing massages, with Suni who has vast experience working in Jordan for the royal family. She does wonderful facial as well.
The staff are so friendly and helpful. You must pay Amori Villas a visit.

Room Tip: The top villas have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    11
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
86
147
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I cannot endorse this hotel highly enough. Everything about our stay exceeded our expectations--which were very high after reading so many positive reviews. We will never stay anywhere else in Ubud and cannot wait for our next trip to this amazing paradise within paradise.

We were at first concerned that the location of Amori Villa is on a hill above downtown Ubud--we wondered if it would be inconvenient to arrange drivers rather than just walking out the lobby into the city--but during our stay we realized this is the charm and luxury of Amori Villa. The hotel drivers were always courteous and ready to take us into town or pick us up. The trip to the Ubud Palace--from which everything in downtown Ubud is walkable--is no more than 5 mintues. It was not a hassle at all. Instead, we were able to see a real side of Ubud each morning on our way to town. We saw local residents of the homes near the hotel making offerings, working in the rice fields, cooking, voting in elections, even holding a ceremony. We would have missed all these sights had we stayed in the very touristy areas downtown. The drivers were ready within minutes of our requests to visit town, and were always early for pick up times in town--and the ride is free.

The Villa itself is beautiful. You hardly know there are multiple villas for guests, we often felt as though we had the whole property to ourselves. It was very private. The view is breathtaking. Rather than looking into the forest, the Amori Villa are set on a hill that overlooks a forested canyon. You can see trees in every direction, we had a wonderful afternoon on our balcony watching the rain pour down and seeing flowers open on the trees around us. It seems that every room has a view, but our room, the Valley View Suite, had incredible views that we were so enamored by. Our room was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. We appreciated the attention to detail--even the hand soap was strawberry scented. The gorgeous infinity pool overlooks the valley. It's a serene place to relax and take in the beauty of tropical Indonesia.

The staff at Amori Villa are so well trained, but even more importantly, they are friendly and courteous. By the end of our stay we considered them our friends. They knew our favorite breakfast and drink orders and called us by name from the first day forward. Our every need was anticipated and met, and no request was ever too much. We felt so pampered! The staff arranged massages, tours, dinner reservations, drivers, laundry, and even a trip to the morning market and an on-site cooking class for us. They tidied our room each morning and turned down the bedding each night. We were very impressed with every staff member we met.

Meals at the Amori Villa are delicious! The breakfasts were so large that we rarely ate lunch. Breakfast was included in our room rate. The banana pancakes were wonderful but the local Balanise breakfast selections were amazing! We also enjoyed the fresh juices--made to our request. We enjoyed the food so much that we asked to arrange a cooking class. The Amori chefs took us to the morning market and helped us shop like locals. The morning market was an amazing sight! The colors of all the fresh flowers and produce and their scent is well worth a visit! The chefs prepared the ingredients for us and then at dinner we had a hands-on demonstration of how to prepare our favorite foods from the menu. It was wonderful! The one-on-one nature helped us to really understand the technique and flavors in a way we would not have in a larger class. The chefs also sent us home with recipes so we can practice and share our Balinese cooking skills. We were privileged to be able to share the dinner we made with the owners of the Amori Villa. They are very kind and it was interesting to learn the story of how the Amori Villa came to be. (It was originally going to be their home but we are so happy they chose to share it with travelers!)

We also arranged a tour of the Moon temple through the Amori. The prices were comparable to the prices offered in town, but offered customization of the tours so we could stop at the places we were most interested in. Additionally, we knew we would have a good driver and be in a car with air conditioning and seat belts. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. He was very patient with us and even took pictures for us. When we needed an offering for a temple, he kindly helped us to know what type to buy and negotiated the price down for us. He told us stories about Bali and Balinese culture the whole way--which we appreciated and encouraged by continuing to ask questions. We learned so much on the tour and we are so glad we booked it through the hotel.

In sum, our trip to Bali was incredible and staying at the Amori Villa was the best choice we could have made! If you are looking for a relaxing, luxurious hotel, don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: You really can't choose a bad villa. We loved our stay in the Valley View Suite. It had a gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

after spending a few hectic nights in the center of ubud, we were delighted to move just 7 km outside the city center to find this piece of paradise. we were even more fortunate to spend time with the proprietors - peta & rick dunn - who were the most welcoming, warm, wonderful hosts. we truly enjoyed our time there, and the meals were delicious. one downside, was that I got stuck in town one afternoon without a ride back to the villas (so I took a taxi). peta made up for this by comping me for an amazing massage with sony - an astounding masseuse. all in all, we'd go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: ask for an indoor/outdoor bath room, and a villa with a view (balcony).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place epitomizes the holiday vacation anyone wants in ubud ! The staff and facilities were second to none and am already thinking about when I could possibly come back! The food cooked in the home style kitchen was delicious and flavorsome and they cater for all needs - even my annoying shellfish allergy! I couldn't recommend this place higher, the staff made every detail beyond pleasant and make their guests feel like royalty. Perfect for a family getaway or a stay with friends. We ended up barely leaving the villa it was such an incredible atmosphere to be part of. I couldn't fault it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Returning to Amori was so wonderful & truly relaxing. Being pampered with in room massages and swimming in the infinity pool undid all of my stresses. All of the staff were incredible and made the stay perfect. This is definitely a favorite destination & a tranquil oasis!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and loved our experience. It's out of the beaten path and quiet. It's so beautiful and peaceful! We loved the staff, the chef, the managers, the owners were there with their family who were visiting each other, the drivers, the girls who gave massages, it was all great. The attention to detail of making your stay the best it can be was awesome. We chose to eat dinners here and were not disappointed at all. Recipes were even shared! The fruit drinks were delicious and the pool was inviting. Also, the owner was so helpful when my husband left the ATM card in the machine as he dropped everything and drove him in to try and retrieve it. (This as they were having a BBQ to celebrate a birthday. Thanks so much for coming to our aid so willingly and quickly. It was Heavenly! We found that the activities we wanted to do drove to pick us up from Amori without any problems!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

we picked Amori after reading the rave review from tripadvisor - due to our hobby and business requirements, we travel often over seas for work and pleasure trying out various hotels and villas around the globe, but we were somewhat disappointment as soon as we arrived the property. It is more like a family residency converted 5 suites boutique B&B hotel than a luxury villa resorts. however the owners have done a nice job with taste to make the best of it. it's located outside of Ubud inside of a local village, with a good 15-20 minutes drive if no traffic to down town. the property has a small infinity pool right beneath the front office/reception/public area/breakfast and dinning area. Rooms are sizable, with basic amenities but clean. we had difficulties with the mosquitoes, but the staff helped us some how overcome it and survived with 2 nights of good sleep.

As far as facility goes, we could only give the property a 3 1/2 star or 4 star. let alone there are plenty of luxury hotels /resorts around Ubud area alone - like the Four Seasons, COMO, and Chedi ( we stayed previously and very happy about it). As for the value, I am sure there are plenty smaller hotels/villas around Ubud with all the necessary basics, costing much less.

There is no fitness centre nor spa given it was converted then expanded from a private residency - breakfast was included, simple but healthy - one thing we do need mention is the local staff working on the ground, Musa (the driver) and Mosie & Aries (who worked at reception), they are very friendly and helpful, somehow made up the default. In short we felt the hotel is somewhat over rated and over priced.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Love_Bali_Ubud, Owner at Amori Villas, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We do not respond to all reviews but we do want to sincerely apologise to these guests because Amori was not what they expected and not what they believed to be good value for money. We also offer this detailed response as information for potential guests. One unhappy guest is too many for us. So how can we improve?
We cannot offer anything large as we are a small, boutique hotel in a river valley location. We do have an infinity pool which, at 14 metres long, is more than adequate for our capacity of 10-14 guests. We provide massages, facials, manicures and other spa services either in the privacy of our guest’s bedroom or a spare room, or by the pool, if preferred, but we do not have a separate spa building. Our response is to aim for all websites which describe Amori Villas so be very clear on the size of the hotel and the facilities we offer.
Less obvious from our website description is the concept of Amori Villas. Although we are not a converted family home, as suggested, we are certainly proud of the homely feel and service that we have created and instilled in our staff. We see this as our point of difference and what makes us special. Our Amori guests will always be treated as family. Our staff will try to understand your expectations and plans; your preferred food and beverage; where you come from and where you are going to. Are you at Amori to relax from months of hard work or are you wanting to see the highlights of Bali in 2-3 days?
Amori is located 4-5 kms from the centre of Ubud which we are quick to highlight as, for most of our guests, this is a distinct positive. While there are hotel options for those that wish to stay in the centre of Ubud, it will be difficult there to also find the peace, the views, the greenery, the birds and butterflies, the sound of the river and the cooling breezes which come up the valley and sweep across Amori each day. Our butlers happily drive guests in and out of Ubud town centre upon request and it usually takes just 10 minutes.
In terms of pricing, our room rates are deliberately kept 20-30% below those of our competitors such as the Chedi Club who also provide butler service. We continually review our pricing to ensure that we are very competitive but we will not compromise on the upkeep of the facilities and the number and quality of our staff. As a result, we believe that we have the best hospitality team in Ubud and we are very proud of this.
To be considered “over-rated” by any guest is incredibly disappointing for us. We understand that the rating which results from our Trip Advisor reviews is what our guests will benchmark us against. Our Trip Advisor rating is something of which we are very proud and we feel that it is justified. In fact, it is our quality control check and it drives our business. If the rating being referred to is the “5-star” adjective that we use on our website, then this is a more complex question. Our most simple response would be to remove it. In fact, Amori Villas does not have an official star rating. Many hotels in Ubud have chosen not be “rated” because the rating system disadvantages small properties set on the hillside. (It is too complex to explain in this forum.) So why do we use the term? To us, there is no better way to describe the quality standard that we set ourselves. If we fall short of this then we have failed to meet our own expectations and our guests can and will review us accordingly. With limited exceptions, we have performed very well by this measure. So why could we be considered below 5 star? Only, we suspect, if compared to large Singaporean-style “5-star” hotels, based on the facilities offered. Our response to that is that Amori Villa is, and will remain, a small, luxury, family-style hotel providing personal service from loving staff and passionate owners.
Rick & Peta Dunn, Owners, and staff
Amori Villas: Luxury Ubud Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amori Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amori Villas

Address: Br. Dukuh, Pejeng Kawan, Ubud, Bali 80552, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#1 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amori Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amori Villas can be whatever you choose it to be - a luxury boutique resort, an exclusive-use health spa retreat or your secret hideaway for a relaxed holiday, romantic celebration or honeymoon. It is also ideal for corporate executive getaways or wellness retreats. In harmony with one of Bali's three sacred rivers, Amori is designed for peaceful relaxation, with personal service which is more than you could ever expect. You can choose one of seven luxury suites or villas plus enjoy all the shared facilities and services of a 5-star resort, with amazing views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Amori Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amori Villa Hotel Ubud
Amori Hotel Ubud
Amori Boutique Hotel Ubud
Amori Villas Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amori Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.