We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in every sense of the word” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amori Villa

Save Saved
You added Amori Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amori Villa
Br. Dukuh, Pejeng Kawan, Ubud, Bali 80552, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bliss in every sense of the word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I know some of you will read this reveiw and think it is too good to be true but believe us from the moment you step outside your chauffeur driven limousine and meet the team at Amori you will forget about any of the stresses, issues, dramas that you may have left behind.

After a gap of some 25 years since our last visit to Bali we came to Amori, and it was an expression of love we felt from the very beginning of our holiday. The greeness of the gardens and the beautiful wood features and doors are the first features to hit the eye, then there is the delightful team of mainly local residents who will look after you and your every need. For us the welcome drink "Amori Sensation" was to become our most requested item even topping a Bintang beer or the gingermint honey tea. To enjoy this refreshing drink whilst sitting in deep, comfy couches overlooking a seemingly endless sea of green vegetation with the softest of breezes and at the centre an infinity pool which sparkles like an aquamarine was breathtaking.

The invitation to then retire to our villa, in our case "Valley View", was almost secondary as we could easily have spent the rest of our next 7 days right where were. But move we did only to be taken aback yet again. The villa is huge, private deck, king size bed which has the softest linen and comfortable matress and pillows. There is oodles of wardrobe space. The piece de resistance has to be the bathroom with its deep, luxurious bath and outdoor shower which is totally private to all except for the goldfish which swim in the pond alongside you while you shower . The views from the villa were superb and if you like taking photographs you will not be disappointed; there are any number of possibilities right from you own villa!!!

The front of house team are friendly, attentive and always able to help with any enquiry. The range of food that is available seemed endless and breakfast was a real highlight. A daily massage was a real indulgence and something that I pine for now I am back home and up to my ears with the pressure of deadlines and budgets.

We also did some great outdoor activities including bike riding off Kitamani - a must do; early sunrise walk up Mt Batur - a 3am start but then how often do you get to walk up a volcano and along the rim. The later experience will go down as one of my top ten achievments. Lunchin a rice paddy field and a 6am tour of the local market with all of its food, herb, spice and flower offerings.

Amori - the dream child of Rick and Peta Dunn is so much more than a beautiful villa in Ubud, Bali or a holiday of R & R - one certainly senses and feels the love that they have for their dream come through in every sense, be it the art work , the furnishings, the tours they suggest, the time they take to talk and get to know you or just the fact that they ensure you have peace and recovery time. No wonder by the end of our 7 days we were trying to work out how soon we could return and what Christmas year we could bring all of our family and their children to visit and experience " AmorI" Susan and Richard

Room Tip: There are 5 villas to choose from, we stayed in Valley View but had a tour through all 5 and each ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    8
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
72
124
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at amori with two collegues. Trip was business but we decided to extend two days
to enjoy Bali. Pick up at airport was arranged and welcome at villa was excellent. We could have a late meal prepared by the staff. Rooms are very tastefull and the whole layout is breathtaking.
Piece the résistance is the infinity pool overlooking the valley. On the whole the atmosfere is like a private home with staff looking after you personally. Activites are arranged effortless. Meals are prepared considering personal wishes. The villa is optimal for unwinding.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside top villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

On our recent trip to Bali, we decided that we wanted to spend a couple of days in Ubud. After reading the TripAdvisor reviews, we decided on Amori Villa. We were not disappointed and had a truly wonderful time during our stay. The staff was excellent and we were lucky enough to also be there when the owners, Rick & Peta, were on property. The only way I can explain it was to say it was like staying with family - family that happen to live in one of the most beautiful locations in the world in a stunning villa with an infinity pool overlooking a lush valley. Rick & Peta were amazing hosts - engaging, welcoming and really intent on making sure you have the best stay possible. We loved the Valleyview suite, the grounds and pool were gorgeous, and the food deliciously prepared. It really was an all-around outstanding stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and me stayed at Amori Villas for 2 nights and we enjoyed every minute! The lovely staff, always ready to help and visible all the time, great new Manager who is a real hospitality professional and excellent food (if you stay there, you MUST try at least one dinner, we had some world class food there). The room was spacious and I loved to take a bath in their gigantic bath tube. It feels like you are at home, open visible private-alike kitchen and probably the best infinity pool we have so far seen in all South East Asia!!! It's a stunner! Drive to Ubud takes about 5 Minutes, too long for walking, but therefore you are in a quite piece of heaven. Thanks to the entire team of Amori Villa, we will certainly be back and recommend you to our friends and families!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

After reading the website, all these glorious reviews and great location it was really a shock when we finally arrived. Its a good 15 min drive to ubud, located in a suburb outside main Ubud, too hilly and hot to walk so your always reliant on a driver, the place just doesn't feel boutique but kinda like you are in someone's place who has added on units that look out to a pretty average valley. At $300 a night it is really overpriced for Bali. Wouldn't recommend (and yes we are fussy, but our work/hobby entails travelling so we love seeking hotel experiences.)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff were amazing, the rooms were first class and the pool and views were fantastic! Amori is a credit to Rick and Peta, who took us out for dinner to show us some great Balinese restaurants and really made us feel like we had known them for years. We will be coming back soon, and bringing the family to show them just how good it is!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
The setting of a secluded villa in the mountains of Ubud for our honeymoon was perfect. From the moment we stepped into our room; rose petals and chocolate cake, a private dinner surrounding the pool (the food was perfect for our Australian palate) to a flower bath and daily massages.
The staff of Amori are world class and will go out of their way to make sure all your needs are met for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Illawarra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter and from the first moment we arrived we were blown away by the serenity and beauty of Amori.
We met the owners Rick and Peta who made us feel like a part of the family.
We participated in a cooking class with the staff which was great fun and very delicious.
The villa is out of Ubud but only takes 10 mins via the shuttle bus which was very accommodating.
The poolside villa we shared was absolutly beautiful. The staff were amazing especially Kadek and Marsa.
We really did not want to leave this little piece of paradise and I could not fault it in any way.
We can't wait for the next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amori Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amori Villa

Address: Br. Dukuh, Pejeng Kawan, Ubud, Bali 80552, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amori Villa can be whatever you choose it to be - a luxury boutique resort, an exclusive-use health spa retreat or your secret hideaway for a relaxed holiday, romantic celebration or honeymoon. It is also ideal for corporate executive getaways. In harmony with one of Bali's sacred rivers, Amori is designed for peaceful relaxation, with personal service which is more than you could ever expect. You can choose one of seven luxury suites or villas plus enjoy all the shared facilities and services of a 5-star resort, with amazing views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Amori Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amori Villa Hotel Ubud
Amori Hotel Ubud
Amori Boutique Hotel Ubud
Amori Villa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amori Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.