We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything but so "far" too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gayatri Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gayatri Bungalows to your Saves list
Gayatri Bungalows
JL Monkey Forest, Beji Lane, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Close to everything but so "far" too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed was out in the rice fields first 3 nights and it was "out there" but lovely, fresh, quiet. Wanted to energy, companionship and convenience of the "city" or main drag. Perfect location with Gayatri Bungalows a short walk off the main drag and literally THE intersection for everything but my second floor spacious room and huge traditional windows and a large deck looking out to the sunset, rice fields. distant palms, mountains and the river was just over "there." as well. A handy spa and Diet Coke, beer, bottled water, cookie, cracker, mosquito coil store was steps away as well as too many restaurants, shops, convenience stores, book store, walking streets etc. The breakast at the Gayatri Cafe was nice and that became a base for me, felt at home to sit and wifi and have a coffee or beer. Hotel staff were excellent, friendly and helped me book a couple great days out. (Volcano bike down, organic rurral cooking class.) I would head back here in a minute especially to my favorite room. OH, nice clear pool too, the place was just a great value all around. My new Ubud headquarters! Hope to have a pal along next trip. (The two beds and size of the room/bath were handy too for friend-travel)

Room Tip: Either close to pool and wifi or upstairs with a view and more privacy. Some of the staff call the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    47
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
34
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa FL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you are the adventurous type and want experience the real Bali and not not hung up on Western expectations, this place is for you. One of reviewers stated that it was dated, yes it is, and as i stated in previous reviews, I like dated because I get a much more authentic travel experience. I like to wake up knowing that I am in a foreign country, not in a cookie cutter chain hotel somewhere.
The grounds, landscaping and pool are beautiful and serene yet this property is in the very center of Ubud and the activity, the throngs of tourists,bars, restaurants, shops and central market just steps away. Our traditional Balinese style bungalow had a lovely veranda that overlooked a rice paddy, the room was sparse, but clean and comfortable. The elaborate Balinese decor on the buildings are gorgeous! A very romantic and relaxing setting and a great value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

stayed there because of located centrally. room ok (two queen size plus a/c). bathroom should be renovated. it's a pity that the australian owner does not care about his site. less money/costs of owner should not mean less cleaning.not a single hook was in the bathroom for towels or clothing etc. did not like the ants between the towels. geckos were acceptable. upon our arrival there were two cups and a termo can (we were three) with teabags+coffee = appreciated, but as far as I can remember it was bali coffee, not instant coffee. morning breakfast five minutes away in their gayatri cafe, but was ok. place is ideal for less budget. if you eat or if you drink more than one cup of tea you have to pay extra, understandable.

Room Tip: would recommend upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

it is in ther center of ubud . nice and placeful . Good breakfast. good swimming pool .nice stuff .I stay in Gayatri Bungalows 2 night in fan room everything is quite good unfortunately the building nere my room is underconstruction it make a loud noice in the morning and it need unless 3-4 month to finish so don't book that room to stay .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in a room here in may 2012, and really enjoyed the place. Our room was basic and clean with a very nice shower and a good fan which you hardly heared during the night.The breakfast, in the cafe on monkey forest road was really nice and more than enough. The last night we had to move to another room, I think it was room number 2, which had airco, which we didn't use, and no water coming out of the shower, not really nice but ok for us for just one night, but I can't really recommend that room. The swimming pool was very nice and clean, and great to dive into after a long and hot day. The place is very central, on a small gang just off monkey forest road,just in the center of Ubud, next to the local school, but despite all that, very quiet and peacefully during both day and night. Wonderful staff and good service.

Room Tip: Just check the shower before you take a room. We stayed at number 4, which was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Ok so it's not the Ritz, but for IDR250k (USD25) per night for a room with a ceiling fan, hot water, a view all-round, wifi, & nice gardens & pool, I was happy here. The room was basic but decent. I'd stayed nearby for over double the price, & will it was nicer, it wasn't THAT much nicer. So I definitely improved my spend/value by moving here.
It's very close to the main drag, so easy to get in & out. The staff were amazing in accommodating my needs like very early departure, even making up a packed breakfast for me to take away.
They're linked to the nearby Gayatri Cafe and travel service, so they can do everything for you - car, motorbike, tour, etc.
If you're not on a big budget, this is an excellent choice!

Room Tip: Look around to ensure u get the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Booked three nights here for our honeymoon due to positive reviews on tripadvisor. We arrived and checked in and shown to our 'upgraded' room overlooking the rice fields. After looking around the room we decided we were unhappy with the quality of accommodation for the price we paid and asked to speak to the manager to see if we could cancel our booking. Unfortunately as we had booked in through an online agent and not the hotel directly we were unable to do so without incurring a cancellation fee so we had to endure 3 nights there...

Room 14 was very spacious for 2 people (almost too big as it had in it two double beds), however it was not at all well maintained. Mould on the walls, cracked window, a bathroom that looked like it had been installed in the 60's, duck tape around the bath tap, shower positioned on the wall too low so you had to hold it to wash your hair. The residue/ limescale in the bathroom suggested that it hasn't had a good deep clean for a long time!

After two nights in this room we were moved to room 15 (as someone has specifically requested to stay in 14- not sure why!) Room 15 was of a better standard (despite 14 being sold to us as the 'upgrade!' ) - the sheets actually fitted the bed and the bathroom wasn't held together by duck tape . The bathroom however was still very old fashioned and the place needed a thorough clean

All all in all a very disappointing stay for the price we paid - we visited other hotels on the same street offering rooms for the same price and they were much better appointed and maintained.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gayatri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gayatri Bungalows

Address: JL Monkey Forest, Beji Lane, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gayatri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gayatri Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Gayatri Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gayatri Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.