We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem Amongst The Tranquil Ubud Forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graha Moding Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Graha Moding Villas to your Saves list
Graha Moding Villas
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Moding St, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem Amongst The Tranquil Ubud Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Chose to stay here after reading the excellent reviews on trip advisor for our first upcoming trip to Ubud. The beautiful surroundings and peaceful environment was what really appealed to me when booking accomodation as I wanted to stay somewhere where i could recharge my batteries and refresh my mind, and this place did not disappoint. The moment we got there Graha Moding lived up to our expectations. We were given a welcome drink on arrival and our luggage was carried down the cobbled stairs for us. We stayed 7 nights in one of the villas at the front of the property, just passed the swimming pool. The charming villa was clean, tidy and tastefully decorated in true balinese style. The view from the balcony is absolutely breath taking - there are literally no words, you must see it to believe it. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The water pressure of the shower could be a lot stronger, however this is the only minor detail i could fault. The rooms were cleaned daily, and linen and towels can be changed upon request. No Air con in the room but the fan worked well and kept us cool. The breakfast menu here is amazing and filling with a choice of Continental, American or Indonesian style breakfast, served right on your balcony. You cannot go past the banana and pineapple pancakes which are delicious! You can also order in food for lunch or dinner, which we did most nights. Overall this place has the most wonderful staff i have ever come across. Most of them speak English and they are willing to bend over backwards to make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable one. They even made me a special Balinese Black Rice Tea when i was struck with Bali Belly which was a great help. We felt like family here - Well done to the staff! They can help you organise activities and there is a free shuttle into Ubud at fixed times, or you can go to the place next door where you can rent motorbikes and bicycles. The swimming pool is very refreshing and the views are once again spectacular. Will definetly stay here again, and can highly recommend this beautiful place.

Room Tip: The Villas offer more privacy and have spectacular views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Graha Moding Villas, Ubud.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We are grateful for your affirmation of the property location spacious private tropical garden setting, dotted with single storey thatched roof of Wood House rooms and 2 Villas down by pool, inspired by authentic Balinese architecture.

We have taken note of your comment regarding water pressure in bathroom, which you had found need more improve.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Graha Moding Villas, Ubud in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    35
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
59
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel has now 2 independent vilas, 4 rooms (2 ground floor and 2 1st floor) by the pool area, and 2 other rooms behind the spa area, over the reception. All facilities are displayed on a "terrace" kind of form, reminding the rice fields that exist all around the city of Ubud. It's situated outside of town (10m driving) in a very quiet place. To Ubud center either use the free shutlle (twice a day, at 11h and 17:15h, returning respectivily at 17h and 22h) or rent a car or scooter or bycicle (scooter 50.000rp or 70.000 with insunrance, for 24h, and bycicle 30.000 for 24h).
We stayed in one of the ground floor room's by the pool, the one with the view over a beatifull landscape. The room was very spacious, with a huge bathroom. More than enough for a couple. It was cleaned everyday, with change of towels, and the bed confortable with mosquito net. No AC, but a fan that did the job.
Although our room had poor light, during night, making it hard for instance, to read while in bed, this is a thing that the hotel can easilly improve.
All rooms have a veranda, or a porch, if you prefer, where you have your breakfast every morning. You choose which hour you want to be served, as well as what you want to eat, out of 3 diferent types (continental, american and indonesian). Each very well served.
The staff was one of the best things in this hotel. Always available, extraordinarly nice and attentive, they constantly searched for ways to make you confortable or provide your needs.
The hotel also has complementary activities, every day, and if you have a chance, take the rice fields walk, you surelly won't regret it.
We stayed for 8 nights and would've loved to stay more. A place to comeback, for sure.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Om swastiastu

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Graha Moding Villas, Ubud - Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.
We have taken note of your comment regarding light in the room.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Graha Moding Villas, Ubud - Bali in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Amazing peaceful place in the middle of jungle hidden in the beautiful garden, wonderful view, small but very nice pool. Fantastic concert of jungle every night with very gentle singing from local temple make this place absolutely unique and magic. Lovely wooden house and villas in true balinese style, very romantic and very clean. Free shuttle twice a day to the centre of Ubud. Friendly, helpful staff and fully professional.
We felt like members of family not like tourists and regretted to leave this small paradise

Room Tip: rooms of the main house very acoustic, but villas are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent to Graha Moding Villas Ubud.

I was happy to read that Graha Moding conjures up good memories of Ubud. Hopefully your travels bring you back here again one day. Thank you for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la paz
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

After coming from noisy phi phi island in Thailand it was great to get to our villa looking over the beautiful and peaceful vista where the only noise was the river below, the staff are extremely friendly and do there best to make your stay more enjoyable, breakfast on our private terrace is great and good food, it's a little out of town not walking distance but that was fine with us a quick 5 minute drive and your there, I would go back with out a doubt, my only complaint is the water pressure in bathroom isn't that good, but don't let that stop you from coming too this amazing little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: Stay in the villa with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Graha Moding Villas, Ubud- Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered . We are grateful for your affirmation of the hotel’s setting out from hustle bustle of Ubud with spacious private tropical garden and beautiful of infinity pool setting. Also we taken note your comment regarding water pressure in the room has just fix by our engineering staff.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Graha Moding Villas,Ubud-Bali in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We loved this place!! Stayed for 6 nights at the start of November before traveling to other parts of Bali and the Gilis and could not have enjoyed it more. We stayed in the rivers edge cottage, the Java suite, which overlooks the valley below and has an amazing view from the balcony. There is no air con but there is a fan, it did get a bit too hot because for the time of year but we knew when we booked there was no air con so that was not a problem with us.
The location is about a 10min car journey to the center of ubud, so perfect if you like to be away from the busy town and have some peace and quite. There are free shuttle service a couple of times a day but its very cheap to get a taxi also.
The breakfast is great, with the option of banana or pineapple pancakes or an omelette with tea/coffee, fresh juice or fruit and toast all served to you on your balcony! The pool is lovely with views of the trees and valley beside the villas. The staff are the nicest people, with big smiles and eager to help with any query. I would definitely stay again and highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest, Om Swastiastu !

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Graha Moding Villas Ubud, Managed by Pramana Experience.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Graha Moding Villas in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macau
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A charming place where you can have a nice rest or go for lovely excursions to see wonderful places.
The service at this place is remarquable.
Only problem is if you want to stay connected with the rest of the world, the wifi is poor. But that's not why you come for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Graha Moding Villas, Ubud - Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. We have note your comment regarding wifi signal was poor during your stay. We have report that some problem just from provider and its already fix.

Behalf of big family of Graha Moding, we are look forward of welcoming you back at Graha Moding Villas in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Only stayed 1 night but absolutely loved it. After the hustle and bustle of Kuta this was a perfect way to end our holiday. Staff were wonderful and very attentive. Our room overlooked the pool and trees. Even though Ubud is abit cooler at night, still could've done with a fan in the room. The walls are very thin and our bed seemed like it was right next to the neighbours bed so I think that could be changed aswell. The infinity pool was great and the food also. Loved the walk through the rice paddies aswell.
Would stay again, but this hotel is aimed at couples not 2 friends as no twin beds.

Room Tip: Top floor room on the corner overlooking the plantation is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Graha Moding Villas, Ubud - Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

We have taken note of your comment regarding thin wall of our Wooden House and could hear the neighbor. We will look an alternative to proof this condition in future.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Graha Moding Villas, Ubud - Bali in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Graha Moding Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graha Moding Villas

Address: Moding St, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graha Moding Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Graha Moding Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graha Moding Villas Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graha Moding Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.