We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation for very nice price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hibiscus Cottages to your Saves list
Hibiscus Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Jl Bisma Road, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great accomodation for very nice price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in Hibiscus Cottages in July 2013 for one night and we absolutelly enjoyed our stay there. We booked for cheaper room (downstairs), but they provided us with the bigger one on second floor for the same price. In general - we were more than satisfied with everything there. Staff is nice and helpful.

Room - Beautiful entrance and bed with wooden artwork. Room was big enough with beautiful bathroom. Big bed with a mosquito net and quite a good mattress. There was also an amazing spacious terrace with a nice view to rice fields. The room has older furniture, but is very clean and well maintained.

Breakfast - simple (but very good) breakfast with a choice of pancakes + fresh juice. The breakfast is served on the terrace (in front of the room) at agreed time. Coffee and tea available for a whole day (you get a thermos with hot water, cups and you make a beverage on your own any time you want)

Surroundings - beautiful, peaceful place in rice fields just 5 minutes walk to the main street. You can enjoy an amazing symphony of tropical sounds (frogs, birds, etc.) from the rice fields in the night, which we very much appreciated.

Negatives - not many, but to be objective - there is a construction of new rooms nowadays, they are little bit hidden, so may be hard to find + a driver can't take you dirrectly to the hotel - you have to walk 200m with the luggage on a bad path (not really a big deal for us).

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are worth the higher price - they have a nice view to the rice fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
40
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good rooms, clean and spacy, good breakfast and some minutes walk to the touristic hotspots, while quite calm situated. All rooms have a kind of terrace. They are also very helpful in organizing a car with driver or a motobike. neighbors are some ricefields.

Room Tip: Take a room in the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumatra, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been coming here for 8 years for good reasons.
*Staff are wonderful - friendly, available, and helpful with tour ideas and transportation
*Walking distance to everything in downtown Ubud
*Great food - adjacent road (Jalan Bisma) has some of our favorite restaurants on the planet (especially Cafe des Artes)
*Quiet area in the midst of beautiful rice fields (be aware that up to 3 times a year there is harvest and they burn a good amount of the waste - having a/c is espeically good on those days)
*Beautiful new building (will be completed in August) that will have a terrace on the top floor for all of the residents to sit and view the mountains and scenery for miles!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Less than a week since my stay and I want to go back! Owner helped arrange transport for us. We got a free upgrade on our room. We had an upstairs room over looking rice fields. Big relaxing balcony where they delivered our breakfast at our chosen time. Delicious breakfast and banana juice was my favourite! Room was beautiful inside and out. Wood carvings on doors and windows. Big comfy bed. Giant mosquito net kept us bite free. Bath with shower attachment. Hot water! Sometimes hard to come by Indonesia so grateful hibiscus provided it. Quiet and peaceful at night listening to the frogs. Fan no air con, was a little hot at first but cooled down. Staff friendly and relaxed. I would highly recommend the down hill cycle tour the owner sorted out for us (see my other review for that)
Loved this place, I will be comparing every where I go on my travels to it now.
Only small downside noise from construction, but that's in the day. I've read another review that said some rooms were not as nice, this may be true.

Room Tip: Upstairs room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

i had a very good exprience staying here. It feels so homely.
Rooms are spacious and view is just beautiful. The toilet is very clean and amidst the paddy field, it is just magical. Love the balcony that they serve breakfast. Just made life more beautiful. Initially we planned to stay over for 2 nights, but ended up extended our stay for another 2 more nights. Miss the breakfast there and the family that runs this cottage is more than friendly and helpful and it was indeed the best stay I had in Bali. Will be back again.. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in Hibiscus cottages, now called Bali Moon, for 5 days during our 1-month honeymoon in Bali in September 2012. We moved there from another hotel and ended up wishing we moved there much earlier!
We stayed in the best room - the one on the third floor. Third floor is high for Ubud, so the view is gorgeous!!! And the room was filled with natural light and fresh air all day. Below are detailed pros and cons of this hotel.

PROS
- Location is great. It is located on Jalan Bisma, a little, quite, but central street of Ubud,in large and beautiful ricefield.
- Absolutely beautiful Balinese style interiors, large rooms with large bathroom (it's like a separate room :)) and a large balcony/terrace!
- Everything is very clean, linens fresh, etc. We've seen no spiders, ants or any other insects.
- Everything was well functioning.Our wardrobe's lock broke once, but we asked for help and a guy came right away and was struggling until he managed to open it ))
- Tasty breakfasts, brought to you whenever you wake up and ask for breakfast.
- Low price! And the price is very much subject to negotiations - show the hosts you love there cottages, smile and ask for a honeymoon/long stay/pay right away/etc discount :)
- This guesthouse is run by a Balinese family, who live right there. They are very friendly and very helpful, but they won't bother you with questions or be expressly polite. They are very unobtrusive, living with them is like living a normal quite life, we loved it! If you want to support good local people, stay in this guesthouse!

CONS
- No swimming pool. But here is what you need to understand - if you are an active tourist and go out during the day and only come in the evening, you won't need pool in Ubud - evenings in Ubud are COLD. And hotels which have pools are instantaneously more expensive - so you pay more for smth you won't use.
- Little parking space. We rented a motorbike and needed to park it near our hotels. This hotel has a very narrow road in the middle of rice field leading to it, and small parking space, so parking it RIGHT next to the hotel was not very convenient.
- WiFi was not working well in our room (the highest room in the hotel), but worked just fine on the balcony. I believe there must be no problem with all other rooms.

So overall, we'd highly recommend this guesthouse to people who are active and prefer to go out rather than chill all day in their hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the room on the third floor if it is available - it is filled with natural light and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasília
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked three or four months before, anyway they gave us the worst room. No view, a light outside on your face during all night that we could not turn off, very bad matress, everything bad. We had quite a big luggage, but we did not have any help from the staff. When I asked for transport, they just answered:go tho main street and you will find one. It is really very unusual, almost everybody from the hotels in Bali is nice. I was lucky that I booked for one night, afterbthat we got a very good place.

Room Tip: Do not go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Cottages

Address: Jl Bisma Road, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hibiscus Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Cottages Hotel Ubud
Hibiscus Cottages Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.