We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kajeng Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kajeng Bungalows to your Saves list
Kajeng Bungalows
Jalan Kajeng, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location is great as it's close to the action but far enough away to be very peaceful. The gardens and swimming pool are beautiful and the ravine views lovely. The staff were extremely friendly and brought a lovely breakfast to our terrace every day. The outside of the rooms are great, with traditional carved door and windows but the inside is a little basic, however it was mostly clean and the air-con worked. I would happily stay there again as I found it a very friendly and relaxing place, but it would be nice if the bathroom was in a bit better shape. Also worth noting is that a couple of the warungs on this street do fantastic food for a couple of dollars so you don't need to go far to get a good meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here 2 nights. Kajeng Bungalow is a great place in the center of ubud. the rooms are basic but good for 2 with cheap price, breakfast, swimming pool and helpful staff very friendly
I'll be back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a similar bungalow, but due to smell, poor internet access, and price, I moved to Kajeng Bungalows- a move that I was very happy with.
I have read some of the negative reports here on TA, but I did not have similar experiences ither than the lingrring wet smell in the bathroom.
The staff were very attentive, friendly and far from pushy. The pool is big and clean with plenty of room around it, the breakfast is served on your balony as their is no restrauant, and is yummy (slightly different everyday- even
got eggs!).

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Kajeng bungalows is a great place. The rooms are basic, but clean. For privacy reasons they only clean your room when you aks for it. Absolutely a plus in Asia if you aks me...
The garden, the view and the staff are great. We specialy liked Bull and Simon. They were realy friendly and really made you feel welkom and at home. They would always do there best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The location is also very good. Kajeng street has some lovely cheap restaurants, so you never have to go far for your dinner/lunch (Gusti restaurant next door is strongly recommended). It's also a short walk to the center of Ubud.

If I could go back to Ubud I would absolutely stay here again. What you get for what you pay is just great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Pretty cheap and pretty poor. Gardens are nice and pool is ok. The room is poor with lumpy beds and terrible pillows. The people are friendly when they bring up breakfast, which was banana jaffles one day and omlette on a piece of today the next. We moved to a better place for less $

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

While it may seem on the surface like this guesthouse with canyon view and swimming pool are a bargain, you are not really saving any money when the staff take advantage of your being distracted by a telephone call after handing over your payment, and then slipping out a few notes when you turn your back, insisting that you owe more.

Besides this, they are always trying to sell you tours. It is obvious they are not interested in their guests, and only in money. Maybe you will be luckier if you don't visit before a big ceremony such as Galungan that requires Balinese to fork out money for offerings and decorations. However, there are always big ceremonies in Bali.

Any contact you give your eyes with the pool water will feel like a million needles stabbing you, or like being sand blasted. Something is wrong with the pool water. Rooms are not cleaned even during long stays.

This place is a bargain that is too good to be true. If you want the canyon view and swimming pool, pay the extra $10 and stay at Gusti Gardens next door where you won't get ripped off.

Room Tip: choose another hotel, or keep a very close eye on your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

3 of us stayed here after much trekking around ubud to find these fabled ravine views i'd heard of! Its pretty cheap, the room was basic and a bit dark as was the bathroom which smelt a bit. The whole place could do with a.bit of a polish up but the gardens and the pool are beautiful with amazibg views and a short walk to.rice paddies and dance shows and cheap food that are not on monkey forest road. I would definitely stay again!
We were 3 female backpackers and met another group there, but there are lits of.older people that stay there too, and the staff are very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kajeng Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kajeng Bungalows

Address: Jalan Kajeng, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kajeng Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kajeng Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Kajeng Hotel Ubud
Kajeng Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kajeng Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.