We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself to a stay in this wondeful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Sarna Ubud to your Saves list
Villa Sarna Ubud
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Treat yourself to a stay in this wondeful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Early January 2010 we stayed for 3 nights at Villa Sarna. The villa is a wonderful private home - converted into a small boutique hotel – and situated in a quiet tropical valley overlooking lush vegetation and rice paddies. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and beautifully decorated. Staff are very helpful and friendly, breakfast is served on a lovely veranda overlooking the valley and a small pool provides refuge from the heat and comfortable deck chairs. Complementary transport to Ubud is provided at regular intervals, and mopeds can be hired to allow easy exploration of the local traditional Balinese villages, temples and rice fields. A good restaurant down the road complements the wonderful accommodation. Highly recommended for those who would like to escape the bustle of downtown Ubud and treat themselves to a luxury retreat with a personalized experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    64
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
195
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Stayed at Villa Sarna for four nights in November 2009. Great location if you're seeking peace and quiet. Lovely rooms, wonderful happy friendly staff, beautiful gardens, excellent breakfast included, and good food available from nearby restaurant via room service. The free shuttle into Ubud means the town is easily accessible but you're far enough out for total peace and quiet.
The pool is quite small but fine for a cooling dip.
Good value, not the cheapest place around but classy enough to justify the few extra dollars. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Situated 15 min outside of central Ubud you will find this wonderful place tucked away on a mountain. We were there when the owners Mr & Mrs Sarna were there too and we had a fantastic time. Drivers take you back and forth to Ubud whenever you want and the drive to Ubud is amazing! We also went on a few day trips and the knowledge of the local drivers Made and Karek and their enthusiasm to show Ubud and surroundings made it extra special. Villa Sarna itself is elegantly and tastefully decorated making it a pleasure to hang out at the Villa and/or at the pool. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Absolutely amazing place, the rooms are large and spread-out enough that you feel like you're staying in your own private hideaway. The Villa has also been recently renovated and every room has been beautifully finished with its own unique feel. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Absolutley beautiful!!
A little hard to find, but well worth it! (Make sure your driver knows where they are going!)
Daily buses to Ubud make it easy to get around.
Secluded and romantic... Bali Bliss!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We found Ubud very crowded and noisy, therefore this quiet hidden gem with only 7 rooms was perfect! We booked directly over the internet, which was easy and quick. Our room was the most secluded and offered space and peace :-) The surroundings are beautiful and almost junglelike. There are a lot of stairs which is part of the charm but not recommended for disabled people. The free shuttle service to Ubud takes about 20 min. and leaves and returns several times a day. Villa Sarna has an arrangement with a nearby "café" which offered some of the best food we had in Bali - the tuna steak was cooked to perfection! You could either order the food as roomservice at Villa Sarna, eat at the breakfast restaurant or have the shuttle drive you the 2 mins (very steep road) to the café, and the staff at the café drove us back, no charge :-)
Only let down was the breakfast. It had good pancakes and eggs, but boring toast and jam and the cleanliness was not as good as everywhere else at Villa Sarna. The below average english of the breakfast servers was forgotten every time you looked at the view though!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Villa Sarna is more like a Luxury Bed n Breakfast than a Hotel - I say this as I find big hotels to be impersonal and you are just a "number". At Villa Sarna there are only 7 rooms - in the morning you walk to the Dining Balcony and select your type of breakfast which is then made fresh for "you" while you have coffee or tea (coffee is nice) and they serve you a plate of freshly cut tropical fruit (water melon, pineapple, banana, paw paw). The pool is not huge but it is gorgeous and there are lounges, chairs or you can sit in the Bale away from the heat. Villa Sarna is about 20 mins from Ubud, you can advise their driver when you want to go into Ubud and they drop you in and pick you up. The drive is nice and each time they went a different way so I could see the rice padies and local villages. I went into Ubud each day but was glad to come back to the peace and tranqullity of the Villas. I ordered a meal from the Kampung Cafe which was delivered to Villa Sarna for me - they also can pick you up and take you there if that is your preference. Mini Bar prices are very good so it is not a problem that there is no convenience store nearby. If you want more of something eg soda or beer, you just ring them and they remove the items you don't want and restock with those you do. The staff are friendly and helpful. They have free wii-fi so I could use my Notebook to send emals to family and friends - most places charge a fee but not at Villa Sarna. The grounds are wonderful and I spent each day walking around and taking pictures of the fountains, statues and flowers. I will return to Villa Sarna again - it was a quiet oasis and the real Bali.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#38 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sarna Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.