We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot to eat, relax and use wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Monkeys

Three Monkeys
Monkey Forest Rd | Ubud Kelod, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
(0361)975554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 476 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
BELFAST
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice spot to eat, relax and use wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent a few evenings here whilst in Ubud again. Good food choice, friendly staff, enjoyed the Tuna sambal, then the Noodle dish one evening, whilst having a glass of wine or reverse osmosis water.........and checking out my emails.
Dined alone and felt comfortable and relaxed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    399
    137
    52
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious variety of cuisines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The food and service combined made our lunch really pleasant and a fantastic ending to our wonderful holiday in Ubud. it was fantastic becasue there was a variety of cuisines - my mum had Indonesian, my Aunty had tuna salad, and I had italian papardelle. I had an avocado choc and soy milkshake which was very different to anything I have tried. It was really nice but very filling. the food was one of the more expensive places to dine in Bali, but nothing compared to western prices. Suitable for children and in a good location if you are looking for a bite after wandering the streets of Ubud and seeing it's rich and unique culture.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect spot to chill !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The food quality is always consistent...my favorite is Laksa... the broth is so delicious that...I finish it to the last drop!!
I can tell they put a lot of attention on details especially the ingredients put in their food, and drinks - well priced for the quality you are getting!
nice atmosphere, cozy sitting area, great music.... perfect spot to chill while shopping in the area.


Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at the recommendation of our hotel owner. The choices were good, food was fresh and tastey, service was excellent. The setting is very nice overlooking paddy fields. Overall a very good evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Too expensive, personnel not giving you any rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Location seems idyllic, but there are better alternatives. Rice paddy is size of half soccer field. Food is overpriced. Poor carps are swimming around in hardly any water. Previous stories about unavailable food items are correct. Update on that; the government is blamed for bad supplies, but no other restaurant seems to have this problem. Waitresses are constantly coming to your table to pick up anything you have just emptied. This might seem great, but it really gets on your nerves. It got worse with the bill; I just got time to put the final note in, they literally took it out of my hand.
Avoid this place and go to Café Wayan in the same. street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Monkeys also viewed

 

Been to Three Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Monkeys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.