We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cheap food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dewa Warung

Dewa Warung
Jalan Gootama | Ubud Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 437 Restaurants in Ubud
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Cheap food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Accidentally walked into this restaurant the first night and it was such a great experience we went back for 2 out of the three nights we were there.

Pros: very relaxed atmosphere. Great way to talk to other travelers. Very cheap food. Great tasting food. Great options for vegetarians.

Cons: You have to wait a while on your food

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    76
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best value period”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

$5 aussie gets you a chicken curry and a beer in the middle of ubud, hard to beat, service is hit and miss, you get what you pay for, but when its that cheap you dont really care, not the kind of place where people are in a hurry anyway, went there twice, happy both times, a clear favorite with locals in the known.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Trendy?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This restaurant seems to cater to the long term traveler. People seem to linger here, maybe for the vibe. Not sure but 50% of the people there were smoking. The other 50% were busy checking their email and blogging. The food was average. Not bad, just not great. And as for authentic, I wonder about that.... there was no spice to anything ordered. Oh, and don't look in the kitchen, the pots are on the floor along with the bags of rice. The bathroom is right behind the small kitchen.... um its a little scary too. Seriously folks the kitchens in 'authentic' Bali households are much cleaner and organized that this. However if you are trying to make that two week vacation fund stretch for two months... this just might be the place for you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic, affordable food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Looking for a cheaper indonesian restaurant we found Dewa Warung.
Prices really are affordable, they offer a great variaty of meals (quite a few vegetarians as well). It always seems very busy, but normally you can find some space on the large tables.
Even though it always was full when we went there, we never had to wait for a crazy long time. Always beeing busy the staff might not bring you the menu immediatly or take your order straight away, but just getting up to tell them always worked for us.
We went there four times and the food was good every time. Loved the juices and the coconut pie!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cheapest delicious local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We ate lunch here twice and all 5 of us has delicious food and the cheapest we had in Bali. I tried the veg curry which was delicious. The children had delicious chicken sate the local soba was fantastic. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience local food with charm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewa Warung also viewed

 

Been to Dewa Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dewa Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.