We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Lotus

Cafe Lotus
Jalan Raya Ubud, Ubud Kaja, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
(0361)975660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #258 of 426 Restaurants in Ubud
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The view is gorgeous, it looks over a lily covered pond which leads to Pura Saraswati. We ate on the floor in the Lesehan (covered pavilion). The service was quick & friendly. The food was nice (nothing extraordinary) & very quick.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    375
    263
    146
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Terrible service and food was OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I am not sure why the rave reviews? the service was awful. I am not expecting someone to constantly stand there but a little bit of a smile would be nice. Also, the lotus were dying so the view wasn't that great. I was going to leave them a tip, but it would have still been nice for them to bring me back my change and not automatically assume it was all for them. Not impressed.
Food wasn't good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not for dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We turned up for dinner and was told that there were no tables available, except, if we would pay extra to see the show then they could give us a table. Since the show had started, they gave us a discount, allowing us to pay for two tickets instead of three.

We were shown to a table by the lotus pond which was lovely, but still very far away from the dancers. Despite having bought tickets for the show, the waiter was in a hurry to get us to order our food (it was not late), we felt hurried and he suggested the set menu.

Having ordered, we walked all the way around the restaurant to see the show which had plastic chairs placed right in front of the dancers. The waiter, knowing we had paid for the show, came to fetch us during the show and told us that our food was on the table and so we went with him back to the table. I don't know why they charged us extra for the show that we were not able to see from the table because it was far away from the stage and you can't see the dancers clearly! This was the only place in Bali that we felt hurried in - maybe they wanted us to eat quickly so they could turn the tables over.

It was terrible quality for the price they charged and it was not tasty. The food was the worse we had in Bail and terrible value for money! It was nicely presented, but I definitely would not have dinner there again. It is very geared up for tourists, I say.

On a positive note, the lotus pond was beautiful so perhaps worth having a drink there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Draft Bintang? Yes please! And a show? Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Cafe Lotus is busy on a Tuesday because there is dinner and a show. This was the only restaurant in Ubud that we saw Draft Bintang (in a week of restaurants). The Sate gourmet featured three types of satay and tasty sauces.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good view, good food, high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed our meal and loved looking out over the pond. The service was decent. Overall, the meal was pretty pricey compared to similar restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.