We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience... Must do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Elephant Safari Park & Lodge to your Saves list
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Jalan Elephant Park Taro, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience... Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did a day trip to the park and had the BEST time there. During the course of the day, I fell in love with these beautiful, gentle creatures. The park is clean and the elephants look very well kept. We arrived just before the crowd (our package included return transfer) and there was barely a queue to go on the elephant ride. Nicky, our gorgeous elephant, was absolutely charming. Her trainer was also friendly and seemed to genuinely love his job.

The best part was spending time with the appropriately-named Ganteng ('handsome' in Indonesian), a cheeky 3 year old boy. I wished he fit in my pocket so I could bring him home! Ganteng's trainer is knowledgeable and lovely. To me, they looked like a pair of mates! I hope to be able to return one day to see how Ganteng is faring. I was told that he will be starting to do the shows from January 2013.

The show was also a lot of fun. We had the mother elephants entertaining us. They're really clever and have fantastic personalities! We were front row and walked away half drenched as the cheeky things sprayed us at the end of the show.

The buffet lunch was tasty, clean and fast. It was included in our package, but you have to pay separately for your drinks. The shop is vast and stock interesting goods. I do wish they had merchandise for younger kids. I wish I could've bought my little niece (just over 1 year old) a t-shirt. The transport (although our driver was freelanced so we didn't get one of their BAT-owned vans) was safe, clean and on time.

I had a high expectation and it was most definitely exceeded. I couldn't believe how close we got to the elephants! So pleased to see the great conservation work and the elephants seemed to be happy and healthy. A definite must do in Bali!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    134
    28
    18
    13
See reviews for
196
270
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

As advised by many on TripAdvisor, I opted to stay one night at the lodge rather than do the day trip! As expensive as it was, I'm glad we did it. My son rated it as one of his favorite things of an action-packed holiday.

The highlight was the elephant swim which only lodge guests can do. It was in a nasty pond with five (we counted) chunks of poop floating around. But the thrill of riding an elephant bareback, you'll never forget! The other activities for guests is the elephant chauffeur which my daughter loved being picked up and taken to the restaurant by.

The day safari was fine. The "jungle" had lots of variety of plantations for guests to see. The mahouts are great. The show was okay. The kids bought t-shirts so the elephants can paint while they wore them. Another highlight. Feeding was fun. When the new babies are born in the spring, they should attract lots of attention. So cute! We liked the gift shop too.

The food at the lodge was very mediocre. Only memorable thing about breakfast was they offered cappuccino. Small selection and though the view was nice, it came with the occasion whiff of elephant turd. Dinner was overpriced and bland. My duck was way dry and my son's steak way overpriced. I'd recommend ordering pasta or low priced items to fill up and go into Ubud for great food at low prices. The spa was so overpriced we didn't bother. Hotel transport too is much higher than the going rate.

So yes, I'm happy we did the lodge activities but once is enough for a lifetime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Well organised day, we booked with Bali Adventures before we left home so we could get the discount. The company rant the night before at our Bali hotel to confirm pick up time. The driver arrived well in time and took us directly to the park. The elepant ride was a great experience, they even took photos with your own camera for you while you were finishing the ride. The lunch which was also included was wonderful, lots of choices. The elephant show was entertaining. Our driver was there for our return trip. An enjoyable day, it was wonderful being about to get so close to the animals.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

It certainly unique experience. I travelled with my 18 months son and my husband. We booked garden view room. Definitly must booked garden view room because you can get pickup by the elephant directly from your room.
And we can ride elephant, shower them, and give them food. It is a great exeperience.
But the place is far from everywhere, the food is not really good and expensive. The room is small , eventhough is clean but i find it not very comfortable especially the bathroom.
I want to come back again with my son when he is older to the park but i dont think i will stay in the hotel again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalbarri, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This Park is such a wonderful place, a real credit to Nigel and his lovely wife. It is a great experience to interact with elephants so close. The elephants and the staff all seem very happy. We had a twin garden room, it was very clean and comfortable. The elephant taxi picked us up to take us to the night elephant show which is next to the restaurant. Lunch and dinner was really yummy. Breakfast was served in the Mammoth Bar which was also very nice. An elephant picks you up in the morning to go on the garden trek, we stayed two nights so we did this both mornings.I really enjoyed my stay here, we were busy the whole time. I had a massage, scrub and jacuzzi in the spa place, it was fabulous and while in the jacuzzi you watch the elephants through a one way window. Well worth the expense.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room and was great but you can't see the elephants from here. We didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the Elephant Safari for four nights and absoluely looked it. The atmophere is amazing and waking up the the noise of elephants (well onlt five out of 30 are noisy) was great. We were called everyday for an elephant ride and evry night at 6:30 for the "elephant taxi" to dinner. You can wash the elephants daily and do night safaris. The two restaurants were great - beautiful breakfast overlooking the elephants and a magical dinner on the other side watching the elephants. They had three cheeky baby elephants all seem to think the food is somehow hiiden in your skirt. The elphants are front an centre - and somehow you feel this and people are well important but somhow inconspicuous. Do this at least once - easy to get the Ubud from here - 2 or 3 nights is ideal - 4 is probably for the dedicated. Make sure you ask for Casey - this elephant has glass and on safari will do its own thing...so its a snack off to the side - you go with her. Great character and the handlers - well you can just see the love the have for the elephants.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room - probably upgrade to one with a deck overlooking the elephants next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the Elephant Safari Lodge for one night in a Garden View Room. Lovely clean room with comfy beds and luxurious bathroom, although no bath.
Elephants came to collect us from the room to take us to dinner one night and for another ride through the rainforest the following morning. This is a fantastic experience. Also included in the room rate was a swim with the elephants and some time washing the elephants. Wow, words can't describe what a once in a lifetime experience this was.
The elephants make this place a must stay. However, one night is enough, as the park is surprisingly small and it's very easy to see and do everything and have lots of time to spare.
I have to be honest and say that if it wasn't for the elphants, the lodge would be very average. The restaurant was very disappointing (pre-paid for a buffet and instead got a set menu with only 2 choices that weren't great), especially for the price paid, and the breakfast buffet was also just average. The pool was small and cold with a very limited area for sun-lounges. So really, after spending time with the amazing elephants, there is no reason to stay any longer.
Be prepared to feel ripped-off if you need the Lodge to organise transport to your next locaion for you. Although it only cost about US$25 for the roughly 2hr drive from Kuta to the Lodge using a local driver, the Lodge wanted US$30 for the 20min trip to Ubud. Best to pre-organise this yourself. Although the Lodge is in rural Bali, most of their charges are as high as Australian prices. I don't mind paying the high room rate to help support the elephants, but don't like to feel exploited.

Room Tip: Rooms really don't have any outdoor space, so unless you want to sit inside and look out the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Safari Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Address: Jalan Elephant Park Taro, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Safari Park & Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for animal lovers and nature lovers, guests staying at the Elephant Safari Park Lodge get to wake up to the sights and sounds of elephants. When you wake up, head to the Mammoths Head Bar terrace and enjoy your breakfast as you overlook the surrounding lush forest. Have your private elephant chauffeur pick you up from your room and take you on an elephant trek through Taro forest. Have fun bathing, feeding and petting the elephants before you enjoy an evening stroll around the botanical gardens. The Elephant Safari Park Lodge is located just 20 minutes north from the islands cultural and artistic centre of Ubud and 75 minutes north of Ngurah Rai Airport in the historic village of Taro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Elephant Safari Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Safari Park & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.