We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Save Saved
You added Elephant Safari Park & Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Jalan Elephant Park Taro, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 210 Specialty lodging in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What an amazing hotel.
I recently travelled to the Elephant safari lodge with my husband and two children 4 and 2. We only stayed one night and that was fine for our age children
From the moment we arrived we felt welcome including a personal escort to our room by a friendly staff member.
That night it was so exciting because we got picked up from our room and taken to dinner by elephant. The look on my daughters face was priceless.
We then woke in the morning to a lovely breakfast plus more elephant interaction including cleaning the elephants and my husband even swam with them. We then were picked up from our room by elephant again to go for another ride.It is so funny when the phone rings to tell you your elephant will be soon arriving.
It was AMAZiNG. My daughter has shown everyone the brochure she loved it.
Well done Nigel the Australia guy with his family who owns the park it was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    103
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
147
193
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed in a park view room and never wanted to waste a second of the view, both night and day. Spent 2 1/2 days there and still didn't want to leave. Staff amazing and made us feel like we were the most important people in the world. Washing, bathing, feeding, riding and just sitting and watching the elephants was an unforgettable experience. Thank you to EVERY person involved in the running of the park. Hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

from the minute you step into this amazing place - you are transformed into another universe. Smiling friendly staff, cold towels, refreshing drink, and that;s all before you check in! Being escorted to your room thru what can only be likened to botanical gardens - you are shown where the gym and day spa are - both well worth a visit to. The rooms are spacious and clean, steps down to the bathroom, but there is a handrail. Lovely touches throughout, towels folded into elephant shapes, elephant slippers, elepahant feet carved timber bed legs. All things elephant here!! The elephant taxi service from your room with the mahout (handler/trainer) is special. The talent show very clever. The buffet food and the al la carte menu excellent. Food fresh and tasty. shuttle service to Ubud fantastic. (If you don't want to pay to eat at the Park like some writers below, go eat in Ubud, it won't cost you anything to get there.) Bathing and washing the elephants a once in a lifetime experience. feeding the babies just aswesome. we bought fruit in Ubud and took it back for the elephants. The mahouts were really grateful we did this. There was a wedding held there when we were there - elephants dressed in traditional costume and umbrella holders escorting bride and groom, and Balinese girls dressed in traditional costumes. If you can find ANYTHING wrong with this place - you are one mighty hard person to please. If you ever go to Bali - go here, even just for the day. And all this because of one Aussie's passion to save the Sumatran Elephant: Nigel Manson, you are my hero.

Room Tip: we had a garden room, which was fab - if you can afford a park view room, go for it - if you spend l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We did the mountain bike ride which ended in the Elephant Park. Mum dad and 3 kids 7 9 and 13 great ride which ended at the park. We all loved being able to be so close to these amazing animals and the babies were gorgeous. Animals were well treated and the park as neat as a pin. Thoroughly recommend this for all families the kids loved the elephants.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

There's something about seeing elephants when they're not in a zoo, stressed out and trumpeting to the sky to quieten all the annoying animals yapping around them, rather happily standing around, eating bamboo and playing with their kids in the water.

There's something else about staying in a resort metres away from these beautiful creatures.

When you visit ESP for the day, you pay roughly $60 australian for entrance, an elephant ride, bathing elephants in the morning, and a performance by the residents. When you chose to stay at the Lodge - you get all that included, and add $80 for a unique experience ina beautiful Balinese room, with great service. A true one of its kind experience.

We arrived late and missed some of the fanfare, but were walked to our room through the Ubud jungle, to our room. A huge king sized bed, ample room to relax, beautiful marble bathroom and elephand shaped towells! (still one of my hilights)

A few minutes later and we were sat atop a huge elephant with a soft spoken Sumatran, getting our personal escort the the buffet dinner on the other side of the park.

Food was your standard Bali style buffet - catering for its guests with seafood, roasts, salads, and curries. Cakes and all sorts for desserts, a nice range of wines and beers, local and imported.

I won't lie, the buffet was not cheap, even by Australian standards. roughly $35 a head (350,000 rupe's) for dinner, and same again if you want breakfast. I've stayed in 4 star rooms for cheaper. The disapointment in cost is soon washed away with the serenity, when you realise you are staying and dining inside a conservation park dedicated to rescuing sumatran elephants and their handlers, and knowing that most of your spending at dinner is going to the cause.

Elephant ride's especially through the pool, and watching the baby elephants at play less than a metre of you takes you straight back to childhood. It's an amazing experience, and certainly one to behold.

Hot tip - MAKE SURE the cab driver you get knows it's the ELEPHANT safari park in TARO - NOT the MARINE safari park - two hours and 300K away. While speeding through windy mountain roads full of hindu worship festivals is fun, it's also stressful!

I would come back, however 2-3 nights and you've had enough. You just can't keep spending that much for your meals when there is 70+ percent cheaper and higer class properties available.

Take spoilt kids here for a dose of reality. take stressed partners, parents, unseasoned travellers, the grumpiest person you know, and watch them be broken as baby elephants tackle each other in a lagoon metres from your eyes.

A great way to start or end your Bali trip before the crazy times, perfect to relax.

Room Tip: - get the Padi room for the elephant escort. - venture into Ubud by taxi for your meals after your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

As we had friends staying at the Lodge attached to the elephant safari park, we went for a visit from our villa in Ubud to see them and check out the place. Basic entry is US$19 an adult, although for more money there were packages that could be had, including elephant rides. The park is lovely, well maintained and something like a botanical garden with so many flowering plants on our visit. On our walk around, a lake provided the elephants a cool off from the heat and for those on the elephant rides, wet feet. There were 3 baby elephants that we were able to feed fruit to and that was a great camera experience.

Friends were staying in a garden view room which when visiting looked nice and comfortable, king size bed, built in wardrobes, flat screen tv, bar fridge and small table setting with chairs. A clean, modern bathroom off the room looked very nice too. The only downside, I could see, was the numerous steps down to the bathroom from the main room and without railing don’t go sleepwalking.

The huge open dining pavillion, has ala carte or buffet lunch options. Some of our table had the buffet at IDR200,000 (A$20) per person, while the other two chose a tuna dish from the ala carte menu for IDR100,000 (A$10).

Not being a great buffet fan, I must say it was one of the best I have experienced. Lots of choice and everything I put on my plate was tasty, fresh and well cooked. The chicken and pork sates are huge and delicious. Friends having the tuna dishes were also happy, saying they were delicious.

Although more expensive than a lot of dining options in Bali, the money you pay goes back into the park and for the elephants, so we didn’t mind at all. By Australian standards lunch was still excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived at the Elephant Safari Park & Lodge to be greeted with a nice refreshing drink. Our room was comfortable & clean with a fresh fruit bowl awaiting us. The grounds were very well maintained, with a beautiful garden pathway.
We spent 3 days & 2 nights here & in hindsight we should have booked for longer, there is so much to do. The Elephant show goes for about 20 minutes, 3 times a day (1 of these is at dusk). I also washed & bathed with an elephant. There are three young elephants they are so cute, they give you a trunk hug. Nightly the elephant arrives at your room for a ride to the restaurant for dinner. We also had a ride, on a track in nearby surroundings.
There is a shuttle bus to Ubud, pushbike riding, trekking, massages; we did not have a chance to do these activities do to our time constraints. We did go white water rafting, this was heaps of fun, the scenery was amazing. The only downside was 600 steps downhill to the river & 300 back up. The guides are very helpful, take some water with you, pace yourself, it is well worth it.

There is a café & restaurant at the Elephant Safari Park; I thought it would probably be expensive, due to the fact that there is nowhere else for meals & drinks. So it was a very nice surprise to find it is very competitive in price with the rest of Bali. We ate at the restaurant; the food was delicious - very good quality & yummy cocktails.
These elephants appear to be very well cared for, loved heaps & to have a special bond with their trainers. (Just like most people have a bond with their dogs). It was beautiful to see how the elephants & trainers react to each other. Elephants seem to have an amazing ability to understand, when it comes to learning tricks for their shows & what a trainer is requesting. Staying at the Elephant Safari Park & Lodge was great fun, educational & it gave me a fascinating in site into the lives of elephants.

Room Tip: Our budget only allowed for the basic room, this was very clean, quiet & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elephant Safari Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Address: Jalan Elephant Park Taro, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 210 Specialty lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Safari Park & Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for animal lovers and nature lovers, guests staying at the Elephant Safari Park Lodge get to wake up to the sights and sounds of elephants. When you wake up, head to the Mammoths Head Bar terrace and enjoy your breakfast as you overlook the surrounding lush forest. Have your private elephant chauffeur pick you up from your room and take you on an elephant trek through Taro forest. Have fun bathing, feeding and petting the elephants before you enjoy an evening stroll around the botanical gardens. The Elephant Safari Park Lodge is located just 20 minutes north from the islands cultural and artistic centre of Ubud and 75 minutes north of Ngurah Rai Airport in the historic village of Taro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Elephant Safari Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Safari Park & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.