We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Balinese in a modern setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Bisma to your Saves list
Komaneka at Bisma
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
1 night experience
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Authentic Balinese in a modern setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

By far this was the best hotel we have ever stayed a in the world. From the minute we arrived at DPS airport and were greeted by our friendly expeditor/driver who offered chilled towels and cold water, my wife looked at me and said "we made the right choice, I can tell this is going to be a nice place." She was right! The staff was extraordinary and tended to every need we had. We stayed at one of the villas with a private infinity pool overlooking the rain forest and rice fields. The room was huge, with excellent amenities. In typical Balinese hospitality tradition, the staff remembered our names and were always cheerful and willing to go out of their way to make us feel welcome, as if we were guests in their homes. Balinese feel the world is at peace if their guests are happy and have what they need, enjoyed where they just came from and know where they are going to next. While the pool villas were somewhat pricy, it was worth it and we would do it all over again. The location is magical and MUCH better at the other Komaneka near monkey forest (which is within 15-20 minute walk). After staying at many of the Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons in many parts of the world, we are convinced that Komaneka is far superior in its luxurious accommodations and outstanding staff. At the end, the people made all the difference, and we are so thankful to all of the staff for their kindness and genuine hospitality that will inevitably will draw us to come back and visit Ubud again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    92
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
223
655
37
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Built into the hillside, overlooking magnificent tropical forests and rice fields my husband and I both ADORE this hotel/staff. The rooms are all suites, and superbly equipped, they've thought of everything !!! even the large balconies/baths, flat screen t.v.'s etc. . At the moment, the hotel is down a 'track' part of which needs sealing - take comfortable shoes although the hotel does offer an excellent shuttle service into Ubud, which is only 3 minutes by car !!!! and a nice walk, if you enjoy walking.

There is one flight of stairs to the pool area which could be a problem for anyone with severe walking difficulties.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Bisma for 5 nights, enjoyed the stay so much we could have stayed longer. The staff are wonderful nothing is a problem, lots of nice little touches. We had a suite which was large and well appointed decor modern, bathroom huge, king bed very comfortable. Lovely outlook from balcony, rice paddy tropical jungle very serene. Pool area very pleasant. Not a big resort which we seem to like these days much more personable. The free shuttle to most places in Ubud makes it very easy to get around all though we quite often walk back if not too far away. Overall a great place to relax and unwind and enjoy what Ubud has to offer. Wish we were there now.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Komaneka at Bisma for just a week and came back feeling as refreshed as if we had been away for a month! It is a beautiful place in a beautiful setting, and the people are wonderful - so friendly. Just a simple mention of something we wanted was responded to promptly and happily. The service was so good we felt like cherished family members on a visit. (It is great to be greeted by your preferred name by everyone, even if it is the first time they have met you.) Our room was gorgeous, the views were very beautiful and the whole ambience of the place was restful. We had spa treatments in the couples room, which is breathtaking, literally overlooking a river gorge with waterfalls, and the massages were lovely. We were there for Valentine's day and the hotel staff went to great trouble to provide us with a candlelit dinner by the pool with our own menu, and flowers. The hotel is within walking distance of the centre of Ubud, but if you don't feel like walking, the staff will take you and pick you up when you are ready to come back. We look forward to going back again and highly recommend this hotel. We even returned to work after our holiday without the "need more holiday" blues, we were so refreshed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Just returned from 3 nights here. We had the standard (and very nice) Bisma suite room on the 4th (top) floor. The views are to die for. A very nice, large room with separate couch area, great shower and tub. Balcony is completely private (don't see your neighbours on the sides). Pool was great, especially at this time of year (low season) as it was almost our own private pool. Staff are all very kind but perhaps they try a little bit too hard - - many staff are still new to the hotel trade and need to learn how to be more discreet. But they mean well. For light sleepers the morning rooster's wake up call was a bit of a shock... The breakfast is fantastic with a number of options (Indonesian or Western); fantastic home made sambal (four different kinds). Also had nice lunch and dinner meals. We thought this place was fantastic value and will definitely go back. Yes, Amandari may be better, but it is 2-3 times more expensive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

After reading so many great reviews about this place. We were quite disappointed.
This is the 2nd hotel from our week trip in Bali. We stayed in Ayana in the beginning.
And it was fantastic. So we had quite high expectation coming to Komaneka.

Firstly the road to komaneka bisma is small, and halfway is only dirt road. So don't expect anything grand. Entry is a quiet affair in here. There wasn't anybody to greet us as we came off the car. The greeting from the lobby staff was not warm either. So first impression was bad. Especially coming from the warm greeting we got from Ayana.

The view from the lobby however was fantastic. We arrived around 5pm, and was escorted to our room in the ground floor.
Upon entering the room the electricity was dead. The view from our room was very ordinary, unlike the view from the top floor.
We waited patiently for them to fix the electricity to no avail. So we left to have the afternoon tea. (nice warm staff, average food).
Upon finishing our afternoon tea, they still cant fix the electricity in our room.

So I went to the front desk twice, first asking for another room in preferably higher floor. But the hotel was quite full. Only another room in level 2, and a pool villa that's available.

On my 2nd visit to the front desk, I met pak Surya, the hotel manager.
Because we had a dinner appointment at 6.30 in Mozaic, we need to get changed quickly, and the room situation prevent us to do that. Pak Surya then tried for few times to sell us the US$260 upgrade to the pool villa. Finally after sensing our disappointment, he gracefully offered to upgrade us for free and rearrange our reservation at Mozaic.

The pool villa is better than the suite, the outdoor shower is lovely, and the apple Tv is a nice touch. However it's nothing compared to the luxury standard of Ayana or Banyan Tree. It's nice but not great. The amenities was very very basic (3 star standard). The view was also blocked by trees just outside of the private pool.

We had breakfast at our villa, and it was very generous. We can't finished them off. And the quality is quite nice. The main pool was nice, a bit chilly (from the location).

This hotel need to pay closer attention to the details to warrant the price they asked for. For example; we found that almost all of the pool umbrella have this ugly fungus over them. Maybe because of the damp weather, but it's not an excuse. Our bathrobes sleeves was also tethered. The fitness equipment was so basic, and the library was too dark with inadequate lighting.

Overall our stay was too average, only being compensated by the warmth of most of the staff. The lady at the restaurant gives me extra portion of my fave afternoon tea cake, was some of the unexpected highlight. And Doni our driver was very helpful, not just dropping us off to Ibu Oka, he went further by personally making sure we got served first.

Don't come to this hotel expecting 5 star standard, this is only an average 4 star hotel, that way you wont be disappointed. As to us, we won't be coming back to this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

My husband & I spent a week at this hotel. The hotel setting and lobby are a sight to behold. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Big balcony off the living room area complete with two chaise lounges, a dining table with two chairs and it all overlooks the small rice paddies, pools and lush surroundings. A turndown service is provided in the evening plus there is even a complimentary Komaneka nightgown and bathrobe to put on if you like.
Breakfast can be had on your balcony or in the restaurant. Good selection of breakfast items. Afternoon tea by the pool is a wonderful touch. The pool felt wonderful especially after spending hot & humid afternoons touring the surrounding areas. The spa services, while not cheap, are wonderful and the treatment rooms are very relaxing. I had an hour long relaxing foot and leg massage topped off by a serving of tea and fresh fruit...devine! During our stay, the hotel received it's blessing, a ceremony lasting most of the day. Music, Balinese dancing, offerings made at the onsite temples and shadow puppetry. Staff provided Balinese temple attire to those guests who wanted to attend the ceremony. As we were travellling to another part of SE Asia, our week at Komaneka came to an end and now that we are back in Ontario, I want to go back!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Bisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.