We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Bisma to your Saves list
Komaneka at Bisma
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 147 Hotels in Ubud
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for four days in July with our teenage children. The hotel was beautiful. The grounds are stunning, with beautiful landscaping throughout. Our rooms were large and connected through the balconies, which worked wonderfully. The beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms beautifully fitted out and huge. The service was warm and personal and the reception staff were very helpful. The breakfast was not a buffet but a la carte and the food was fine but not the delicious variety of some comparable standard hotels. Other than that, everything was first rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    103
    28
    6
    1
See reviews for
248
706
39
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

There might be better hotels in Ubud but I doubt it. If you're looking for peace and pampering after the bustle and crowds in southern Bali then this is probably the place for you. The suites are beautifully fitted out in local hardwoods and ceramics, the views of the lush vegetation are second to none, service is highly professional and the pool is excellent.
My only quibbles would be: (1) the food, which is okay but frankly not commensurate with a hotel in this price range; and (2) the shuttle service into central Ubud, which can be erratic - all the hotels drop guests off at the same place and as they tend to use the same type of transport, it can be difficult to spot your car when you want to return to the Hotel, not least because the Hotel's cars do not to display the Komaneka at Bisma's name (why?).
One tip: if you agree to take a tour of the local villages around Ubud with a driver from the hotel, make sure you know what you want to do beforehand. Don't be browbeaten into following the driver's suggestions as they may have a different agenda (and tastes) to yours. Ours just wanted to get us into specific shops, possibly because he got commission from them. Further he chose the tackiest paddy field view imaginable - unless you like tourist tat and crowds, avoid the village of Ceking even though it's quite close.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms immediately overlooking the main swimming pool if you are sensitive to noise during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

After staying in many hotels in Ubud,
I personally think that this hotel is the best in many ways.

The location is in the centre of Ubud.
The view is a combination of rice terrace, jungle and river view.
The artworks are superb.
Staff are so friendly and helpful.

Thanks to Dek Sri, our new friend that help us getting everything we needs.
Perfect Double Macchiato, Nice juices and options of combo breakfast.

Will be back here soon...

Room Tip: Ask for the Fourth Floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Although the resort is near the center of Ubud, it is hidden and tucked away from the hustle and bustle. The scenery from our balcony was breathtaking, overlooking a private rice terrace. We were pleasantly surprised by the rose petals and plumeria that were arranged on the beds, as well as the beautifully scented wash towels that were offered when we arrived. If you are looking for serenity and some rest and relaxation, this is the place to go. We enjoyed the pool area, listening to the sounds of the flowing creek below and the surrounding birds nearby.

Breakfast was delicious, and the service was great.

We had a lovely experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our second stay at a Komaneka resort. They do it so well! The location of Bisma is excellent. I preferred it Tangayuda. We stayed in a Pool Villa overlooking the valley and the setting was magical. The staff are extremely helpful and the shuttle bus in and out of Ubud is such a great service. The only thing I would say in the negative it the food could be improved slightly for a hotel of this quality. It isn't terrible but it isn't superb. Luckily all that Ubud has to offer isn't far away so you can dine out most meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We upgraded to the Bisma for the last 2 days of our stay in Bali. The Bisma did not disappoint. The hotel was everthing we had expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our needs. Whenever we returned from a day trip, they greeted us with "welcome home", and that's what it felt like. The rooms were huge and the water pressure in the shower was awesome! We were on the second floor which gave a great view of the rice fields.

The breakfast in the morning was also good, we had the eggs benny every morning. The service was quick and the staff were attentive. The view from the restaurant was great as it gave the feeling of being away from the busy town.

If you decide to walk to the monkey forest or Ubud, it is about 15 minutes from the short cut and you will need to walk down the unpaved farm road. The walk was interesting and we are glad we make the trek. There is also an "alley" that is wedge between 2 buildings that is no wider than 3 feet, just be care ful and watch out for scooters as the road is actively used to get to the retreats.

We did not get to try the restaurants around the Bisma but I am sure they are very good.

We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Bali.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for our honeymoon in a 4th floor bisma suite. Arrived very late (after midnight) and were greeted at reception by name, and still given all the welcoming drinks and towels. Our room and bathtub was filled with rose petals, and there was a wonderful honeymoon cake and personally signed card from the hotel. A wonderful start to a wonderful stay.

The room was well appointed with not a thing left to want. We loved the sunhats, insect repellant, nightgowns, thongs and all the bathroom amenities. The balcony provided full afternoon sun when the pool was in shade and we spent many late afternoons on the loungers reading as the sun went down.
The pool is fantastic, clear and relaxing with the most serene views of the rice paddies and jungle.
We enjoyed breakfast and afternoon tea daily, and service from all staff was impeccable and friendly. There were daily activities for guests and we took up the offer of complimentary 1.5 hr yoga, which was very professional and a nice break from the pool for us.

The shuttle into town was very convenient, and they even dropped and picked up from locations not on the shuttle map if required. I recommend getting dropped at the end of the street (Jl Bisma) and walking across the road and through the rice fields to a little restaurant called Sari Organik. A highlight of our time in Ubud.

The only thing we were left wanting for was a happy hour, as there was a lovely bar at the lobby but not very busy.

I thoroughly recommend the Komaneka hotels for visitors to Ubud. It is very nice to be able to stay in a hotel that is owned and run by a family from Ubud (albeit a very wealthy one), as it offers a much more Balinese and heartfelt experience than a Hilton or Hyatt chain hotel. Entry to the Neka museum was complimentary for guests and we enjoyed learning a bit about the history of the family and Balinese art.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali
The Samaya Bali
#2 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#40 of 147 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Bisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.