We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Save Saved
You added Komaneka at Bisma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT US$285NET
Ranked #5 of 120 hotels in Ubud
Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“More than excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Tripadvisor does not have enough "dots" to grade this hotel. It was the best of all six hotels we visited during our recent trip to Bali and I dare say the best we have ever visited. The size of the rooms and compounds, the friendliness, the cleanliness, the comfort of the beds, the grounds, the little extras, the views, the food and drinks as well as the location. Everything was outstanding.

We had booked a two-bedroom pool villa and were upgraded to 'the residence', the 3-bedroom compound. There is a review below this one that describes this compound accurately and I have not a lot to add. You have to see it in order to believe that you can have this amount of space with this level of comfort in any hotel. I have yet to come across any european hotel that will offer this within this price range.

The à la carte breakfast which was served in our villa at no extra charge was excellent. Wonderful choice and the staff was very flexible whenever we asked for a slight change in the menu. My husband does not like lemongrass and this was noted upon our arrival. Given the fact that lemongrass is an ingredient in quite a lot of Balinese dishes we really appreciated the fact that the staff took care not to put any lemongrass in any of his food or drinks. When one of our children was not feeling too well one morning the staff noticed that the pancakes had been left untouched and asked what was wrong. We were then offered a herbal tea. Very considerate. Twice we had dinner in the restaurant. The setting was lovely and the service, the food and drinks were excellent on both occasions. We found the prices quite reasonable.

We found the distance to the centre of Ubud just right. Jalan Bisma is a quiet and safe road and the walk into town is quite pleasant even though a bit hot during the day. We took torches at night (available in the room) however we didn't really need them. There is a shuttle service if you don't wish to walk.

One day we asked the hotel to arrange a driver to take us to Bali Zoo and on a tour of the art villages around Ubud. The price for 5 to 6 hours was 50 USD. The driver turned out to be a staff member of Komaneka with some spare time. This was a very nice guy who drove us around in one of the comfortable Komaneka cars (cookies on board !) and waited for us with a smile. We had a wonderful day out. We stayed out longer than the number of hours we agreed and there was no extra charge.

We visited the spa once for a traditional balinese massage. This too was outstanding with a welcome drink, footpath, massage, shower, jacuzzi and ginger tea afterwards. Very professional.

I think that everything else about this hotel has been said more than once : 'welcome home' when you come back, turndown service with bedtime story and comfortable night gown, mosquito spray, umbrellas, shopping basket, in- & outdoor slippers, flowers and fruit, apple TV, WIFI, etc, etc... It's all true :)

This was our second time in Ubud and when we come back we will not think twice about which hotel to go to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    889
    84
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
191
577
34
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Candi Dasa, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This Hotel really deserves first class especially in service and hospitality. The staff is amazing and you feel like being part of the team.
The atmosphere is excellent and we had a wonderful time. Got an upgrade as well.
Lucky to have met the owners you were very warm and hearty person what they have also passed on to their staff.
We can highly recommend. Also the other Komaneka hotels in Ubud are really nice. Bisma is the best though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We are currently staying here in the 3 bedroom villa. Where to start?
we checked in 2 days ago....the reception foyer overlooks a stunning valley filled with rice paddies and jungle. So beautiful. Cool drinks and towels on arrival while you check in. Within minutes we have been driven by golf buggy to our room, which is a spacious 800 sq metre 3 bedroom villa with a huge infinity pool. the rooms are beautiful. King size 4 posters in each room, ( beds are firm, with a soft top...so beautiful to sleep on ) with large plasma TV. the bathroom is HUGE. A beautiful bath filled with water, frangipani flowers and rose petals were waiting when we first entered our rooms. Each room had 2 - 3 dozen red or pink roses. bathroom products are beautiful, towels plentiful, and even sitting areas in the bathroom as well as huge walk in shower, and a toilet bowl that glows blue at night so you can find it without turning the lights on.
Outside our 3 rooms, we have an outdoor kitchen, and a 15 metres ( at least, maybe more ) infinity pool for our use only. Down the side of the villa, there is a waterfall that blissfully sends you off to sleep. Our pool area is stocked with mozzie coils, insect repellant and hydrating facial sprays along with piles of towels for our use.
Our outdoor kitchen had another 3 dozen red roses, as well as an array of herbal teas and coffee.
Service : Just wonderful. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and speak beautiful English. We ordered a lot of room service, and food and drinks were brought to us promptly by lovely staff.
This is the perfect place to start your holiday, and totally relax. Groups of friends and or couples would all enjoy staying here. If you want the night life, you will get that in Kuta. If you want serenity, with fine dining a 5 minute taxi ride away...stay here. Cannot speak highly enough if the staff, resort and ambiance.

Room Tip: Come with a group of friends, and book the 3 bedroom Residence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If the famous character John Rambo were to pick a spot to relax this would be
right up his alley. Only an hours drive north of Denpasar, just outside the
city of Ubud, you will find Komenaka at Bisma. There are four other Komaneka
resorts so be sure to point the driver to the right location. I believe the Bisma
version is the best location and the most luxurious choise.

We came here after staying at the Damai in Lovina and the Pavilion in Sanur. The
Komaneka is a fairly large hotel with both villas and specious rooms. We stayed in
two adjacent rooms on the second floor with ajoining terraces. The very nicely appointed
rooms and large terraces immediatly face the jungle and rice terrasces - hence Rambo
sould feel right at home here.

There is a nice long swimming pool, but if you would like to swim alone take the shorter
curved pool by the SPA. There is a nice restaurant where you can sit both in- and outdoors
and the SPA it self is beatiful treatment rooms. There is a big and well equipped fitness
room with treadmill, cycle, nordic walker, mats and dumbels. The rooms has A/C and lots
of free water and twoels. Great job!

The service is at Komaneka is quite unique as well. Everywhere you are and look you will find
friendly and smiling staff ready to help you accommodate your wishes. Our son got sick one
night (not related to anything at the hotel) and 20min after the hotel had called the local doctor who examined our son and gave him the medicine necessary to fix the problem. When the medicine failed to help during the night the hotel arranged a quick transport to the best hospital in Denpasar (Kashi Ibu) and he is now better. The frontdesk manager suggested that the hotel would have a person from their staff 24/7 at the hospital to help out. When we politely refused, he showed up at the hospital with a fruitbasked at a get well wish banner. On the last day of our hospital stay he also showed up with a "get well" card signed by all the staff. Truely unique caring service and friendliness. (It touched our hearts - thanks!)

The food at Komaneka is also great. The menu offers a large selection of both national and international dishes. The local Chicken satay is served on a hot minigrill and with steamed rice it is a delight to look at and tastes great. The breafast is cooked to order and you can chose from a number of egg dished, pancakes, frenshtoast, fruit, youghurt and so forth. And you can enjoy the meal on the restaurant terrace with a great view of the jungle or at your own terrace as all meals can be efficiently and nicely served here.

All in all, the Komaneka at bisma is a fine resort, which neither you nor Mr. Rambo would want to leave.

Room Tip: The higher floor you pic the better view you will have. Take the small jogging trail around the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The staff made us feel so welcome, and went above and beyond to make us happy. The whole staff greeted us by name (even those we hadn't met yet) every time they saw us. They also asked for our dietary preferences upon arrival (we are gluten free) and without even asking every meal we ordered was specially made gluten free for us, with fresh gluten free bread! Our driver, Wayan, took us wherever we wished, and waited patiently for us no matter where we went. We never felt rushed, not were we charged for "extra time." I mentioned to him how much I enjoy Mangosteens, and on our last day, we brought us a box of fresh picked mangosteens from his family's yard!

The only minor downsides were that instead of a king sized mattress, they had pushed two twin mattresses together. They promptly changed them once we notified them. Also the location is slightly outside the town area of Ubud, so it's a nice 15 minute walk or you can take the free shuttle service. We visited some other Komaneka branches inside the town, but Bisma was the most lovely.

Aside from the wonderful staff, the hotel itself is so relaxed and gorgeous, the food was so fresh and delicious, and the jungle of Ubud is magical. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room for the very private balconies and incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a trip around Indonesia last Oct 2012 with Ubud, Bali being our final destination. Once we got to this hotel we knew it would be an amazing place...and it only got better from there!!! The room was AMAZING (they upgraded us to a 2 floor unit with a private pool and outdoor kitchen/ eating area!!), the staff extremely accomodating, the views were gorgeous (rice paddies surrounding the property), and the food was delicious!!
Only positive feedback about Komaneka - I've travelled to quite a few places worldwide and so far this has hands down been the best stay anywhere we've been! Would LOVE to here again sometime if we get back to Bali!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This must be one of the best hotels we ever stayed in. The rooms are just unbelievable, very spacious, luxurious bathrooms and everything you could ever imagine. The infinity pool makes you think you're swimming in the middle of the jungle. And the staff is incredible and seems to know exactly what you need. When we came back from our rafting trip, even the pool boy asked if we had enjoyed the rafting, although we never told him. Make sure to book a bicycle tour with the hotel. A beautiful trip through the rice fields brings you right back to the hotel where a healthy energy drink awaits you. The restaurant might not quite be up to the same standards and we had had better breakfasts in Bali. But there are lots of other dining options in Ubud like Il Giardino and Murni's. I would most strongly recommend the Komaneka Bisma

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#10 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Bisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.