We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Save Saved
You added Komaneka at Bisma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT US$330NET
Ranked #6 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Candi Dasa, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This Hotel really deserves first class especially in service and hospitality. The staff is amazing and you feel like being part of the team.
The atmosphere is excellent and we had a wonderful time. Got an upgrade as well.
Lucky to have met the owners you were very warm and hearty person what they have also passed on to their staff.
We can highly recommend. Also the other Komaneka hotels in Ubud are really nice. Bisma is the best though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    853
    80
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
179
556
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We are currently staying here in the 3 bedroom villa. Where to start?
we checked in 2 days ago....the reception foyer overlooks a stunning valley filled with rice paddies and jungle. So beautiful. Cool drinks and towels on arrival while you check in. Within minutes we have been driven by golf buggy to our room, which is a spacious 800 sq metre 3 bedroom villa with a huge infinity pool. the rooms are beautiful. King size 4 posters in each room, ( beds are firm, with a soft top...so beautiful to sleep on ) with large plasma TV. the bathroom is HUGE. A beautiful bath filled with water, frangipani flowers and rose petals were waiting when we first entered our rooms. Each room had 2 - 3 dozen red or pink roses. bathroom products are beautiful, towels plentiful, and even sitting areas in the bathroom as well as huge walk in shower, and a toilet bowl that glows blue at night so you can find it without turning the lights on.
Outside our 3 rooms, we have an outdoor kitchen, and a 15 metres ( at least, maybe more ) infinity pool for our use only. Down the side of the villa, there is a waterfall that blissfully sends you off to sleep. Our pool area is stocked with mozzie coils, insect repellant and hydrating facial sprays along with piles of towels for our use.
Our outdoor kitchen had another 3 dozen red roses, as well as an array of herbal teas and coffee.
Service : Just wonderful. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and speak beautiful English. We ordered a lot of room service, and food and drinks were brought to us promptly by lovely staff.
This is the perfect place to start your holiday, and totally relax. Groups of friends and or couples would all enjoy staying here. If you want the night life, you will get that in Kuta. If you want serenity, with fine dining a 5 minute taxi ride away...stay here. Cannot speak highly enough if the staff, resort and ambiance.

Room Tip: Come with a group of friends, and book the 3 bedroom Residence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If the famous character John Rambo were to pick a spot to relax this would be
right up his alley. Only an hours drive north of Denpasar, just outside the
city of Ubud, you will find Komenaka at Bisma. There are four other Komaneka
resorts so be sure to point the driver to the right location. I believe the Bisma
version is the best location and the most luxurious choise.

We came here after staying at the Damai in Lovina and the Pavilion in Sanur. The
Komaneka is a fairly large hotel with both villas and specious rooms. We stayed in
two adjacent rooms on the second floor with ajoining terraces. The very nicely appointed
rooms and large terraces immediatly face the jungle and rice terrasces - hence Rambo
sould feel right at home here.

There is a nice long swimming pool, but if you would like to swim alone take the shorter
curved pool by the SPA. There is a nice restaurant where you can sit both in- and outdoors
and the SPA it self is beatiful treatment rooms. There is a big and well equipped fitness
room with treadmill, cycle, nordic walker, mats and dumbels. The rooms has A/C and lots
of free water and twoels. Great job!

The service is at Komaneka is quite unique as well. Everywhere you are and look you will find
friendly and smiling staff ready to help you accommodate your wishes. Our son got sick one
night (not related to anything at the hotel) and 20min after the hotel had called the local doctor who examined our son and gave him the medicine necessary to fix the problem. When the medicine failed to help during the night the hotel arranged a quick transport to the best hospital in Denpasar (Kashi Ibu) and he is now better. The frontdesk manager suggested that the hotel would have a person from their staff 24/7 at the hospital to help out. When we politely refused, he showed up at the hospital with a fruitbasked at a get well wish banner. On the last day of our hospital stay he also showed up with a "get well" card signed by all the staff. Truely unique caring service and friendliness. (It touched our hearts - thanks!)

The food at Komaneka is also great. The menu offers a large selection of both national and international dishes. The local Chicken satay is served on a hot minigrill and with steamed rice it is a delight to look at and tastes great. The breafast is cooked to order and you can chose from a number of egg dished, pancakes, frenshtoast, fruit, youghurt and so forth. And you can enjoy the meal on the restaurant terrace with a great view of the jungle or at your own terrace as all meals can be efficiently and nicely served here.

All in all, the Komaneka at bisma is a fine resort, which neither you nor Mr. Rambo would want to leave.

Room Tip: The higher floor you pic the better view you will have. Take the small jogging trail around the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The staff made us feel so welcome, and went above and beyond to make us happy. The whole staff greeted us by name (even those we hadn't met yet) every time they saw us. They also asked for our dietary preferences upon arrival (we are gluten free) and without even asking every meal we ordered was specially made gluten free for us, with fresh gluten free bread! Our driver, Wayan, took us wherever we wished, and waited patiently for us no matter where we went. We never felt rushed, not were we charged for "extra time." I mentioned to him how much I enjoy Mangosteens, and on our last day, we brought us a box of fresh picked mangosteens from his family's yard!

The only minor downsides were that instead of a king sized mattress, they had pushed two twin mattresses together. They promptly changed them once we notified them. Also the location is slightly outside the town area of Ubud, so it's a nice 15 minute walk or you can take the free shuttle service. We visited some other Komaneka branches inside the town, but Bisma was the most lovely.

Aside from the wonderful staff, the hotel itself is so relaxed and gorgeous, the food was so fresh and delicious, and the jungle of Ubud is magical. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room for the very private balconies and incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a trip around Indonesia last Oct 2012 with Ubud, Bali being our final destination. Once we got to this hotel we knew it would be an amazing place...and it only got better from there!!! The room was AMAZING (they upgraded us to a 2 floor unit with a private pool and outdoor kitchen/ eating area!!), the staff extremely accomodating, the views were gorgeous (rice paddies surrounding the property), and the food was delicious!!
Only positive feedback about Komaneka - I've travelled to quite a few places worldwide and so far this has hands down been the best stay anywhere we've been! Would LOVE to here again sometime if we get back to Bali!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This must be one of the best hotels we ever stayed in. The rooms are just unbelievable, very spacious, luxurious bathrooms and everything you could ever imagine. The infinity pool makes you think you're swimming in the middle of the jungle. And the staff is incredible and seems to know exactly what you need. When we came back from our rafting trip, even the pool boy asked if we had enjoyed the rafting, although we never told him. Make sure to book a bicycle tour with the hotel. A beautiful trip through the rice fields brings you right back to the hotel where a healthy energy drink awaits you. The restaurant might not quite be up to the same standards and we had had better breakfasts in Bali. But there are lots of other dining options in Ubud like Il Giardino and Murni's. I would most strongly recommend the Komaneka Bisma

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was the fourth visit to Ubud for my wife and I. The first two times, we stayed at the Four Seasons at Sayan (fantastic!), and the third time at the Viceroy (not so much). For this trip, our budget forced us to look at other options, and we came upon the Komaneka at Bisma. The first time we laid eyes on this property was during our visit last year when, while taking a shortcut down Bisma road from the main road leading out of Ubud directly to the Monkey Forest, we walked by the entrance to the Komaneka. At the time, we thought it didn't look very good, that given how undeveloped Bisma road is, we figured the hotel couldn't be that nice.

Boy, were we wrong! Hidden at the end of a short drive lies a beautiful, boutique property that has rice paddies and untouched jungle surrounding it. We booked two suites (we traveled with our two kids this trip), that had large terraces which connected via a door.

The rooms were spacious and clean, with large bathrooms featuring a beautiful tub.

The location is perfect for frequent visits to central Ubud and all its excitement. Lots of shops, spas and restaurants. Breakfast was included, and we opted to eat it each of our five mornings out on the terrace with the beautiful jungle view. The nights erupted with the sounds of frogs, crickets and whatever nocturnal creatures come to life. The night sky (when not covered with clouds - we had rain off and on over our five night stay), was blanketed with twinkling stars.

The resort was fairly well booked, but we always felt like the only guests there. It was very quiet and enjoyable.

We had room service for dinner a few times, and the kids had it again when my wife and I went out to Ubud for dinner. The prices at the Komaneka were very reasonable, and I tend to think this is due to the competition of central Ubud located so close to the property. We never ate lunch or dinner on site, opting to try the various restaurants in Ubud, all offering great prices on good food and drink.

The hotel has a spa, but right next door is a spa where my entire family enjoyed 5 hours of treatments (massage, facial, pedi, mani, etc.) for the price of $130USD for all of us! Most spas offered similar pricing, so that was our preference on the spa front.

The front desk staff was the most friendly and engaging that I'd encountered on this trip. They addressed me by my name whenever I passed by (usually on the way out for a walk into town), and were extremely helpful in booking excursions and the minibus we required for our onward journey.

So many of my memories are driven by the emotions that are associated with the experience. Thinking back to our time at the Komaneka at Bisma fills me with wonderful feelings and happy memories.

I highly recommend this property for anyone contemplating a visit to Ubud (which is a must if visiting Bali).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#10 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Bisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.