We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel! Perfect for honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Bisma to your Saves list
Komaneka at Bisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT US$330NET
Ranked #6 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel! Perfect for honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was perfect. We stayed in the one bedroom villa (room 102). I seldom want to stay locked up in my room, but this villa will make you want to stay in your room all day! (see our video of the room on youtube under my same user name) The infinity pool overlooks the beautiful rain forest and the only thing you hear is the river flowing. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Every night they fixed our bed and brought flowers. The grounds are kept immaculately....the rice paddies in the grounds were much prettier than most of the ones in Ubud. There is also a shuttle service that takes you to town and they do special pick ups if you tell them in advance, which is very helpful. Would definitely recommend and will stay again!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    90
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
205
614
35
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have tried many luxury hotels; both chain (Starwood) and boutique; for business and leisure; but Komaneka at Bisma comes up tops for 2 things: its wonderfully designed infrastructure and the authenticity of its hospitality.

This is a hotel where every nook and cranny seems to have designed down to the slightest detail not only to offer every comfort but to plant and blend the 4-storey resort into its divinely serene natural surrounds of padi fields and lush forest. Every morning and night, I woke and calmed down to rest to the melody of a bubbling brook; remotely reminiscent of an exquisite Japanese Ryokan.

But what is far more fascinating and deeply pleasurable is the genuine pride in which the staff practise their service care. The owners; a prominent Ubud family with a long history of promoting its traditional arts (they own the Neka museum; the largest private collection of Balinese art), have actively cultivated the recruitment and training of married couples to manage the resort. And boy does it show.

The result is the very opposite of the servile; saccharine-sweet service you get at the chain luxury tourist traps; but a much higher order of hospitality that can only be dispensed by skilful, knowledgeable hoteliers who have a healthy, knowing pride of the high scale of experience they provide at Komaneka Bisma.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Komenenka in April 13, just before spending a week at Ayana near the coast. The service and hospitality at Komenenka Bisma was second to none....from the amazing staff that remembered everything from our names to our allergies to what we were doing daily, to the free shuttle service, and the food and pool service....they went above and beyong everytime. The grounds and rooms were amazing and in great shape - the location just out of town was absolutely perfect. We couldn't recommend this place more for a stay in Ubud.

Room Tip: every room has a great view of the jungle and rice patties...but choose a room on a higher floor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After staying in Nusa Dua for a few days we were looking forward to spending some time in the heart of Ubud. This hotel is set slightly away from the main road in Ubud and is absolutely stunning. Set within a beautiful forest, the view was picture perfect, the swimming pool - we have never seen anything like it before! My husband and I had spa treatments and they were outdoor facing the beautiful greenery and paddy fields - something we will always remember!

Great holiday spot, very clean, great service.

Having looked at tripadvisor for recommendations on where to stay in Bali - we chose St Regis in Nusa Dua which was a truly stunning hotel. For the second leg of our stay in Bali we were keen to stay at a boutique (although slightly hesitant that we would be disappointed after staying at the St Regis) but I have to say on our arrival to Komaneka and with just one look of the view from the lobby, we knew we had made the right choice of hotel in Ubud.

Travelled as couple in 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It was my first time checking in boutique resort, with skeptical.

From photos, the swimming pool was small, no beach (of course no beach as it is in inland). There was only one restaurant. Not many rooms/suites and thus I was wondering whether the facility was enough, etc. etc. Compared with those big, high-end resorts, like Westin, Intercontinental, Andaman, I had been wondering ever since I booked this Komaneka at Bisma resort….BUT the purpose of this trip was to relax and take a break, in the middle of a crazy 1-year project, I wanted to try a small boutique.

It was a very wise choice to pick Komaneka at Bisma.


The resort was in a very primitive/quiet location, but just 5-10 minutes walk we could reach the very busy central Ubud area. Is it good? Good.

As it is a boutique resort with only 30+ suites, and 10+ pool villas, staff from front desk, restaurant, to pool, could remember the guests easily. (We were not just guests, but “guests”.)
The service/attitude of the staff were more human, warm, friendly, compared with a big resort they need to serve several hundreds of guests.

The room --- We had Bisma Suite (i.e., located in the main building). The balcony was very big, and it faced the rice field. 2 sunbath benches and a dining table. The bathroom area was very big too. How about the bedroom and living areas? We were quite happy of them.

The breakfast --- You could have it in the room, or in the restaurant, with the same menu. NOT buffet style, but you could choose from the menu, and they prepared for you from the kitchen. I think this is the way it should be, if you are looking for quality but not quantity. (By the way, if you were hungry you could always ask for more.)

The dinner --- The menu was not bad, unless you were very picky. Price was quite reasonable, in its class and compared with those, like, in intercontinental. (Advice: if you are wine lover, in Bali all the imported wines are very expensive. While wine prices in Komaneka were lower than other 5-star international big resorts, still expensive. Suggested to try the “local” two islands Bali wine. Reasonable quality.)

The swimming pool!!! --- From the photo I had thought how I could swim in such small pool? Incorrect thought. As it was a boutique resort, not many guests were around. Most of the time, only 2-4 max, including us, were swimming. The pool length was at half-Olympic standard. The pool surrounding was good that you hung at the pool-side and looked at the rice field you would be relax….

While pool villas give more privacy, I think Bisma Suites offer better view. When you book the Suite, please ask for top floor which gives good view of the rice field.
The Spa --- price were from $60-75 for 60-90 minutes. Not expensive and not cheap. We had two sessions of massage in total. Good.

If you want a quiet, cozy resort to take a good rest (while also want to be close to action), Komaneka at Bisma is recommended.

In brief, we were very happy of the stay. In fact, for our next vacation, we would pick boutique-type resort again and will drop big resorts.

Room Tip: The room --- We had Bisma Suite (i.e., located in the main building). The balcony was very big, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Short of time? Just read the last two sections.

The location is great, the hotel is only 5 minutes from the city centre but yet very tranquil and surrounded by a lush forest and rice fields. Perhaps we perceived the service as slightly "cosmetic" and exaggerated. In their efforts to make you feel “at home” they constantly use phrases such as "welcome home" and "home sweet home". However, in general the staff members we met were both nice and professional. So far so good. The day before checkout we handed in some items for laundry. We told the person that we were leaving in the morning and that they had to be returned before that. Too save time we actually checked out the night before and we informed the front desk that we were being picked up at 8.30. In the morning we once again reminded the front desk that we were leaving and needed our clothes promptly. That was when the mess started. They first told us that our things were on their way, then we were asked to have breakfast meanwhile they prepared our delivery. The minutes went by and when our pick up arrived we still had not got our clothes back. Other guests were waiting in the car, which made it very stressful. Finally we got our things and we were on our way. Opening our bags the same afternoon we noticed that a pair of shorts was missing. We were both a 100% certain that we had left the shorts to be washed at the Komaneka. NO DOUBTS. We both emailed and called the Komaneka. Some 24 hrs later the manager sent us an email explaining that they had made a thorough investigation and found that no shorts had been handed in. The correspondence that followed included no apologies or attempts to solve the situation, just excuses. The big smiles and warm greetings were replaced by an evasive and insincere approach aimed at avoiding responsibility at every cost. As for the second issue the response from the hotel was just as bad. During our stay at the Komaneka we got tiny itchy bites all over our bodies, most likely from bed bugs. It could have been from the hotel we stayed at prior to the Komaneka or the Komaneka. We informed the Komaneka about it, but we did not accuse them in any way. The response from the manager was embarrassing, he told us that it could never have happened at the Komaneka since bed bug bites always appear after 7 days (which is untrue, it is very individual) and he even attached a document confirming that they do pest control regularly! That is great, but the problem is that bed bugs often travel in luggage and it is very difficult to detect them. Pest control every now and then won’t help.

The hotel manager will most likely comment on this post. He will once again say that the shorts were not on the bill (which we did not have time to check because of the delay) and that he had investigated internally. That is [--]. Both my girlfriend and me know for sure that we left the shorts, recently purchased for some 120 euros, to be laundered at the Komaneka. We would never make up such a story. They [--] up and dodged because they could. And given the situation it would have been so easy for the hotel manager to offer us some kind of compensation, for example not charging for the laundry or the next night free of charge. Instead he turned in to a bureaucrat. As for the bed bugs our intention was to inform and not to blame, but the defensive response from the hotel manager was very revealing.

So, if you are going to Ubud we suggest you pick another hotel. There are plenty of them in the same price range. We met two couples staying at the Maya and the were very satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Komaneka Bisma for six nights in one of their lovely villas. Everything about our stay was top notch. The staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you comfortable. One of the staff members, Kasuma, tended to us personally. He was always available to drive us to town, greet us when we returned from a day of guided tours, act as a resource for local things to do and see, and generally tend to our overall comfort and enjoyment. All of this is on top of a truly beautiful property. The Komaneka Bisma is set by a river, tucked away in a secluded tropical forest of coconut and palm trees. The main building overlooks a small rice field (part of the property), a large infinity pool, and winding pathways that connect the spa, guest rooms, and the private villas. The private villa we stayed in was straight out of an architecture magazine. We had three rooms and a private pool. Each room was a separate bungalow with floor to ceiling glass walls, Balinese-style teak furnishings, and open views to the tropical forest ringing the property. It felt open and airy, yet private and secluded. Each morning we had breakfast in the hotel dining area. Rather than a buffet, the Komaneka offers a menu of fresh juices, coffees, teas, and everything from yogurt, fruit, eggs, pancakes to Indonesian mie goreng. You can choose items from the menu of ask them to make something special. All of it is fresh and done to order. Throw in their complementary WiFi (about 1mb/s download - good enough for keeping up with news and emails) and it is a complete and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#10 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Bisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.