We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ZEN in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sri Ratih Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sri Ratih Cottages to your Saves list
Sri Ratih Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Campuhan 1, Penestanan Kelod | Ubud, Bali - Indonesia, Ubud, Bali 80582, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Honeymoon Package
Ranked #38 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“ZEN in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was the perfect place to arrive to after a long flight from The Netherlands. The hotel is situated just a bit outside the most beautiful area of Ubud (with the bridge and ravine). The center is about a 10 minute walk (over a ridiculous Balinese pavement but oh well...) but in just 2 minutes you've reached the ravine and the wonderful restaurant of Murni's.

We had a suite on the top floor and the most amazing thing about it was the partly open-air bathroom! Really amazing! We had 2 showers: one outside where you could take a shower under the starry sky and one more inside. The size of the bathroom was also huge: I think it was as big as our whole living room at home.
Bed was also very comfy and we loved the deck in front of our room.

Pool area is also very relaxing and beautifully maintained.

Maybe one small suggestion to the hotel: I would place some more lights in the garden at night, lighting the elephant statue at the pool. Would add even more to the atmosphere.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oming, Public Relations Manager at Sri Ratih Cottages, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your extremely positive review of our hotel. We're delighted to hear from such a happy guest! We're so glad you liked your room!

Thanks also for the suggestion about lighting. You're quite right; the Ganesha statue would look quite charming lit up at night.

If you enjoyed dining at our restaurant, we invite you to share your thoughts of Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry on Trip Advisor, too.

Thanks again for your kind review!

Sri Ratih Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    143
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
95
226
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surabaya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I love this place.
Like..realllly love. Beyond my expectations.
The room is spacious. I booked suite room which-from my research to other hotels located in Ubud - considered cheap. And after I saw the room, I think the price is very cheap.
This hotel allowed you to choose breakfast which a lot from portion and it’s very tasty. Usually I don’t like hotel’s restaurant much, but here, I like it. Perhaps one will think that buffet is much more tempting. Well, actually it felt like buffet here since you allowed to choose your breakfast and the they give you choices more than enough to satisfied almost any type of taste bud.
Service is great. Every employee there, start from front desk to the restaurant, will always greet you politely and give their best to help you out. No matter what nationality you are. I feel oblige to add this in particular since here in Bali, you’ll be treated differently if you’re local (Indonesians). But not in this hotel you won’t.
In the restaurant you’ll find silver accessories you can buy. At that time they gave discount 50% for all items so I found the price is cheap.
This hotel have a very good ambience, after all, this is Ubud; it’s relaxing and beautiful.
I wish I can go back to this place for longer period of time, say, 4 days at least. And last, if anyone can find something to complain about, I believe those are a very hard customer to please or, forget that you should compare the price with what you get.

Room Tip: If you like the pool view you have to be prepared for the noise made first time in the morning. Kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oming, Public Relations Manager at Sri Ratih Cottages, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you for sharing such a positive review of our hotel. It is definitely heartening to receive such feedback. Above all, we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Of course, it doesn't matter where you're from; we aim to make every guest feel welcome, relaxed and happy in our environment. It's great that you appreciated our hospitality!

If you enjoyed dining in our restaurant, Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry, please feel free to share a separate review on Trip Advisor. Also, we invite you to keep in touch with us on our Sri Ratih Cottages and Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry FB fanpages.

We hope next time you plan on visiting Ubud, you decide to stay with us once again.

Best wishes
Sri Ratih Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Sri Ratih Cottages in Ubud. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The open bathroom is fantastic and the bathtub is fantastic. We enjoyed a meal in the restaurant and also the breakfast had lots of choice. The cottages are a little way out of Ubud town centre which makes them very quiet but it is a good twenty minute walk to the centre. Taxis are readily available for a couple of dollars.

Room Tip: Quiet and a little out of the way. We had a ground floor suite with a bathroom open to a small cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oming, Public Relations Manager at Sri Ratih Cottages, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you kindly for your lovely review of our Cottages. So glad to hear you liked our rooms and especially our funky bathrooms! To receive positive feedback from our past guests gives us a real boost and encourages us to keep going, aiming to get better and better.

We're glad you appreciated our location. The centre of Ubud is really getting busy these days so to be a little bit away from the hustle and bustle is a good thing. Your right, taxis are cheap and easy to catch.

Please do keep in touch with us. We regularly post pictorial updates on our Facebook Fanpages: Sri Ratih Cottages and Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry.

Also, if you enjoyed dining at our restaurant, please feel free to post a separate review for Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry on Trip Advisor.

Thanks very much and see you again sometime soon!

Sri Ratih Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband ordered Hash Stack for breakfast...and it was very good...however the service was slow and unorganised..example..once we sat down and gave our order...the waiter gave a fresh fruit cut..but only 1 plate...and forgot another one..then the main courses arrived..but there're no drinks at all...the coffee tea arrived half way and the juices last....should improve in staff training...and be more organised...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oming, Public Relations Manager at Sri Ratih Cottages, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi there!

Greetings from Sri Ratih Cottages. Firstly, we're glad you liked the taste of our breakfast overall. We're sorry to hear about your experience at breakfast. We recently introduced a new menu with lots more options and extras so maybe our staff hadn't quite caught up with the new procedure required. We'll be sure to refocus our staff training so they are aware of the breakfast service process. We value your feedback very much. It helps us to identify areas for improvement to better serve our valued guests.

Best wishes!

Sri Ratih Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just far enough from the main streets of Ubud to be peaceful, and a very nice setting for our holiday. We were expecting something reasonable for the money, but in all honesty I can't believe the place is only three stars... I stay in a lot of hotels and would pick it for an easy four.

The pool and restaurant are very nice, great food, and the staff wonderful. They are more than happy to help at any time of the day or night, and never put us crook - in fact they saved us from a few potential dodgy encounters.

Rooms are beautiful, well lit, with excellent balconies and views. The bathrooms are very nice, loved the bathtub and outdoor shower! We will certainly be back!

Just a note... The spa hadn't opened when we were there, but looks like a nice facility.

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs rooms with the indoor and outdoor showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oming, Public Relations Manager at Sri Ratih Cottages, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi there!

Wow! Thank you for sharing such a positive review of Sri Ratih Cottages. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. We're glad you liked our location, just a bit out of the buzzing centre of town.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. They work hard to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and enjoyable stay at Sri Ratih

If you enjoyed dining at our restaurant, Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry, please feel free to share a review about it, too on Trip Advisor.

Our rooms were all upgraded last year and Sri Ratih has definitely undergone a makeover! Our spa will be opening really soon. We're just making the finishing touches. We don't want to start without getting it just right.

We hope to see you again sometime in the near future! In the meantime, please do keep in touch with us on our Facebook fanpages for Sri Ratih Cottages and Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry.

Best wishes!
Sri Ratih Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with my two children aged 10 and 14 and we all loved it! Staff were very friendly and they were very helpful and welcoming. The room were lovely and spacious and the grounds and pool were stunning. Restaurant food was excellent and
with good service. The only downside was that it is quite far from the centre. We didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oming, Public Relations Manager at Sri Ratih Cottages, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Sri Ratih Cottages. It sounds like you and your children had a good time with us. I'm sure they spent some happy moments at the pool! We're also pleased to hear you appreciated our staff service. Our staff aim to make our guests as comfortable and as relaxed as possible.

Glad, too that you enjoyed our food. If you like, please feel free to post a review our restaurant, Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry. We'd appreciate your feedback!

Yes, our location is a bit out of the city centre...but it does have a plus side in that it's quieter and less hectic out this way.

Thanks again for sharing your experience! Please do keep in touch with us on our Sri Ratih Cottages and Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry fanpages on Facebook. We regularly post photos taken around our hotel to remind our guests of the pleasant times at Sri Ratih Cottages.

Best wishes
Sri Ratih Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights towards the end of the Ubud writers and readers festival. The hotel is just a stone's throw from the Antonio Blanco Art Museum where the festival concerts were held. Though it was a bit noisy during the day (bands practicing) and at night (concerts), we enjoyed our stay as we had expected it to be like that and because the festival organizers were very strict on having everything end by 11pm. Room was comfy and clean. The garden is stunning. Service was good too. Thanks Sri Ratih.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oming, Public Relations Manager at Sri Ratih Cottages, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello!

Greetings from Sri Ratih Cottages, Ubud. Thank you for sharing a review of our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us during the Writers and Readers Festival and didn't mind the music too much coming from the Blanco Museum. We hear the festival was a great success this year. We hope you think of us again if you plan on returning to Bali.

In the meantime, please do keep in touch with us via our Facebook Fanpages: Sri Ratih Cottages and Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry. If you enjoyed dining with us, please feel free to post a review on Sri Ratih Cafe and Jewelry on Trip Advisor, also.

Thanks and best wishes
Sri Ratih Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sri Ratih Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Ratih Cottages

Address: Jl. Campuhan 1, Penestanan Kelod | Ubud, Bali - Indonesia, Ubud, Bali 80582, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#35 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#37 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sri Ratih Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among the rice paddy fields of Penestanan, Sri Ratih cottages features a charming secluded Balinese hotel with large garden offering a heaven of peace and tranquility. Yet only few minutes drive to many restaurants, galleries and shops in Ubud town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sri Ratih Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Ratih Cottages Hotel Ubud
Sri Ratih Cottages Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sri Ratih Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.