We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Agung Khalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Agung Khalia to your Saves list
Villa Agung Khalia
Banjar Sala | Pejengkawan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We arrived late at the airport and Agung was their to greet us with his ever present smile. We checked into our villa and were amazed at the size and comfort - so big, clean and comfortable and the kids were thrilled to have a bedroom and bathroom each!
It was after midnight and we were a bit hungry as we hadn't had dinner. Sure enough Agung appeared with freshly made omelettes - a sign of the hospitality we enjoyed for the next 4 days.
When we woke the next day we were overwhelmed with the surrounding beauty of the area. Villa Agung is located in the middle of rice fields and the view over the rice fields from the top balconies is endless. At sunrise you can see the volcanoes from here and later in the day watch the activities of the farmers and ducks in the rice paddies.
The staff at Villa Agung are very special, Agung himself, his brother Dharma and Dewi the waitress/housekeeper and numerous others. They are so friendly and eager to help and are willing to drop off and pick up around the central Ubud area as required.

Our stay was perfect in every way. Despite 3 days of heavy rain we loved our stay and will definitely return to Villa Agung Khalia. Highlights included riding the villa's bikes through the surrounding rice fields and villages, meeting the local farmers and watching them harvest the rice, relaxing by the beautiful pool, on-site massages, banana pancakes and omelettes at breakfast, Putti the dog, exploring the many wonderful restaurants (and shops) of Ubud, rafting and most all... the charming and hospitable staff of this villa.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
110
60
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

This villa is situated in the middle of rice fields just outside of Ubud. It's a convenient distance, and Agung is more than happy to help with rides and tours of local sites. The houses are immaculate, and the setting is absolutely lovely. We were the only group staying in the villa compound that weekend, so we had absolute privacy. The staff are lovely people, and we had an incredible time thanks to Agung's hospitality and help with driving us around for tours, and arranging for rental scooters.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

This vaction was the most wonderfull one of all our holidays we had.
In March when we did some information for renting the villa with Darren the owner, we asked if the villa has airconditioning. He said no, it is not neccessary. And we thought after our experience in Indonesia we need airconditioning. Darren said we have ventilators at the sealing and that's enough I promise you. Ok we made the decision to believe him and made the final reservation for three weeks in the villa. When we came to the villa we were welcomed by the staff, very very friendly. Our first step into the villa was woooooooohw this is huge, clean and beautiful. And the most importand thing was, it was cool inside. We both say to eachother, Darren was right, you don't need airconditioning in the villa. And all the three weeks it was cool inside. We decided this time to stay our whole holiday in one accomodation and we were glad we did this in Villa Agung Khalia. We were with four, our children both had their own bedroom with own bathroom. All the staff members were very friendly and helpfull. After a few days our children learned a card game to some of the staffmembers. This interaction was great, the children learned on this way Indonesia and the staffmembers Dutch and English words. I think I can write a whole book about Villa Agung Khalia, but I'll think you have to make a reservation at the Villa to get the same good experience as we have about this villa. Three weeks was still to short. We come back to this villa and than for a little bit longer than three weeks.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We have stayed with my family (including three children) for 3 days in villa Agung Khalia in Ubud. When we arrived we experienced a warm welkom by the villa staff and this was extended during our entire stay. Nothing was to much for the staff. We were escorted by Mr Agung during our site-seeing trip and got free taxi service to Ubud when needed (10 min. drive). The accomodation was extremely hugh for our family, but we appreciated the space we had. Our kids loved the pool and the free Wifi access which they used if we were spending our time at the villa.
The location of the villa is excellent: in the middle of the rice fields where you can walk through or bicycle (bicycles aviable at the villa!!).
There is no airco in the villa, but this is no problem at all; the fans are a much better alternative.


We like to recommend the Villa to everybody who likes comfort, view and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

From Mr. Darren Leaver (the owner) to his Staff the service was great and made Ubud, Bali an easy place for a city boy like me to become acclimated to and feel comfortable very fast. Agung who is one of the main drivers is a great problem solver and very full of interesting facts. He picked us up from the airport in Denpasar and even though our plane was a few hours late and he was standing there with a sign waiting that whole time, he was in good spirits and very friendly on the drive back to the Villa. It's important to have a good driver like him to get you from the motor bike filled streets of Denpasar and through some of the narrow more difficult to navigate streets of Ubud. Especially if its your first time in Bali, you learn a lot just from the short drive with him. I knew I was staying at a Villa but didn't know exactly what to expect. After passing through the center of Ubud it was a short drive (10 minutes) to the Villa entrance. A short ride down a bumpy road which Agung's Kijang SUV makes easy work of and is a small price to pay for the seclusion and peacefulness of the Villa, then we were greeted by the friendly staff. They helped us and our luggage to our rooms and were very welcoming. Almost made me feel like I was coming home though I had never been there before. The setting of the Villa is beautiful among the rice fields, It really makes you feel like your in Indonesia as opposed to staying somewhere in the center of Ubud. Great rooms in the Villa that stay cool at night upstairs and downstairs with just a ceiling fan. Very luxurious feel around the inside of the Villa's bathrooms, living rooms, dining room, staircases, balconies and patios. It's great to sit out on your private balcony at dusk and watch the multitude of stars come out over the fields.
When hanging by the beautiful overflow pools and getting some outdoor massages on the raised Bali Cabana's or daydreaming platforms isn't enough entertainment. The drivers will take you into Ubud at your request. When I needed an ATM or to go to the store all requests were met. Even when I had realized I had brought my only car key with me to Bali they were happy to drive me to the Fed-Ex in Ubud not far from the Villa so I could send it home. If you are visiting for leisure it's a great place to spend the whole day. The fridges are kept stocked of water and beer. Breakfast is great and enough to keep you full well into the afternoon. The Villa has Wi-Fi throughout which is included, and television has some international and interesting local channels. If the purpose of the trip is for sightseeing then Ubud and the Villas are the perfect central location for seeing many interesting sights in Ubud itself and exploring all of Bali.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We've just spent a week at Villa Agung Khalia and I've never stayed in such luxury before. I saw the photos and reviews before going but this completely exceeded expectations. The villa is enormous and every corner is decorated in stone and wood carving. The bedrooms are big and the private pool is about the same size as a hotel pool. I was concerned that the fan cooled rooms would not be enough for Bali but we were all pleasantly surprised at the coolness of the villa, and we even had to use blankets at night. Breakfast was delicious (especially the banana pancakes) and we could get French-pressed Balinese coffee throughout the day. Our morning views were great and we were treated to daily views of volcanoes, rice fields and on three mornings we saw Java Kingfishers. The best thing was the staff service, as we felt completely looked after from arrival to departure. I recommend this villa without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warder
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We had a very good and fantastic week in Villa Aging Khalia. The house was huge, and comfortable, the service perfect and foremost the family of Agung made our stay unforgettable. Our granddaughter learned to make baskets for offering and she went with Agung’s wife to bring the offerings to the garden and shrines. Agung was always there to help us in any way he could. Agung and his family , the beautiful house in the middle of the rice fields and Ubud in the neighborhood made this a beautiful experience. We hope to come back one day.
Saskia, Onny, Daphne, Cederick and Elvy

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Agung Khalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Agung Khalia

Address: Banjar Sala | Pejengkawan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Agung Khalia consists of a new 3-bedroom and 6-bedroom villa, each with private pool and panoramic rice field views located 4km (10 minutes) northeast of central Ubud. The villas blend elements of traditional Balinese style and tropical outdoor living. An engineered vent design creates a natural cool environment day and night, with air-con as a back-up for those that prefer. Experience traditional Balinese culture from the comfort of your luxury villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Agung Khalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Agung Khalia Hotel Ubud
Villa Agung Khalia Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Agung Khalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.