We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Sungu Resort & Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sungu Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sungu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Sungu Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Raya Penestanan ( Jl Campuhan 1) Ubud | Next Antonio Blanco Museum, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 144 Hotels in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Stunning Sungu Resort & Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our family stayed in a two story villa at the beautiful Sungu Resort and Spa. What a gorgeous place! The resort is every bit as good as the photos suggest on their website - a tropical, Balinese oasis. The wonderful staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. As the resort is a bit of a walk from Ubud centre, the free shuttle service was brilliant and very convenient.

We loved every minute of our stay in the stunning resort and are already planning a return trip! I couldn't recommend it highly enough - we had a wonderful time there!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    75
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
53
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the Sungu resort for 2 nights, in a villa. The two-story unit was very tidy and spacious, with enough space for 5 people. The outdoor shower/bathtub were amazing, with plenty of privacy.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. They were very accommodating of our early morning arrival as well.
The free shuttle service was very useful, and the hotel is well situated, about 1.5km from the centre of town.
Afternoon tea is provided on request, between 4-5pm and was absolutely delicious! Breakfast was also very convenient, with a good variety of traditional Balinese/Indonesian and continental.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the interconnecting rooms at Sungu for 5 nights, and by the end of our stay, we didn't want to leave. The staff were friendly, and happy to help us when needed. They provided a shuttle service, and when we asked, were always happy to pick us up after our shopping trips in Ubud.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and the surroundings were beautiful. I would certainly recommend them to anyone wanting a safe and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My family and I stayed in a two floor Villa next to the pool which was really great. The kids stayed upstairs and parents downstairs. The Villa had a huge outdoor bathroom with both shower and bathtub. The Sunggu is really authentic Ubud.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our impression of the staff was very positive from check-in to check-out. Always on hand to drive us the short distance into the town, to offer advice on where to go and what to see, where to eat etc. On our late evening arrival, they managed to deliver a very good light meal to our room, despite the fact that the kitchen had already closed. So - full marks there.

Breakfast is by menu, not buffet, which means that whatever you order is freshly prepared. There is ample choice of western, continental or local. All are accompanied by fruit juices and fresh fruit. Any special requests are willingly provided where possible. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings (we were sampling the many places in Ubud), but we heard from others that the food was good.

The hotel itself is a series of units arranged around two swimming pools, in well tended gardens. The whole place was neat and tidy, with lots of local artwork scattered around the public areas. Rooms were kept clean and tidy, and any needs were quickly provided.

Ubud is a 5 minute drive away, and the hotel provides a free service on request. Ask at reception, or phone from Ubud and the car is usually available within minutes. There are also plenty of private taxis near the hotel and in town at very reasonable prices to get you there and back.

Top tip: get one of the local taxi drivers to take you to the Danau Batur (volcano & lake) or to Danau Beratan and the waterfalls for a good day out. You will see rice paddies, temples, stone and wood carving, and Bali life that you won't see near the beach resorts. Check your driver is licensed and that his car is in good condition, and can communicate with you (English is generally no problem). Expect to pay about 40-50 USD per whole day.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: The larger rooms come with a small private garden area, with table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed in The Sungu for 3 nights. Our room (villa B2) was very spacious and clean. There are many pools, so never crowded. All staff members are very helpful and friendly. Shuttle service is excellent, takes you everywere you want to go. We got 30 minutes complementary spa, loved it! If you are looking for a quit hotel and don't mind to take the shuttle for a 5 min drive to the center of Ubud, this is a great place to stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

If you are booking anywhere in Ubud, book this place. My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights & from the very start it was perfect.
Old style Bali with first class accommodation & service. If you want authentic Bali but like the finer things, you can't go past the Sungu.
Great for couples, families or singles wanting peace & quiet. Only 15 rooms so it's personal, small and great attention to detail.
Place is close to everything & a free shuttle (private car) whenever you like to take you to town.
My husband & I have travelled a lot & this place can't be beaten for value for money & for making our holiday so special!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#75 of 144 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery
5.2 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#66 of 144 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
#20 of 144 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Raya Penestanan ( Jl Campuhan 1) Ubud | Next Antonio Blanco Museum, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#45 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sungu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.