We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sungu Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Sungu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sungu Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Raya Penestanan ( Jl Campuhan 1) Ubud | Next Antonio Blanco Museum, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Ubud
Paris
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this stunning small hotel for 10 days. We could not have been happier. The staff is just outstanding...always a genuine smile and eager to please at all times. We stayed in a 2 story rice barn...immaculate and well planned. Open air bathroom was just delightful and spacious...plenty of hot water. Breakfast was a visual feast as well as delicious...beautifully served and plentiful. Gorgeous grounds with fountains, a koi pond, antiques. We enjoyed the complimentary massage, rice paddy walk, and afternoon tea. All in all, a 10 in my book. Thank you Sungu staff...you are the best!!!!! A 15 minute walk into Ubud was easy too.
Sue and Jim

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    68
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
46
66
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife, mother & I spent 3 nights at Sungu Resort & Spa in a 2 bedroom villa with private pool. The staff were so friendly and helpful and always went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and added to our Bali experience. There were a number of students doing work experience which showed us that the owner is also providing a learning experience for his community. The villa was comfortable and clean. Each day when we went to breakfast we would return to the villa with our beds made and the villa cleaned, which meant they did not have to bother us for the rest of the day. The afternoon tea delivered to our villa was a nice touch which made us feel very special. The resort is close to Ubud centre and can be walked in 15 minutes or use their free shuttle service, even on the morning we booked out they were happy to drive us to Ubud. When we go back to Bali we will be staying at Sungu resort & spa.

Room Tip: Private villa with pool was very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

While in Bali, if you are looking for a private piece of heaven, the Sungu Resort and Spa is it! I stayed here for 4 days and it was beyond a wonderful experience. The Sungu is a small boutique hotel build with such tender, loving care. The owner is passionate about Balinese art and antiques, which is displayed throughout the hotel. The hotel has a profound serene feel to it and everything is clean and in topnotch condition. The staff is wonderful, very professional and makes you feel so welcome. They bend over backwards to make your stay one to remember. While at first you may wish you were closer to Ubud town, you soon count your blessings from not being in the midst of Ubud's noise, busyness and traffic jams during peak hours, and the free Sungu hotel shuttle will get you to and from the centre i 5 min. You can also walk in 10 min. So it really is the best of all worlds. The breakfast was fantastic - fresh, tasty and healthy.
This time I was in Bali alone, but next time I definitely want to come back to Sungu with my whole family, as it would be an unforgettable frame for a wonderful family vacation.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room without a private pool, but it was close to the reception, which meant that my wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Sungu Resort and Spa for 5 days and were highly impressed on several levels. The rooms were clean, contemporary and very well designed, conducive to relaxing in absolute style amidst the ambience of a tropical jungle and pool, which was visible from every angle of the room. The open-aired bathroom was carefully designed with quality bathroom fixtures and was set amongst beautiful lush, green foliage. The staff were amazingly helpful, courteous and polite and could not do enough for our stay to be one of the best places that we have ever had in our years of travelling together. We had a delicious breakfast each morning where the extensive menu catered for an array of Western and Indonesian food preferences. The resort is only a scenic 10 minute walk in to Ubud with shops and restaurants lining the full route into the main centre. The shuttle service was readily at our disposal, never having to wait for more than a minute before a driver would take us anywhere we requested. This resort is a real pearl and when we visit Ubud again in the near future, we look forward to having our amazing experience repeated again at The Sungu !
Vincent and Anne

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel with our family for 3 nights. We loved it. The staff are so friendly and helpful. From the check in to the meals and the rooms, we were extremely happy with the service we got.

The breakfasts we well presented with a good choice.

The rooms have lovely indoor / outdoor bathrooms which have a charming rustic style, and the kids liked the fact that the little lizards ( lucky lizards the staff told us) ran around the walls. The soaps and shampoos are great quality too. Rooms are serviced twice a day.

The pools are cleaned regularly too.

The front desk organised a bike riding expedition for us one day, and white water rafting another.

The hotel has a pick up and drop off service to town, but the traffic was so bad at night that sometimes we would wait 30 to 40 minutes to be picked up - hopefully this is only because of the Christmas / New Year traffic.

It's a10 minute walk to town, 15 minutes with the kids, but there are several restaurants in the immediate vicinity to the hotel .Our only regret is not staying here longer.

Thank you Sungu and staff for looking after us.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was the most amazing resort! It is located about 5 minutes from Ubud, is quiet and is surrounded by tranquil rice fields. We stayed at Sungu for 4 nights with friends, and would have easily stayed there longer!

The resort has a complimentary shuttle service which takes you into the centre of Ubud and will pick you up as well (great for saving money and avoiding taxi drivers trying to constantly rip you off). The drivers are lovely and speak very good english, which is very handy! The staff at this hotel were some of the best staff I have encountered at any resort I have stayed in (even in Australia). They greeted us with smiles each morning, helped us with adapters and other room queries, as well as organising restaurant bookings and tours. We also had a late flight, and they allowed us to stay in the room up until our airport transfer at 6pm for no extra charge.

Food-wise, the complimentary breakfasts were incredible. High end dining, with a choice of 4 different menu options and effectively 2 courses, which are delicious and extremely well presented. The resort also offered us afternoon tea daily by the pool, which was again wonderful.

Again, I could not recommend this resort more highly! Will definitely come back here again - the outdoor bathroom is a unique experience!

Room Tip: The deluxe villas have access to a separate pool area, which is a little more secluded. Also, the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is away from the heat and crowds in the Denpassar, Kuta and Seminak area. It is only one hour away from the airport but well worth the trip and a cheap fare if you don't use the touts and go to the taxi booking kiosk a two minute walk outside the arrivals area. The rooms are lovely, the staff are exceptional and very much a balinese hotel with european standards. The free shuttle service, trip to the art gallery, free trip through the paddy fields behind and free afternoon tea make it great value for money. There is a 15 minute massage place 5 minutes away in the rice fields behind and plenty of very cheap places to eat nearby although the hotel food is good. It was full of honeymooners but even as 63 year olds we felt very much at home and everyone was so friendly. A great find and I would recommend it to all our friends. It is close to many of the main attractions and even a trip to Uluwatu and a romantic dinner on the beach at Jimbaran was not hard and not expensive. Taxis, and drivers who speak English are not hard to find.

Room Tip: Rooms with an outside shower and bath are great. Very private but fun .You can see the stars or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Raya Penestanan ( Jl Campuhan 1) Ubud | Next Antonio Blanco Museum, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#35 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sungu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.