We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sungu Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Sungu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sungu Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Raya Penestanan ( Jl Campuhan 1) Ubud | Next Antonio Blanco Museum, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is our 5th/6th trip to Bali and our children are now in their teens so we needed more room. Ubud is about an hour away from the airport. We booked a 3 nights stay at a 2-bedroom pool villa at Sungu (formerly Waka Namya) that comes with daily breakfast, daily afternoon tea, free on-demand shuttle service, free visit to Rudana Museum and Art Gallery, 30-mins massage for 2 adults and a one-hour padi field trekking. The 2-bedroom pool villa (Tunjung 2) had one bedroom downstairs with 2 big wardrobe space (no hangers for clothes though strangely) and a huge bathroom downstairs with 2 sinks, a large sunk-in bathtub, a roof-sheltered yet open-air shower area and a separate toilet area with a glass door. The upstairs room contained a bed, the TV, phone and a big day bed. Only gripe is that there is only one bathroom downstairs. One air-con cools the whole room down but it was sufficient though this means the upstairs room is always cooler since the air-con is situated upstairs. The rooms are old-world cosy Bali charm but with modern comforts.The pool was too small to swim in but you could always use the bigger pool outside the room. Some of the villas and the spa were under renovations when we were there though we hardly hear much noise. We opted to have breakfast and afternoon tea in the room and had to request for extra chairs as the tables/chairs were meant for 2 pax only (in a 2-bedroom villa?). The fried banana fritters served for tea were delicious, breakfasts were pretty decent too. Absolutely loved the on-demand shuttle service that brought us around Ubud for food and some walkabouts. We took the shuttle car/van to the nearby restaurants then had the restaurants call the hotel to pick us up. Wifi is only available at the lobby though so if you need to stay connected, this would be an issue. Many of the things used at the hotel still carried the Waka Namya name such as it's cups and saucers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    62
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
41
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had booked this hotel for four nights and when we wanted to extend our stay it was no problem.
The staff is friendly and the massage is nice.
We went on the trip around the rise fields that the hotel organise complementery and the guide (Didi) was wery good at inform about everything.

The only problem we had was that the farmers burn ther leaves every day around four a clock.
But that has nothing to do with the hotel and they do so al over Bali so you just have to gett used to it and plan your trips down to Ubud around that time fore example.

Overal a nice place to stay!

Room Tip: The wifi is not so good if you stay in the villas that are far from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sungu Resort & Spa with our two girls ages 8 and 12 for our from Sunday to Wednesday (3/31-4/3). We had a two bedroom pool villa. Our flight arrived at 2:20 a.m. and the resort had arranged for one of their staff and a van to meet us when we arrived at the airport. The next morning while we enjoyed a beautiful breakfast (included daily with our stay), the waiter asked what we wanted to do while here and then arranged it all immediately! We went on a biking tour through villages and rice terraces, river rafting, art museum, Balinese dance show, and shopping. The Sungu staff arranged it all and provided transportation when needed. We all enjoyed the pool immensely, the food was good and they have menu items western kids will eat! I got the best massage of my life from Mini in the spa, the girls all enjoyed getting nails done. When we had a problem with our air-conditioning on the last night, they moved us to another room immediately at 10 p.m. and gave us a free lunch the next day to apologize for the inconvenience. I highly recommend the Sungu Resort & Spa!

Room Tip: We booked a two bedroom villa, once we arrived we realized we could have had two adjoining rooms. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked the package (2 nights, massages. food, transfer - $200), which was a complete bargain. The room was spectacular and the whole place was lovely.

The only reason I haven't given this 5 stars is because although the staff were friendly they were extremely irritating. I understand that everyone is needs to get money to get by but we were persistantly approached by staff in the hotel whilst eating, drinking, or doing anything to book a trip through them. We even said to one maybe and he informed us he had booked us on to a boat later in the day. The management need to stop this as it puts a real dampener on the experience. I expect the hawkers in the street but I don't want to be seen as a dollar sign whilst i'm eating my pancakes!

The Nasi Goreng was delicious and you might get lucky and get the room with a bottle of Johnny Walker I left in the mini bar- although I am sure the bottle will have been found - the price inflated and then resold to make as much money out of us as possible.

Room Tip: Go on their website and see what packages they have available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Situated a short while away from hectic central Ubud, this resort is a relaxing option when visiting the area. Clean rooms with nice outdoor bathrooms, and a great pool. Breakfast is generous and tasty. And a free shuttle is offered to and from the centre, though it is in within easy walking distance if you are feeling energetic.

The only negative comment I have is the confusion caused by some of the staff very strongly recommending a performance that is not recommended by the reception staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the Sungu Resort & Spa for 2 nights just two days ago. I have stayed at Amandari in the past. In my opnion, the standards at Sungu are almost the same as at Amandari but at about 1/7th of the price. Great value for the money. Staff service very caring; a car and driver was always available (and complimentary) when we wanted to drive to central Ubud. The location is great--only a few minutes away from town close to The Bridge Restaurant. The hotel changed management to its current one just about one month ago and they are making some upgrade changes. However I could not find fault with anything at this resort and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: I had room 7, my friend had room 6. Rooms were adjoining in one building. These two rooms share a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Waka Namya late December just as it was being rebranded (the 'Sungud' if I remember correctly). This is a hotel I would highly recommend because of its extremely friendly and helpful staff. Although the hotel is not 5 star rated, the staff's attitude certainly make you feel like it is. Moreover, the hotel in itself is charming (set in a beautiful balinese garden with a great large pool), even if a bit old (and undergoing some refurbishing at the moment). Rooms are spacious, well decorated and with huge outdoors bathrooms. The location is good too - just a 5min drive into central Ubud. And, the hotel provides a free shuttle service to drive you anywhere in town, and pick you up from anywhere as well. All in all great value and wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Raya Penestanan ( Jl Campuhan 1) Ubud | Next Antonio Blanco Museum, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#36 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sungu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.