We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kakiang Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kakiang Bungalows to your Saves list
Kakiang Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Jl. Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Perf Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I stayed 6 nights in the pool side villa in early-mid December.

The staff were fantastic - nothing was an issue. They were also very helpful when an ATM ate my credit card.

Meals from the bakery were good and the breakfast was nice and fresh.

The spa treatments were great and at a good price for a hotel.

The room was lovely - very big with a huge king sized bed. There was a DVD player, mini fridge and a very good size bath.

The Yoga barn, Zen spa and loads of restaurants were all within a minute or two's walk, and the walk into the markets and Monkey Forest was only 20 or so minutes, with lots of shops to look at on the way.

Particularly good for solo travellers as you're very close to everything and the room is very secure.

There were a lot of mosquitos which I bought coils for and used a spray often. I also found it to be quite noisy at times with staff and visitor movement, but this really wasn't too bad.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
25
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I spent 3 out of 5 nights of my Bali trip at the Kakiang Bungalows. and really enjoyed it.

I got a deluxe room which came with nice amenities such as a coffee capsule machine, free bottled water and breakfast at the bakery. There were good breakfast options and the coffee was great.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and were willing to go the extra mile. They have several minivans that you can request when needed for drop offs in the Ubud area. I had a driver take me to the Ubud Palace for the show and then pick me up 90mins later when it ended. As a solo traveller new to Ubud this was extremely convenient as it let me explore the area without my fear of getting lost.

The location was perfect if you're looking to go to the Yoga Barn as it is literally just down the road (about a 2min walk door to door).

The wifi was great, never had any problems. The bathrooms were clean and very basic, but the shower was a bit difficult to use- it only pointed straight ahead so you have to angle yourself at a certain distance. No issues with water being too hot or too cold.

I'd say the biggest selling point of this place is the staff and the extra mile they are willing to take when you have any questions/requests. Would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Because of the name of the hotel, we were expecting villas instead of the hotel rooms which we got. But the room is actually very spacious. Our stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

We encountered three problems during our stay. First, the shower is somewhat difficult to control; it's hard to find the balance between too hot and too cold. Second, the entrance to the balcony is not entirely sealed. The sliding doors when closed still allows mosquitoes to enter the room. There were a lot of mosquitoes in Bali. To make up for this, a pluggable mosquito repellent was placed in the room. Third, the WiFi, although free and still usable, is quite slow.

Location-wise, it takes around 10-15 minute walk from the hotel to the Monkey Forest and Ubud Market. It is not that bad since I think the streets leading to the Monkey Forest and Ubud Market can be noisy and congested.

The set breakfast that comes with the room is okay. The best that the hotel offers is the free shuttle to Ubud Center. Our first night there, we were not able to change our local currency to Rupiah so the driver drove us to several money changers to have our money changed. The staff is very helpful and courteous.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Looking at their website, the standard room
Seemed lovely and the whole place beautiful. On arrival, we were taken to the standard room. It was dark and smelly (damp smell) no tv, coffee/tea making etc. We asked if we could pay for an upgrade and were moved to another room
For part of our trip. The rooms didn't even compare. The standard was far far better than what was on offer in the standard. I understand we had booked a standard room
However just a simple bed runner it cushion would have made it more inviting!
We stayed in room
Umi for three nights, the breakfast was remarkably different and so was the complimentary afternoon tea served in the bakery. If you can afford it, avoid the standard rooms.
Staff were helpful enough and insure spa was nice.
Note: it is not in the heart of ubud! The main two streets of ubud are a fair walk.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Room looks a bit old but comfortable and clean. provides shuttle to center of Ubud. Wifi works fine.
The shower (water can be too hot or too cold, difficult to control ). Overall recommended!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had such a great time staying there! especially their kakiang bakery, it is amazing! mom and I enjoyed their food every single day! reasonable price with good quality. we stayed in one of the two villas by the swimming pool. I liked the room in spite of the mosquitos.. but thats Bali, I guess. lol. 5 min walk to the dirty duck restaurant and 20min or so to the Ubud Palace, along the way, there are numerous shops on the street. Near the hotel, there are convenience stores; a very nice location. overall, we had a great stay there. I highly recommend you guys to go there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

On arrival we were shown to our standard room, this was located on the ground floor with a terrace at the rear. The room was furnished with solid wooden furniture, and the bathroom was quite dated. We were surprised that there was no TV or coffee/tea making facilities which is unusual as these are now standard in most hotels. We did not mind about the TV as the channels available in Indonesia are limited and we do not watch much TV when on holiday. The room did smell a bit damp but we had arrived in the middle of a very long tropical rain storm. We unpacked and settled in to relax on the terrace as the rain had stopped, unfortunately there appeared to be many dead and dying bees around the terrace so we closed the doors and retreated inside only to discover the bees appeared inside as well! The staff were very helpful and came to try and solve the problem with insect spray. As this was clearly having no effect we asked to be moved rooms. They very kindly moved us to another room, an upgrade on our original room and also offered us a complementary meal. We then went on to have a problem with the room safe having locked it but then being unable to unlock it! Once again the staff were very helpful and came to our aid, finally discovering the batteries required changing. We were informed that they would sort out the bee problem and we would have to return to the room for the 3 and 4th night of our stay. On day 3 we returned from a very long day trip to go to the original room. On opening the door there was an overpowering strong smell of chemical insect repellant which was really unpleasant but more worryingly a bee soon appeared in the ceiling light. Once again the staff came to see the room, caught the bee and removed it, however we were not convinced that the bees were all gone and asked to be moved. The hotel was full so whilst we waited for them to find a solution we went to use the complementary meal. After contacting the manager we were given a refund, they had telephoned 3 hotels with available rooms and drove us to all 3 for us to view the rooms, we made our choice and they then delivered our luggage.
Overall they dealt with the problem, the staff were extremely pleasant and did their best to help us.

Would we stay there again, probably not, maybe if we made sure we booked the newer large room, the hotel has a Japanese owner and the majority of visitors are from Japan. This is OK but all the signage in reception is written in Japanese which is not very helpful.

Room Tip: The larger new rooms are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kakiang Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakiang Bungalows

Address: Jl. Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kakiang Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Kakiang Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakiang Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Kakiang Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakiang Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.