We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kakiang Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kakiang Bungalows to your Saves list
Kakiang Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Jl. Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value and services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had the upstair room and it was very clean and tidy. Considering the good rate of the room we booked, it came with breakfast and afternoon tea daily at the Japanese Bakery within its premises. Staff were friendly and helpful and helped us made a couple of calls to arrange spa appointments and kecak dance performance too. The hotel also provides drop off and pick up services to/ from ubud market and kecak dance in the evening, they were quite good with punctuality. Overall it is situated at a good location along the stretch of ubud shopping area, and yet not as busy and noisy. We dine at 2 of the restuarants opposite the hotel and they had some rice paddy field view by the balcony.
The downside of the hotel is probably the poor wifi connection in the room, basically just hard to get connection and we had to go to the reception area or the bakery when we needed to get internet connection. And also when the bathroom light/ fan switch was switched on, there was a 'sewage' smell coming out from the fan, not very pleasant if you intend to have a long nice soak in the bathtub which we never did, so the smell didnt really bother us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
25
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Location - on the southern stretch of Ubud, about 20 minutes walk from the market square but only 5 minutes to monkey forest. Don't be put off by the location as Ubud's streets are full of shops right on the doorstep.

Also it is conveniently located next to a large supermarket which offers a really good selection of fresh and packaged food which is great for day trip snacks and lunches. Also a sanitary section for medicine, cleaning products the usual.

Decor/Environment - set between 50-100 metres off the road there are only two bungalows around a pool with the rest conventional hotel room style accommodation. There was plenty of flora along the walkways and a generally relaxing setting.

The pool has only a couple of loungers which would be problematic however i don't think people go to Ubud to sit by the pool. Also a number of loose drainage tiles around the pool were noticeable.

Room - room itself was clean, enough sockets but you need own adaptors. The air con worked well and there was a separate balcony and indoor seating area. The bathroom was disappointing, the cold water surprisingly was either very poor pressure or none while the hot worked well... very odd but in sweaty Bali cold is the one you want.

The bath looked tired and the shower looked cheap and there was a sewerage smell whe .showering which is never good. The room was cleaned in the day with no problems. Wi-fi was none existent in the room which was bad as it meant everything had to be planned over dinner in a restaurant or in the outside reception.

Staff - nice, polite and friendly. Helped ring some tour operators for me and arrange that one evening quite late for early the next morning. Rang me without prompt to wake me for my tour and were happy to answer question's. Only negative was that English was a bit rudimentary at times which made communication unclear.

Overall for the price cant really knock it. Good for a base camp not so good for a longer stay i suspect.

Room Tip: Check to see if Wi-fi works if your paying for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel was booked on it's own basic website which in fact links into Agoda, so payment was taken in full in advance as with most Agoda bookings.
The hotel is on Jl Raya Pengoseken and is fronted by the Kakiang Bakery. Next to the bakery is a small parking area with security guard, then the hotel reception. Check in went smoothly and we were greeted with a small welcome drink and cold towel.
The hotel occupies a narrow walled plot sandwiched between other properties, with a long 2-storey block of rooms. At the end of the plot is a small pool with 4 sunbeds (towels provided on the sunbeds), then the 2 bungalows of the hotel's name.
We stayed in a room on the upper floor. The room was spotlessly clean and a decent size with a very very firm bed, in-room safe, TV with limited channels, and small fridge. The bathroom contained a bath and shower attachment, and toilet, and was a little on the dark side. Outside the bathroom was a mirror/sink. A hair dryer was provided as was a mossie-plug in, which the staff came to plug in every evening. Two bottles of water were provided daily. There was a balcony which looked out onto a small car park of the property next door.
Breakfast is ordered the night before by completing a breakfast card and placing outside your door by 3am - you can opt to have it upstairs in the Kakiang Bakery or pay 20000Rp to have it delivered to your room. You can choose the usual offerings of nasi/mie goreng or bubur ayam (chicken porridge), a continental breakfast (toast, jam and croissant), pancakes, or eggs, with either juice or fruit. Afternoon tea/coffee and a small slice of cake is also offered upstairs in the bakery between 3pm-5pm.
The hotel don't offer a laundry service, but over the road is the Super Laundry Service which really is super. There is also a Circle K mini-market, and a very cheap internet cafe (handy for online check ins) just over the road, as well as some nice enough restaurants in the vicinity.
The hotel seemed to be very popular with Japanese tourists, we were the only Westerners there the whole stay, and a lot of the hotel prices were in Yen. For instance they offered an airport transfer for 2500 JPY (which translated into 317000Rp).
Overall, nice enough, nice room, good location but for the same money in Ubud you can find somewhere equally good with better (rice field) views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here so that we could enjoy Ubud’s shopping and restaurants for a couple of day s before our villa stay outside of Ubud.

This is a fairly basic but absolutely adequate hotel. It is situated on a small block on a rather busy street, but rooms are set well back from the road and are quiet. Our room was clean, with a good shower, LCD TV, DVD player, and a nice balcony overlooking a small rice padi (albeit belonging to the villa next door!). Breakfast was good, served in the small bakery/restaurant at the front of the hotel. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, but there was a fridge. It is easy to walk to much of Ubud from here, but hotel has a pick-up/drop-off service which we used at dinner time.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This place ticks all the boxes - large clean quiet rooms, big comfy bed, drop off/pick up service around Ubud, nice clean pool - although very small pool area (and with no shower for a rinse off). My only complaint was that breakfast was a let down, with so many places offering a full buffet breakfast theirs was disappointing, but thats being very picky.
It is a little further out of town than we realised so it was a bit of a walk to get to the markets and/or 'central' Ubud, however I dont think I would want to be closer into town in peak season as the traffic was already quite heavy in the low season.
There is a great yoga place (the Yoga Barn) about 20m down the road and lots of great eating places near by. If you are looking for a central place in walking distance to bars/restuarants etc then choose a different pace. We were there to get away for a few days and get some chill time, so I enjoyed it.

Room Tip: I would stay in one of the suites/rooms overlooking the pool next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa,On
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at the Kakiang Bungalows. It was our honeymoon and much to our surprise they set up our bed and bathtub with rose petals. Nice touch.The host explained to us in details about the room and amenities. We had a choice of breakfast (Indonesian, American,Continental)on a list that we hung on our door and it was served to us on our own terrace by the cement pond every morning (2nd floor has balcony, we were on the ground floor which we loved). They have a bakery so fresh baked goods were served if you chose a Continental breakfast. They offered free afternoon tea which was a choice of tea and coffee and fresh scones that they bring to your terrace. Room was clean. Bathroom was clean. They had a nice pool at the back. The spa was peaceful and serene. And the spa ladies were very good. We had a fridge which came in handy. Wifi was free and had good connection. Free transportation within Ubud was available as you like. Staff was top notch and knowledgeable! They also sell their own brand of natural insect repellent and lip balms. Location is on Jalan Hanoman which is parallel to Monkey Forest Rd. We normally stay on Monkey Forest Rd. but we found it has gotten really busy since our last stay 2 years ago. (I think it has to do with Eat, Pray, Love). We will definitey stay there again next time we are in Ubud. Many thanks to the staff at Kakiang for making our honeymoon something special.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 102. It was the ground floor with the cement pond that ran the length of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Totally recommendable place in Ubud. It's a good option to spend some days in Ubud in a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kakiang Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakiang Bungalows

Address: Jl. Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kakiang Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Kakiang Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakiang Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Kakiang Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakiang Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.