We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average overpriced food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Naughty Nuri's Warung and Grill

Naughty Nuri's Warung and Grill
Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 977547
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 437 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $5 - $7
Cuisines: Indonesian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Portland, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average overpriced food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stopped at Nuris after noticing the bbq out front and had high expectations for a good bbq style lunch. As soon as we sat down, I think we startled a huge rat who ran up the wall and across the ceiling posts. Not the best thing, but didn't bother us too much at first. Food was ordered from the menu on the wall which did not make any menition of the tax and service added to the bill.

All bbq was meat only included in the price so we had to order sides separately. The bbq items we selected ended up being OK but nothing special and the sides very boring. While eating we had another run by of the local rat and after a huge black spider ran up the wall over all the wall hangings behind us we were ready to get out of there. I think the place needs a good clean, way too many critters making their homes in the dining area. When we got the bill, we were really disappointed at how much we had spent on our lunch compared to many of the other and really great tasting meals we have had in Ubud. It was just over priced for what it was- average boring food in a dirty restaurant. I would not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    377
    163
    60
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

i went to nuri's in ubud because i had a great experiences with their seminyak branch, so i order the same menu (pork ribs). Very dissapointed when the taste is totally different. It crosses my mind if they are not within the same group because the taste is terrible, while the seminyak ribs was a treat. They need to maintain the quality in every branches if they want customers to come back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Somewhat overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is rated in the top 10 of every restaurant list in Ubud, really don't know what they are on about! Boiled poor ribs dipped in a salt sauce and BBQed!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food - could do so much more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We went looking for a place where we would get some nice vegetarian food along with grilled meat - has read good reviews about this place so stepped in... As expected, no one even noticed us when we entered - we actually left the place once and then came back 5 mts later - finally someone pointed us to a table - the fan wasn't working so we sat outside... The vegetarian curry with rice was good and the quantity was excellent! The Roast Chicken with BBQ sauce was divine - the grilled sausage was very good too - especially with the spicy - read Very spicy sauce! We washed the food down with a couple of draught Bintang beer - the bill too was well within what we expected. The place could do so much more - both in terms of service & ambience - both of them are in utter neglect @ moment ! They so great disrespect to the food here... If only the management improved both of those - this place could challenge some of the finest eating places in the region!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Came for the ribs. Well worth the journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went to Naughty Nuris in Ubud for lunch
This one was very rustic with many locals

I had their famous ribs and they were magnificent. The smell of them cooking on the little BBQ in the front of the small restaurant was a little like torture but when they arrived the flavour and tenderness could not be beaten.
I was on a quest to find great ribs and I found them. It was a bit of a trek from Kuta (about 2 hour ) but well worth it. Cost was $7.00

We also had chicken satay which again was a nice dish very tasty but I think you would come to Naughty Nuris for ribs. The satay cost $4.00
We also had
1 x lemon juice
2 x draught bintang
Total with taxes $21.62
This is a must visit restaurant but believe me it is rustic

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naughty Nuri's Warung and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Naughty Nuri's Warung and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naughty Nuri's Warung and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.