We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snazzy, Jazzy Wedding Reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jazz Cafe

Jazz Cafe
Jalan Sukma No. 2 Tebeyasa, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
+62 361 976594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 437 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Bistro, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Jazz Café has been established as one of the most reputable restaurants in Ubud for over 15 years. We take great pride in providing a unique and hospitable service, paying meticulous attention to detail, ensuring our guests are completely satisfied by the time they leave us. In addition to offering an intimate and tantalizing dining experience within an ambient setting, we also present our guest’s with a different live musical performance each night (currently the only restaurant in Ubud to do so). Hosting Bali’s finest resident musicians, as well as special shows from top quality International acts every month, we cater for a wide variety of musical taste’s and Genre’s, from Jazz, Soul, Funk, Blues and RnB, to Latin, Salsa, Folk and Indonesian Fusion. We also have weekly dance classes hosted by Bali's best Salsa and Latin dance teachers. Our menu offers a delightful blend of European/International cuisine and Asian fusion, combining with our famous signature and classic cocktails to assure your taste buds an evening or lunch to remember! Seating up to 150 guests, the Jazz Café is a stylish, partly open-air, partly indoor, fully air-conditioned and recently renovated setting, with a choice of traditional table dining or lesehan style ‘Bales’. The décor combines a perfect blend of modern style with elements of traditional Balinese architecture and a beautiful tropical garden. We are happy to cater for large or small groups for any occasion, and we can offer versatility and flexibility with set menus, musicians and entertainment packages, tailor made to suit the clients specific needs and requirements, as well as budget. Our parking facility is the largest in Ubud with a nearby parking area large enough for big buses as well cars. In addition, we provide a free pick up service for your dining clients in the Ubud area.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Snazzy, Jazzy Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A year ago today we held our wedding reception at the Jazz Cafe. I am watching the video as I type and let me tell you, the staff and management were beyond gracious, as is the Balinese way. We were treated like royalty and wanted for nothing. The band "The Magic Mushrooms" were a blast and allowed our teen daughter to sing on stage. We danced the night away and were made to feel that the club was exclusively ours. If this is the kind of treatment you are looking for on that special day, look no further. Our friends and family will not forget this outrageously fun and memorable occasion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    70
    22
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not just jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Jazz Cafe delivers a degree of relaxed sofistication that is a welcome change to the tourist targeted bars in any part of Bali. The staff are warm and welcoming and very attentive. The drinks are not cheap but are expertly made whether it is a coffee, margherita or beer.

The music is varied in style if not in content, and I was lucky to be in Ubud when there was an event - a very good jazz singer/trumpet player. His sister singing a jazz version of a Led Zepplin song was an unexpected bonus. The cover charge of $10 was reasonable and well worth it.

This has become a firm favourite venue with a mix of expats and visitors.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quirky - great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Went here for my birthday dinner on their Latin night. Loved it - enjoyed the salsa dancing class. Good atmosphere and nice to blend in with what appeared to be a few locals...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent chill out venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely place to chill out at the end of a hectic Ubud day. Sure it;s not as cheap as some, but look at the venue.... clean, cool, modern, genuinely friendly fun staff, great drinks and good food.... with lots of live music.

Recommend The Mushrooms featuring Imelda on Tuesday nights.... best band in Bali.

PS Ignore comments abiout the lack of air conditioning below as there is plenty and also comments about the cover charge are confusing as they only have a cover charge for a special event and it's not as if they mug you... you can just say no and go somewhere else!!! How hard can it be?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing fun atmosphere. With the friendliest, warmest team of staff. Music and atmosphere was fabulous, definitely my favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was my 3rd visit to The Jazz Cafe. Each time the bands have been different, but top class. The female lead singer had an amazing gutsy voice. It was such a fun night even the owner got up to sing a few funky numbers! Tapas style food was delicious and the friendly service delightful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jazz Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jazz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jazz Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.