We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta try Babi Guling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibu Oka

Ibu Oka
Jalan Suweta/Tegal Sari No. 2, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 976345+62 361 976345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #247 of 440 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Street Food
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gotta try Babi Guling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Well, I was told Babi Guling is everyone's favourite dishes in Bali and I have tried it at Ibu Oka, one of the famous restaurant you could try it! Let me recall the price is about 45,000. It comes with two options, one is mixed one is separating the rice. My girlfriend didn't like the veggie they gave but the pork was decent. I am very sure there are more places to try the best babi guling other than this one!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    305
    219
    101
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Old Bar, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was a great experience. Nothing great about the decor or service, this place just serves up the best "Babi Guling". The sauce is amazing. If you go along expecting anything more you will be disappointed. I loved the food and loved the experience of not being fussed over at all.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Must do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

First day in Ubud- headed here to sample some porky goodness.. It was well worth it! The sample plate for 40K has rice, suckling pork, a lovely bit of crackling, blood sausage and a great sauce. It's a bit of heaven on a plate!
Shame for some who have said there's was cold etc.. Ours was excellent. Don't come for the service or for a range of options or vegetables - come for the pork- you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bar, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a Cracka!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our driver took us to this great restaurant for "suckling pig"..well what can I say what a CRACKA!!! the pork was deeeelish with a lovely spicy sauce and the crackling was sensational it was moist tender and full of flavour a must restaurant to go to if in Bali and enjoy your Pork.
Prices are even better our meal for two came to a grand total of $10 au...lol

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing at best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We went around 1 PM to the Suweta location and seated ourselves after not being welcomed by the staff. Sat at the table for 5 minutes before a server came over and asked if we were ready to order only she had not provided us with menus. She seemed to be bothered, as if she did not want to be there. They prepare the suckling pig in 4 ways; meat, fried, crispy skin and sausage but they were out of fried and crispy skin. Sorry to bother you at work server but would have been a good thing to tell us. The food arrived and it was very disappointing. The meat was tender but its nearly impossible to prepare suckling pig that isn't. There was no flavor to the meat; no spice or roast flavor. As a place that prides itself on suckling pig this was a huge disappointment. Plenty of warungs in Ubud that are not resting on reputation. Go somewhere else.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ibu Oka also viewed

 

Been to Ibu Oka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibu Oka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.