We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff, nice garden, reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice staff, nice garden, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed here 4 nights. The hotel staff was very flexible and helpful, we even changed our room, and they helped to find another hotel for our extra nights (they had no more room available). The hotel is right on the main road but both the rooms and garden are quiet, it is only the restaurant which is noisier but it is nice to see the circulation of local traffic. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    72
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
69
35
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

The hotel is an hour drive from Denpasar airport, cost 200,000 Rupiah for the appointed Taxi or you can get the hotel driver to pick you up for the same price.

Was at Puri Garden for 4 nights, the room is reasonably clean but the toilet was a bit of a let down with dirty tub and dusty corners. The bed sheets look clean but smelled used, as if they did not wash it after the last guest. Towels were provided and changed everyday (but are quite old). The air condition works but was making so much noise during the first night that we could not sleep. The reception told us the next morning after we have requested to change room that the hotel is 'fully booked', but we have seen a group of 8 checking in during late morning. Anyway they have sent in a technician after 4pm to fixed the problem, so not more complains. The TV works and have channels only in Bahasa Indonesia.

Our room was on the ground floor facing the pool so it tends to be a bit humid, but the view was really good and the garden was well kept. Breakfast was either Indonesian (fried rice or fried noodles), continental or American, nothing to write home about. The stuff did not speak that much English but are friendly and always smiling, unless you make a complain at the reception, sometimes they do show displease.

The water kettle available in the room for coffee and tea making was obviously not emptied from the previous stay for a long time since some fungus was found inside (a small garden), me and my girl friend, both seasoned travelers in Asia were rather taken back by the bad hygiene.

The hotel is about 20-30 minutes walk to the central market, and 20 minutes walk from the entrance of the Monkey Forest. The Monkey Forest Road is about 10-15 minutes walk.

At the central market, due to the large influx of tourist, they do tend to raise the price to a much higher rate. Be there earlier in the morning, bargain the price to about 50% of what they offer, that normally works fine. Balinese are superstitious and prefer to have a good start for the day in order to gain luck for good business. Do not buy fruits there as the price can be very high. Buy bottled water from supermarkets like K-Mart, a 1.5 liter cost about 3500 Rupiah.

Ubud itself is worth the visit. Try the Padi field (rice field) tracking, Elephant Cave and the Bird Park and Reptile park. We joined the Sutra tour agent to visit some temples (Elephant Cave etc) and Tanah Lot (highly recommend the sunset watching). Part of the package includes visiting silver smith, Batik 'factory' and painter's house or painting gallery. These places have very high prices, and the tour agent bring you there just to gain commission of your purchase, and the people at these places tend to be unfriendly if you are Asian (Russians, Japanese, Americans, Australians and Europeans etc are assumed to be the most generous buyers). The tour guide can also get a bit unfriendly if the tour group is rather small (there were only me and my friend) and not buying much (I only bought a painting for 300000 Rupiah). But I guess one cannot complain since we paid 25 USD each for the whole tour, which include a nice dinner with a fantastic sea view over watching sun set at Tanah Lot.

One can take the shuttle bus service to go to other part of Bali, price varies with the destination e.g. 30000 Rupiah to airport per person. Non air con bus is not much of a problem during this time of the year since the ride is pretty short and lots of breeze to chill you off.

We were charged 3% extra for using VISA and they converted the 40USD per night per room to Indonesia Rupiah at a bad conversion rate before charging to the VISA card. Was not prepared for this so after negotiating with the person at the reception we get a better conversion rate (but still high).

Will not really recommend this place to my friends who are also seasoned travelers in SE Asia. Bangkok and Malaysia offer much better quality for same price or less with good location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

This is one of the 6 hotels we just visited in Indonesia. It is a nice simple hotel good located in Ubud.
This was the cheapest hotel we had booked for our travel and of course wasnt luxurious but was good enough.
Staff was very helpful and the restaurant was good.
Breakfast was also good, is not a buffet but for the price you get a good choice between american/continental/indonesian breakfast.

Just in front of the hotel you can get a taxi/driver to go to other places and the Monkey forest can be also reached by foot in around 10 minutes. The sidewalks are not in good condition, so you should take care and pay attention when you walk around.

Be aware, this hotel is NOT suitable for people in wheel chairs, there are uneven areas everywhere, you need to go up and down stairs to go from your room to the pool, and from the pool to the restaurant, same to the reception and in and out of the hotel. I have some knee issues and that added with the long walks and the stairs was not very comfortable for me.

We booked a Deluxe room, which is in front of the pool, and in the ground floor, upstairs they have more simple rooms with a view to the rice field in the back. The only issue we had with this hotel and that might prevent us to book it again, was that there was some sort of animal or animals walking or running at night in the ceiling, there must be a hole or something, could be a rat or other type, but they made a LOT of noise and kept us awake each night. Also the sheets were not so clean and had some bad smell. But once again, for the price we paid, I just cant complain too much about it.

Overall, I would still recommend this hotel for those travelling in a low budget and that are deep sleepers.

Pati-chueca

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Our room was very nice, slightly humid since in the rainy season. It was cleaned twice a day. The bathroom was clean. The garden was very nice, with so many plants. The personnel were so nice and smiling always trying to please, it largely compensates for the slowness, and lack of efficiency. The restaurant had very nice personnel, always caring, but the selection is narrow, more Balinese/Indonesian dishes would have been welcome.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed at the Panorama for one night and Puri Garden for two nights. We did not like the Panorama that much, but loved the Puri Garden. The staff was very warm and helpful, the gournds and rooms were very nice. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

This place is near to the Ubud main section, so Monkey Forest street and hanoman street. They have a good restaurant, a nice, small pool and good rooms. The staff is friendly and the owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Had a wonderful time at this place. Comfortable room, great breakfast, beautiful garden, super-friendly service and great price. Would come back again anytime.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant is ideally located in the heart of Ubud village and only 45 minutes from the airport. 18 rooms provided with typically of Balinese architecture and complete modern facilities and room amenities. all rooms overlook to the swimming pool and lush tropical garden view. Scenic rice field scenery and contiguous temple are closed at the back of the hotel. Each rooms facilitated with air condition, TV, Fridge - mini bar, complete room amenities, tea and coffee,free wi-fi, free parking, etc. Puri Garden Restaurant attached to the hotel that served for breakfast, lunch and dinner with variety of local cuisines, western, vegetarian, light and pasta. Other hotel facilities are Wine and Liquor shop, tour service, doctor/ clinic on call, massage (on request), Safety deposit box, Laundry, Room Service, free airport pick up and Ubud transport service, hot and cold running water, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Garden Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Puri Garden
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.