We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Helsingborg, Sweden
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I always try to rate a hotel considering the price. This time if we will take a price and what can we get for this it is bull's eye. Hotel is very good located, about 3 minutes walk to beginning of Monkey Forest Street. Service is excellent but this is probably in most places in Bali. Room we have got was charming. Pool is small and not so much place for sunbathing. But this was not a problem for us at all. We chose Ubud because it is great place for starting exploring Bali. It was perfect place to begin trips like cycling or climbing the volcano. And very good place to meet closer with great culture of Bali. I regret we chose only 4 days in Ubud and 6 in Nusa Dua area. Ubud was much more interesting and location of this hotel helped us a lot. Breakfast is basic but good.
It is big chance that if we will go to Bali again we will stay in this hotel one more time. We are simply very satisfied because we got everything what we had expected.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    72
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
69
35
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Staff so friendly. Rooms clean and well-equipped with AC, fridge, big beds. Pool close to all rooms. Breakfast quite adequate. Location within close walking distance to Monkey Forest, and a bit further walk to Ubud markets. Lots of great eating places nearby. Will definitely book here again next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

Room we got was dark & bathroom was extremely dark too.we were asked to pay for soft drinks that we did not take fr the mini bar & cafe waitresses' service was so so. Didn't expect it to be so poor overall.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed in room 22 at the Puri Garden Hotel. The room is supposed to overlook lush paddy fields. Instead there was a large expanse of mucky stagnant water.

The toilet comes only with a hand shower inside the bathtub and no standing shower. As a result, you have to stand at least 5 feet away from the shower if you want it to reach your head. That leads to the whole bathrooms getting wet! Also the basin has come off its stand and wobbles rather precariously if you happen to accidentally lean on it.

The property is so overgrown with plants and creepers that the rooms even on the first floor are dark and dingy even if we open the doors and windows. The rooms are also very poorly lit. The four poster bed looks really charming but is awfully creaky.

However, the rooms were thouroughly cleaned every day and fresh linen was provided, though the towels are already grey in colour which doesn't look good. The stairs leading to the first floor are very steep; certainly not suitable for elderly people.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The Puri Garden Hotel could have been a very charming hotel with an old world Balinese feel... However, although the decor lives up to that expectation, everything else is just plain disappointing! First the positives: It has antique finish wooden furniture in all the rooms and a lush green compound. The hotel has a very convenient location near the Monkey Forest and has a host of restaurants, a K-Mart and shops around.

The negatives: 1. Although we booked our hotel 2 months before our arrival, during check-in, we found that the rooms were not ready. We were checking at 6pm, not at peak hour, we were very tired and just wanted to rest. We were a couple travelling with my elderly parents. After a wait of 45 minutes, the hotel told us we could only have rooms either on 2 ends of the property, far apart from each other, but on the same floor, or otherwise on 2 different floors!!! Considering that we had booked so much in advance it was baffling for us that we couldn't be provided adjacent rooms.

2. The rooms did not come with some basic amenities that is expected in every decent hotel: We were given only 1 bath towel for the two of us in each room (apparently they were running short of towels!!!), no hand soap, no creamer for tea/coffee, no drinking water in the room, no hair dryer and only Indonesian channels on television.

The staff were friendly and polite and attempted to be helpful, but their grasp of basic English was unfortunately extremely limited. The food at the restaurant was delicious when we ordered ala carte. However, the breakfast buffet was very limited and mostly very cold. During the buffet, items constantly ran out and we had to wait for them to arrive. When they did arrive, it was only in small quantities and invariably cold.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Puri Garden is a small hotel located away from the main area of Ubud. We found the staff very nice, but the room was a little small to take our family (2 adults and 2 young kids) comfortably. We booked an extra bed, but decided not to have it in the room since there would have been little space left for our bags (and we didn't sleep well because we were a bit cramped). The staff were excellent though - very friendly and helpful.

We also found it a bit far from the main area of Ubud - at least we couldn't walk easily with the kids (since we never stayed in central Ubud, perhaps this area is actually more peaceful!). There were some great eating places around.

I suggest the place is best suited for couples or families with older kids who can have their own room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Been to Ubud many times. Usually don't pre-book but decided to give Agoda a go.
Was disaster from whoa to go.
On arrival reception could not find our booking despite me providing the confirmation number.Eventually used their slow wifi to access the confirmation email on my ipod.
30 minutes hot and bothered rather than the anticipated shower.
Found bathroom floor wet and assumed still drying from cleaning. Came how that night and realised was leak in hand basin pipes. Wet feet to and from toilet.
'Locked' out of room for 3 hours next morning whilst problem allegedly fixed.
Asked for milk with coffee at breakfast. "Milk is finished." Shop selling milk 20 metres from hotel but alas.
Came home that night and basin still leaking. Security guard did a quick fix!
Moved out of room next morning so 'engineer' could do major works.
Spoke to 'boss' who promised 50% refund on check-out. This did occur so should get credit for this. Also had late check-out at no charge.
Came home that night to find toilet cistern leaking, Asked to speak to boss - not available/able to be contacted we were told.Change rooms again at 11pm.
Would we stay there again? Not unless major refurbishment/staff training.
Even with no problems cost was excessive compared to similar quality hotels.in same area.
BTW wifi does not work in rooms or pool area - only reception/restaurant areas.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant is ideally located in the heart of Ubud village and only 45 minutes from the airport. 18 rooms provided with typically of Balinese architecture and complete modern facilities and room amenities. all rooms overlook to the swimming pool and lush tropical garden view. Scenic rice field scenery and contiguous temple are closed at the back of the hotel. Each rooms facilitated with air condition, TV, Fridge - mini bar, complete room amenities, tea and coffee,free wi-fi, free parking, etc. Puri Garden Restaurant attached to the hotel that served for breakfast, lunch and dinner with variety of local cuisines, western, vegetarian, light and pasta. Other hotel facilities are Wine and Liquor shop, tour service, doctor/ clinic on call, massage (on request), Safety deposit box, Laundry, Room Service, free airport pick up and Ubud transport service, hot and cold running water, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Garden Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Puri Garden
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.