We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely authentic relaxing time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klub Kokos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Klub Kokos to your Saves list
Klub Kokos
Bangkiang Sidem, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely authentic relaxing time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed in the family room 4 which was devine. Views of the pool area and of the rice fields. Spacious comfortable beds. Yes like past reviews the bed spreads were alittle past their use by date. Lovely huge verandah/balcony with ample sitting area and huge table. I noted that I probably had the best room. Also ear marked bungalow 1 for future reference as the ground level rooms were darker and damper. Staff were friendly.
This hotel is out of town. It is sometimes a hassle getting taxis to come down the dirt road, however, it is worth seeing the real bali and the village life that occurs around the hotel. Local school kids who are studying hospitality also come and do work experience at the hotel.
We felt extremely safe and well looked after. Breakfast was greatly enjoyed by the teenagers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed at Klub Kokos for 2 nights recently and had a great time.
It's not upmarket, the rooms are a bit tired, and the shower is tricky to work (but if you read and follow the instructions, works perfectly fine!), but we liked that it was small, the staff were very friendly, it is in a beautiful location, the pool and gardens were lovely, and there were plenty of things for the kids to play with. Plus, it was very reasonably priced
I agree with the previous reviewers though: the owner could/ should be more involved; the food is ok, but not great; and some of the bedding should be replaced.
The walk to Ubub is beautiful, but we did have some difficulty dragging our 4 and 6 year along.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We went to Klub Kokos for the first time almost ten years ago and have been returning ever since. This year again we were warmly welcomed by everyone there. We can highly recommend this small scale hotel to everyone who loves a comfortable stay in an unspoilt area, a lovely downhill walk away from the centre of Ubud. There are 7 bungalow type rooms - 2 with view over the rice paddies,, a lovely pool, library. Also for children toys, table tennis and games. The breakfast is great and the restaurant prepares lovely food.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

(two kids, 4 years old)
We did not really like Klub Kokos. The rooms are old, moist, and dark. The staff was not unfriendly but was really focused on selling tourist trips. There were no activities for kids and the toys were mostly broken or too dirty (except the Lego, which can not brake). The garden could be beautiful but we did not like it because of the dead animals (mostly frogs) and the garbage. The swimmingpool was OK and outside the hotel the surroundings are beautiful. Ubud is a really good place for lunch and dinner and a taxi to go back is only about $6.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

If you want a holiday relaxing by the pool then this will suit you, but we wanted to see as much as possible and found it was a bit too far from Ubud - 20 mins to walk ( a nice scenic walk, but only suitable for daytime), or 20 minutes around by car. Our driver was pretty worried he wouldn't find the place in the dark, very rough section of road near the end! Showers definitely not easy to control, gas & it keeps cutting off & on! Had to pay for drinking water but Kokos is otherwise value for money. Quite expensive to get any laundry done, but too far to cart it into the town! Only met the owner on the day we were checking out. The eco bike tour is a must to do!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Klub Kokos is great for families. It has a good pool, a table tennis table, an excellent library and a toy room that my kids (10, 12, 16) were a bit too old for. The gardens are well-maintained and typically Balinese-beautiful. The rooms are reasonably clean. The restaurant has a long menu and varied choice of western and Asian dishes. The food was good (not great) and reasonable (not great) value. My 10 year old said it was the best spaghetti bolognaise she has ever had, but I don’t go to Bali to eat spag bog.

Our bedsheets were old but clean. Our bedcover was bloodstained, but it was too warm to use it anyway. We hired the rooms that make up a two-bedroom suite when the adjoining doors are opened. This is a very good arrangement and if we had stayed longer, would definitely have put the kitchenette to better use.

Kids loved the outdoor bathrooms and the freezer filled with icecreams. I liked the personal safety deposit boxes, often missing in mid-price hotels.

The walk to town is worth doing every day you are there. Cabs take a longer route and seemed reluctant to make the trip for less than 40,000 which seems too much.

My final assessment: Klub Kokos is really pretty good, but lacks something special that many cheaper hotels in Bali have in abundance. The rooms are getting a bit tired and could do with a general spruce up. They have not made full use of their location: the hotel is perched on a magnificent ridge and views from anywhere nearby will blow you away, but not here. I suspect the owners chose the best location for their own residence. At the end of the day, your kids probably won’t care about those things and if you can get out and around beautiful Ubud during your stay, this place is a good option.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed at KK because it was reccommended as a family friendly hotel. Our group consisted of 3 families in 3 rooms for six nights. No doubt about it KK certainly is family friendly and the kids loved the pool equipment and toy room/library. There are, however, some shortcomings, the shower in one room did not work at all and the other 2 rooms had problems with the water suddenly becoming scalding hot - dangerous for young children !!! There was also bug problems and used tissues in the 'jungle shower'. The brekky was ok but the restaurant food was average at best and horribly overpriced. At check out time we discovered we had been charged $5 USD per night per room above the quoted price we obtained on an email from the owner Cathy. We questioned this and Cathy eventually made an appearance ( for the first time in our six day stay ), She apologised and said the quoted price was 'a mistake' but the higher price must be paid. She refused to budge from this position despite the fact that we could produce a copy of the email quote on i-phone.The result - $90USD in Cathy's pocket - not professional - not good business !! To summarise, ok but not great value for themoney. Could easily be so much better if the owner took an active interest in the day to day running of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klub Kokos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klub Kokos

Address: Bangkiang Sidem, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BALI WITH A DIFFERENCE - 'FAR FROM THE MADDING CROWD'We are an exclusive hideaway resort just a few minutes walk from Ubud, Bali's bustling cultural heart. Family Units available. Children are very welcome!Set in a rural landscape - a favourite with nature lovers - you will be introduced to a Bali far removed from the commercial turmoil that exists around all the usual tourist areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Klub Kokos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klub Kokos Hotel Ubud
Klub Kokos Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klub Kokos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.