We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the main road , good coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe des Artistes

Cafe des Artistes
Jl Bisma 9X | Campuan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
(0361) 972706
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 427 Restaurants in Ubud
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Away from the main road , good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Away from the main road , good coffee , good beetroot salad and friendly service , welcome drinks offered which is always nice :) - one of the nice place to eat , have a drink ... in Ubud

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    164
    73
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tippe133
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Food here is excellent and the staff were very friendly. It's quite expensive compared to other places in ubud, but if you have the money to spend its worth it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
594 reviews 594 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 239 cities Reviews in 239 cities
692 helpful votes 692 helpful votes
“Great steaks , O.K. for the rest !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

After spending more than 3 weeks in Singapore and Indonesia eating local specialties , we were eager to get a ''western '' type of meal so we went to the Cafe des Artistres to try something different . The four of us ordered steaks but with variations and we were all impressed by the quality of the meat and the different sauces !
Service was a bit slow but friendly . Unfortunatly , our table was close to the street and it was too noisy to have a sustained conversation .
Go there for the food and if you want to enjoy your company , make a reservation and get a table at the back !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place has always been on our hit list to visit,so on my fourth visit to Ubud we finally made it. Easy pick when staying on Jalan Bisma. The atmosphere is relaxing even if a little noisy, but hey it isn't in the rice fields! I do agree that while the candles do make for a nice touch, the menu could be in a bigger font for us that need to wear glasses.lol. Can't fault the food, my rendang was soft &tender & the satay tasty. Agree that the crepe was a bit ordinary but was probably a bit to full to be eating it anyway. The wine list is quite extensive by Bali standards but as with all wines here, comes with a price. Our waiter was sweet and attentative. Will come again

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Franco-Belgian Identity Crisis?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had heard about this place often so we finally opted to go for a dinner with friends recently.We did not have a reservation so were a 'walk in' at peak time for dinner but the staff made us welcoming and friendly and having sat us at an outside table for drinks initially,quickly found us an inside table. We all opted for the steaks in various guises e.g. au poivre/roquefort etc and all except mine were tender and good.Mine however was reminiscent of water buffalo rump and was duly sent back and quickly and satisfactorily replaced.The wine list is quite good and being Indonesia, unsurprisingly (unavoidably?) pricey. Desserts were however quite pedestrian and disappointing e.g crepe suzettes which you could have plastered a crack in the wall with. Overall though,we judge places as much by how they handle situations when things go wrong (as here) and on this count,it is a good restaurant with a nice classy but relaxing ambience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe des Artistes also viewed

 

Been to Cafe des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe des Artistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.