We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kebun Indah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kebun Indah
Save
You added Kebun Indah to your Saves list
Pengosekan Road, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Simple but beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I booked Mangga Madu and Mangga Bali rooms for my family of 5 (4 adults and 1 toddler) only to realize that Mangga Madu would have been adequate to accommodate all of us. That aside, it was good that we'd the entire area to ourselves. We had breakfast and tea served at the terrace overlooking either the garden or padi field. We really like the variety on the breakfast menu and enjoyed the wholesome food, drinks and fruits. While the pool is shared, we always had it to ourselves as there are only about 6 rooms in the compound. I'll always keep Kebun Indah in my mind when I return to Ubud!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    30
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
53
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I love Kebun Indah so much that this is my third and (hopefully not the last time) I've come back to the place. This time since I was by myself, I stayed at Kodok 2, which has its own semi-private garden that was often visited by a cute little tabby cat patrolling the grounds. However, the cat was very skittish and wouldn't let me near it. Kodok 2's bathroom has two showers, one that could be considered 'outdoor' but it very dark and a bit eerie. It was an all right stay but you can hear every creak and groan from your neighbors staying upstairs at the Big House. Not very good for those who are light sleepers. The wifi signal was okay in this room.

Luckily, I moved to Mangga Madu and while it was huge for one person (a huge contrast since I previously stayed there on my last visit with two other people) , it was quiet and the bathroom was well lighted.

The staff at Kebun Indah were great and friendly, especially Ibu Molly, and the driver Nyoman remembered me from my last visit. Afternoon tea, breakfast and the swimming pool were brilliant as usual.

Had a great stay here and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed in the Cempaka room for 4 nights. It was very wonderful and the best room in the place. I loved having breakfast on the terrace and just relaxing there as well.
They are building a new house next door -- so it really disrupted my peace and quiet. :( Also, the wifi wasn't working (apparently relating to the construction).
A word about the area... I didn't like it. This place is located in the south of Bali.... great if you are planning to spend a lot of time at the yoga barn. It is right on a very busy main road and incredibly quiet despite being so. I didn't like the neighborhood and probably wouldn't stay here again because of it.
It is also difficult to walk into the nicer parts of Ubud from here. The sidewalks in a lot of Ubud are either really bad or nonexistant.... so you end up taking cars to get anywhere. You would have to take a car to get to places like Sayan Terrace or the nicer parts of Ubud in the north.

Room Tip: Cempaka is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is our second time stay here, always nice, friendly and helpful employee. Awesome welcome drinks and compliment fruits basket. Very quiet out of main road but very close to all main restaurant in Ubud such as Taco Casa right at front cross the road, Bebek Bengil, etc...

Also they have free wireless internet. You just need to ask the front desk for the password.

Walking in Ubud its the only way to enjoy the real Bali and this villa its just the perfect location.

More review from me will come along with our 3 night stay here :)

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Kebun Indah is really the perfect location if you want to stay inside the village of Ubud. Architecture is simple, price is reasonable, service is kind and effective (I love the afternoon tea and cake, so delicate attention). The suroudings are so quiet for this center location. No restaurant, so you can enjoy the delicious restaurants of Ubud (Naughty Nuri's, Ryoshi, Wayan Cafe or Laka Leke, Queen Tandoor and other specialities...Oh I forgot the superb massage at Iman Spa, greta therapists, very professional and efficient.

Room Tip: For me the Mangga is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I am sitting on the verandah outside my room looking over the rice paddies and have just ordered a complementary coffee.
I am contemplating whether to give this place a bad wrap because my wife is afraid that if we praise it too much we won't be able to get back in.
The staff are really friendly and the included breakfast is both healthy and substantial.
This is my first time here at the Kebun Indah but I have twice stayed at the Alum Indah and I have to say that the Indah group seem to have a culture of good service and attention to detail.
It certainly isn't a five star resort but that is not what we were looking for.
It is close to many good restaurants (see my previous reviews) and you don't have to contend with the monkeys in the forest.
It does not have TV (good thing) or radio (good thing) and the WiFi works reasonably well to keep in touch with the world.
I will definitely come back - and soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Wonderful people, wonderful breakfast (try a combo jaffle and orange juice) and wonderful setting. Booked 2 nights stayed for 4. Will be back next year! Pool needs a bit of work but it adds charm to the place especially when you get it all to yourself which happens most days! Enjoy

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kebun Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kebun Indah

Address: Pengosekan Road, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#40 Family Hotel in Ubud
Number of rooms: 136
Also Known As:
Kebun Indah Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kebun Indah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.