We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken Rice (Nasi Ayam) in nice setting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nasi Ayam Ibu Mangku

Nasi Ayam Ibu Mangku
Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 437 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Chicken Rice (Nasi Ayam) in nice setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the artist we learnt pottery from during the morning. It was a nice round-up to an exciting morning of pottery-throwing.

The chicken rice was great. The platter was filled with an island of rice surrounded by heaps of fried cuts of chicken, spicy garnishing, vegetable and topped up with a satay-stick of minced chicken grilled to perfection. The food was spicy but not to over-bearing. Best eaten with a chilled beer or their in-house-lemonade. Their sambal-belachan (fresh red chillies pounded with a blend of fermented shrimp-paste, ginger and a variety of other subtle spices) adds additional punch to the chicken meat and rice.

The open-concept restaurant is nicely sprawled around a water feature. Pretty relaxing for a hot-humid afternoon away from the sun. A place to lunch and chill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“super enak! :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

indeed, THIS IS THE BEST MEAL I'VE EVER HAD IN BALI. PERIOD. haha. not exaggerating here. Well, I am indeed an Indonesian. So I have a particular and distinct way to judge local cuisine. Bali is famous for many delish dishes. This is one of them. The menu is pretty simple and yet the portion is generous and VERY CHEAP! I love the seating venue (w/o chairs, mind you, we call it "lesehan"). I'll definitely come back to have lunch here! :D

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surabaya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and spicy nasi ayam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

You might want to try nasi ayam ibu Mangku if you go to bali. I was trying this on their branch in Seminyak. The location is near seminyak square. Taste is very good, especially the chilli. But they don't have fancy place to hangout, just visit to have some lunch and then we could go chillin' out to other place around. Worth to try ;)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too spicy for my taste.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I live in Indonesia and I am accustomed with spicy food, but this is just way too spicy. I believe that it tasted good, because it did on the first bites, but then the spiciness took over the whole flavour and all I can taste/feel is how spicy it was! For IDR 15,000 this is a ridiculously cheap dish though!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simple Chicken Balinese Ritjstafel But Delicious One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It is simple places but they serve a delicious Nasi Campur Ayam. Cheap price but good taste. Once you try.. You will come and come again..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nasi Ayam Ibu Mangku also viewed

 

Been to Nasi Ayam Ibu Mangku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nasi Ayam Ibu Mangku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.