We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt wrong to leave.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bambu Indah to your Saves list
Bambu Indah
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It felt wrong to leave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A serene home away from home, I prolonged my stay as I could not get motivated to leave. . Everything from the warmth of staff, incredible scenery, food quality, flexibility to cater to guest's desire is all here. Cannot wait to return

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    52
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
170
43
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Best part of our week-long trip to Bali! We stayed here in December 2013; my girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights, and both regret not making this the entire base of our 7-day trip. Hands down one of the best choice you can make, especially if you're staying in Ubud.

-The rooms (villas) are the best part...antique and exotic, with a feel like you're either Balinese royalty or simply at home, living in the middle of the jungle (highly recommend the Elora and Orin house!!). Also very clean and extremely comfortable (for those worried that it's too exotic or un-resort like). I'll note that this isn't a five-star hotel like St Regis, but the authentic/chic feel and presentation of both the room and resort MORE than compensate for marble-tiled rooms and upscale living (why would you go to Bali for that anyways?). To note, we finished our Bali trip at the 5-star Ayana resort in Nusa Dua, but found the Bambu Indah to still blow that place away!

-Stunning views of rice paddies and hills beyond from the resort itself, and a short hike away from the Ayung River. Ubud center is a 10-15-minute drive away (about $7 USD cab ride).

-Great staff. Very friendly and knowledgeable; both the manager Sutka and his warm staff ensured our every need was taken care of promptly and effectively. They even helped me after I'd gotten Bali Belly early in the trip--gave me some (free) medicine and remedies that quickly helped to dissolve the issue.

-Tasteful, healthy food. Breakfast always came with an excellent selection of fresh fruit and juice, along with a well prepared dish that was cooked to order off the menu. Lunch and dinner had an array of alacarte options, all of which were reasonably priced and served in a beautiful open-air restaurant.

Recommend doing some research on your room/house before reserving, as different houses offer different experiences (some are larger and more fancy, others smaller and more homey). The Elora/Orin House was awesome, and I've heard amazing things about Afrika House as well. Some--like ours--have outdoor (secluded) showers where you can shower under the stars!

Loved every bit of the Bambu Indah..if/when we return to Bali, we will DEFINITELY be staying here again!

If you have more questions on this or other parts of Bali, feel free to contact me at okinarlix@gmail.com

Room Tip: Elora and Orin House! Though it's suitable for up to four or more (two separate bedrooms, inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This time I came back with my 5 years old daughter and my husband joined us later.
We had a great time, met really great people. Learned to prepare offerings with Ibu in the morning after breakfast. I saw this place through my child eyes this time and I think it made it even more magical, she loved the pool, garden, animals.
The rain we had didn't made it worst at all it was a different atmosphere.
The staff is always soo nice but not like nice nice just they are really intelligent dedicated people.
We will be back for a 4th time, hope to bring friends this one!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Bambu Indah is a nice, relaxing and peaceful place to stay while in Ubud. You stay in a wooden hut, hear symphony of night before you sleep, face beautiful paddy fields in front of your hut, served delicious organic meals (not a big fan of organic and vegetables but I loved my porridge breakfast served here)

Everything about the resort is all about nature.....even the food comes from the garden around the resort.

The staff is also excellent and very friendly. When we were there, they patiently explained everything about the overview of the resort and were very helpful.

If you come with other members of the family, though, you may need to prepare them what the resort is all about. It was a bit of a shock some of us when they couldn't the TV inside the hut, saw the wooden floor and coped with the insects at night. But nonetheless it was still a memorable stay.....you should try it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

There's no place like home. The Bambu Indah staff and John Hardy makes you feel like you're part of the family here. Their tag line is "move in with us", and it's hard not to want to stay forever. We stayed in the newly built Sumba House that Elora Hardy designed. Modeled after the traditional homes on Sumba Island in Indonesia, it looks like a tall Dr. Seuss sombrero hat. The interior is made with bamboo, even the floors. The curves will be great for your arches. Don't think about wearing heels in there! ;-) The two floor bunglalow was spacious and one of the most unique places I've stayed. We spent a memorable and celebratory Thanksgiving/John's birthday with his family and friends in the blown up orange bubble in his courtyard, with flower petals strewn everywhere. Many thanks for the incredible stay! We will be back!

Room Tip: Tower Room and Sumba are really unique! I love them both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We live in Bali, and Bambu Indah is one of our favorite 'escapes' on the island. The setting is impeccable, the architecture is stunning, the guest houses (antique bridal homes of Javanese noblemen) are beautiful, the food is simple and delicious, and the swimming pool is an adventure in itself.

We frequent Bambu for breakfast (if they have the duck sausage, try it!), and I recently stayed for a night with my two young children (ages 3 & 5) as a surprise treat while their mother was away in Singapore. We stayed in Padi House, overlooking the pool (which was a good thing, because once they discovered the rope swing they couldn't be coaxed away). When they weren't swimming, they explored the vast grounds -- catching small creatures, nibbling from the organic gardens (who can resist a ripe tomato?), and descending a steep staircase to the river below.

There is a rustic sophistication to Bambu, reminiscent of the Serengeti safari we took for our honeymoon. Classic, understated decor is the standard, and thoughtful details abound. Service is prompt and cheery, but not obsequious. There is a magic and mystique to the entire experience that won't be lost on adults, but was frankly epic for our young children.

A few notes for fellow travelers to set expectations:

1. BI is on the edge of Ubud, difficult to find, and removed from the bustle and tourist sites. If you're looking for an 'urban' Ubus experience, this isn't the place.

2. The food is fresh and delicious (much of it prepared from the extensive organic gardens on site) but the menu is limited and ever-changing. There are typically 3-4 entrees to choose from, per meal, always with a vegetarian and meat option.

3. BI is rustic, in the best sense of the word. The restaurant is open air, the freshwater pool is fed by a creek, and the houses are, well, antique bridal homes (though meticulously upgraded). If you are looking for a more predictable (sterile?) experience, the Four Seasons is just down the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have just spent the most amazing two weeks in Ubud, Bali, staying at Bambu Indah.

I initially booked 5 nights to see if I would enjoy the experience of Bambu Indah. Then on day two I decided to book another 8 nights, allowing me to stay in 4 of Bambu Indah's unique houses. Kuda, Manis, Kuning and the Kuno Houses all different and all naturally memorable.

This is a place I would recommend anyone to stay, partake in the experience and really enjoy what Bambu Indah has to offer. I promise you will think differently about how you look at your natural surroundings after a stay here. Every single person at Bambu Indah made my experience the most wonderful trip ever. I am home now, clicking through my photos, thinking to myself, how quickly can I move back in!

John, Elora, Orin and all of the staff at Bambu Indah, thank you, thank you, thank you!
Check out the website and make a booking. This will be a trip, location and place you will never want to forget and one I am sure you will return. Email me with any questions you may have about this place.
Jason Manik

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambu Indah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.