We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Village, Real Serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bambu Indah

Save Saved
You added Bambu Indah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bambu Indah
Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rustic Village, Real Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Bambu Indah offers something different from other resorts in Bali. First off, it is a small property with only 11 homes, and therefore it offers an intimate setting. The homes are also more than 100 years old with lots of culture and heritage (they each have a story to tell!) Not to forget the bamboo structures (beautiful!!) as well as the natural swimming pool (where you can swim with fishes!) The staff were friendly, and do make an effort to remember your name. Requests are often met with a smile :)

On the whole, if you are looking for peace and serenity in a beautiful setting, Bambu Indah is a must!

P.S. The house with the outdoor shower was just heaven. I have never taken so many baths in my life before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear raymondraphael,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write us a positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed a peaceful vacation with us.

Come back soon for more outdoor showers and swims with fishes!

Warm wishes,

The Bambu Indah Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    45
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
51
148
35
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

First off, Bambu Indah is not for everyone. My first night, it was foreign to be in a more "rustic" environment and it took some getting used to but the beauty of Bambu Indah is that your experience gets better and better every minute and hour you are there. For me personally, it reminded me of things that must have first drawn travelers to Ubud. The beautiful view of Bandung's rice paddies, the original Balinese homes, the earthy and natural foods and ingredients, the sounds of frogs and birds... I slept as well as I do when I am out in the mountains away from everything modern. Some have complained about the distance to center of town but once you are in the center of town, I guarantee you that the noise and pollution will have you running back to Bambu Indah.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear solotravels,

Thank you for your honest review and for giving us a chance to host you.

Bambu Indah is a nature lover's haven and we are glad that you found solace in our organic, natural environment.

We are located just outside of Ubud, a short 15-minute drive away. Some of our guests love the fact that they can escape from the hustle and bustle of Ubud and return to the tranquility of our home at the end of the day.

We have, however, taken our guests' feedback into consideration and recently introduced a daily shuttle service for our guests.

We look forward to having you back here with us in the near future.

Thanks again for your review.

Warm wishes,

The Bambu Indah Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived at midnight and awoke to the most beautiful scenery and 100 year old cottages. I cannot articulate how serene and gorgeous this property is. We never wanted to leave and were happy when it rained because we lounged on our patio or the common hut area. The pool is amazing with little fish and a rope swing. Great friendships were made there. The hike was breathe taking: We crossed a rope bridge, saw rice paddies, climbed rocks, saw how people live, and more. The spa was adorable and I suggest the two person massage. It's the best I have ever had. The food was incredible and if they have the pumpkin salad get it. I ate it for lunch and dinner. We also took the first cooking class where we learned about the garden, greenhouse (made of bamboo and car windshields) and how Eco friendly everything is. I will be back!! Also thank you to Yvette for all of your recommendations and explanation of the property and owner. Xo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Bambu Indah is a stunning boutique hotel with a thriving sustainable organic vegetable garden, peaceful views and setting, a natural pool with a gnarly rope swing... The hotel features lovely rustic huts relocated from Java, with a homely feel and incredibly comfortable bed.

I am interested in vernacular and bamboo architecture and Bambu Indah is a showcase of exactly this. the gardens were abundant with vegetables and flowers, we even got to see the nursery made with car windshields and an incredible tall hut built in the Sumba style.

The restaurant was excellent, very healthy cuisine which featured local dishes as well as more western style food and asian fusion, and all supplied from the garden that you overlook while you eat.

I was sick on the second day of my stay and the staff did everything they could to help me feel better, sourcing medicines and making special effort to look after me, I was lucky to be surrounded by such a beautiful hut and grounds so that even that day was enjoyable.

It is definitely an unforgettable experience, especially if you have an appreciation for a more fine grain hotel, with character, charm and an authentic traditional feel. This experience will give you an insight into traditional Indonesian architecture that is not really accessible in other ways, and will give you a memorable and unique experience of something that is not easy to find these days - a hotel that has soul.

Room Tip: we stayed in kunning house it was lovely, but they all looked lovely! apparently padi house has a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had the best vacation of 7 years in Indonesia at Bambu Indah. Such great atmosphere- such friendly staff- very original and exquisite in so many ways~ If you are anyhwhere near stop in to have your reality tottaly renewed!

Room Tip: swing into the big pond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear 874ChristianC,

We're glad you enjoyed our natural swimming pond and our rope swing!

Thanks for staying with us and please come back for a swim soon.

Sincerely,

The Bambu Indah Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bambu Indah for 3 nights, we were traveling Bali celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and our stay here was definitely the highlight of our trip. Words can't not describe Bambu Indah, this is such an incredible place, a hidden treasure.
Everything is designed with perfection, from the beautiful open air Bamboo structure that houses the reception area, Spa & the restaurant, to the unique collection of javanese style cottages disperse in the amazing grounds with the most stunning views over the greenest rice fields, is an overload to the senses! The sunset over the rice fields that you can enjoy every day is not to be missed. The hotel is the right combination of rustic & laid back elegance.

We stayed at the Jawa Lama house, it had a "Old Java" charm, every detail in the house was thought out and beautiful. We loved the wonderful outside bathroom & shower and the flower's petal masterpiece that they made for our celebration. We slept surrounded by nature and the sounds of the tropical forest. Our house had a great wrap around porch with comfy lounging chairs/beds and great views, that made just simply relaxing there the best of plans!

The staff is very attentive and friendly, they truly made us feel at home. The restaurant is fantastic, menu for lunch an dinner is short but changes daily and had always wonderful choices of local delicious organic dishes, most vegetables collected from their own garden.

Bambu Indah is a destination and a place not to be missed!
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear sebipla,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary with us.

Your many positive comments are really appreciated and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are so happy to hear that you had a relaxing time at Jawa Lama, surrounded with natural beauty.

Thanks again for the review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm wishes,

The Bambu Indah Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

What an amazing authentic place. We love the beautiful old Java houses. More than enough space, a wonderful veranda looking out over the valley.

The swimming pool was a real treat for us and our kids. The monkey swing a fantastic feature. Food was ok but not great. I would recommend to have dinner in Ubud which is a 10 minute taxi away (the hotel will arrange this for you).

The grounds are fantastic too. Can not imagine a better place to stay.

We went rafting with the kids (age 9 + 11) from the highest mountain in Bali. Was fantastic and not scary (my wife worried about this initially). Please not that if the hotel arranges this for you it is twice as expensive compared to what we paid in town (approx 500k).

Room Tip: We stayed in Jimbalawa house which was nice because it lies a bit away from the other houses. They p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#21 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambu Indah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.