We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of beauty and tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bambu Indah to your Saves list
Bambu Indah
Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 134 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of beauty and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

An oasis of peace and tranquility! No words or photos can do this place justice and we could not have hoped for a more special adventure. I was impressed how discerning my 8 year old was when he voted Bambu Indah his favorite hotel of our trip (despite stays at 2 other hotels including a luxurious 5* resort in Nusa Dua).

He put the flashlight supplied in the room to good use, tracking frogs, ants, geckos and the shrimps in the shrimp pond beneath his sisters’ room. He played tunes plucking the strings on one of the bamboo structures and met the man behind this “musical architecture”. He jumped from the rope Tarzan style into the “pond” and was just in perfect communion with nature as we all were.

No landscaping here, just permaculture of string beans, aubergines, cherry tomatoes, chilies etc. that will end up on your plate at the restaurant, and flower shrubs whose flowers you will find at the bottom of your bed at the end of the day or by the breakfast table in the morning. Great attention to detail and the esthetic!

We enjoyed the fab food, the early morning river walk, the panoramic views of the rice fields, and the beautiful bamboo and teak structures that make up Bambu Indah. We loved the amazing 4-hand massages in our room (reason alone to move to Bali!), the wonderful Hindu blessing organized for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and the warmth and professionalism of every member of the staff!

A truly unique and memorable experience, topped off by a magical week for our kids at the Green School (also the brain child of visionary John Hardy) summer camp.

Room Tip: Afrika House is large and spacious with a great bathroom and breathtaking views of the rice fields.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear 617Bee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in such great details!

We loved having you and your family here with us and are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time. We look forward to the day you move to Bali and visit us again!

Thank you once again.

Warm wishes,

Meliana Salim
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    52
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
169
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Bambu Indah was so lovely and memorable, even years later I am still thinking about how much I'd love to return. We arrived late in the evening and were escorted to our house by torchlight. In the morning we awoke to the most beautiful surprise view. The food was fresh, coffee strong, surroundings peaceful, and incredibly pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear salisbua,

Greetings from sunny Sayan Ridge!

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that your experience at Bambu Indah was such a memorable one. You are always welcome to visit our family in Bali again.

Terima kasih!

Warm wishes from The Bambu Indah Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Bambuh Indah is a collection of unique wooden "wedding houses" by the very creative John Hardy. Each one is unique and loaded with character. No door locks but a safe in your room. Rustic with no pretensions, a true Balinese experience. Try the rope swing at the swimming hole, and definitely go on the paddy walk in the early AM. Only negative is the spa treatment rooms are made of woven bamboo and do not block sound. Best to have massages at night or in your house, the masseuse is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a house with a view of the river valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear J Lee R,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

It was our pleasure to host you here at Bambu Indah. We are happy to hear about your positive experiences with us and grateful for your feedback on our spa facilities. We have taken it into account and are working towards improving the treatment rooms to better care for our guests' needs.

We hope to welcome you back into our family again in the near future.

Warm wishes from The Bambu Indah Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

this was a new experience for me, and i just love it.
hotel is Clean, rooms are tidy, and staff are pleasant and helpful.

you got to be a nature lover to enjoy it.

i was on my honey moon, and you did add something to remember to such an occasion.

thank you Bambu Indah

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear lst81,

Congratulations on your wedding once again!

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing Bambu Indah to celebrate your honeymoon in. We are honored to be given the opportunity to host you on this special occasion.

We wish you both all the love and happiness in the world! Hope to welcome you back on your first anniversary!

Thank you.

Sincerely,

The Bambu Indah Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Bambu Indah was pure bliss -- a perfect place to stay to experience Bali. We loved the food, the setting, the service, the creativity, the staff and the entire experience. I would highly recommend Bambu Indah as the perfect place to experience Bali from and look forward to many more returns myself!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBambuIndah, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear sundaman,

Thank you for your lovely review and for sharing your experience with us.

We have enjoyed hosting you and your beautiful family here at Bambu Indah. Thanks for your continuous support!

We wish you a pleasant trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. We miss you already!

Warm wishes,

The Bambu Indah Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Bambu Indah for two nights during our honeymoon, and enjoyed every minute of it. From the beautiful rooms, in which attention has clearly been given to every little detail, to the stunning pool, the wonderful views and the delicious breakfast, everything was simply perfect. To add to the decor, the hotel staff is the most efficient and kind we have ever seen! We recommend this place with no hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stepping onto the stone pathway, discovering my stay at Bambu Indah was the best of nature & nurture, in a harmonious organic 'eco' environment. Every aspect of simple handcrafted luxury... accommodating so comfortably all the Western needs and yet still so close to breathe in the surrounding nature... a truly refreshing experience.

Greeted by friendly, available & helpful staff... Organic produce grown in the garden, supplying a delicious organic menu (a favourite- grilled fish & aromatic herbs/spices in banana leaf)... Comfortable beds & organic skin/bath products... Quiet, relaxed atmosphere here, yet close enough to town (taxi/moped) for the buzz of shopping/eating/sightseeing... Easily relax the day away by the pool, gazing over the magnificent expanse of mountains and rice paddies... cozy enough to feel at home- meeting other guests on the path & spacious enough to feel like you have it all to yourself!!

Great Stay thank you Bambu Indah

Room Tip: stayed in Alura... like a homestead! stunning, spacious downstairs, and has an upstairs but separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambu Indah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.