We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we stayed a week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Semana to your Saves list
Villa Semana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wished we stayed a week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in villa Cempaka for 3 nights.

Having stayed in Semiyak all the time we've been in Bali, Semana was like a breath of fresh air. The surrounds were beautiful, the staff were lovely, the spa and massage were great and the food was good too.

You can't really fault anything. It was not cheap for Bali standard but it was well worth it. I would go back for a week next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    72
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
438
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

What a beautiful beautiful place in paradise. I cannot rate this place highly enough. The staff and service was impeccable and I felt blessed to spend a few days here. It is close enough to ubud but you feel like your in the middle of no where. The spa is absolutely amazing. Thank you for a very memorable stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

From the moment we arrived to the property, we were awed by the attention to detail. The adjacent rice paddies make for serene vistas, as does the river gorge in the back of the property. The landscaping is so lush and colorful, we never tired of it during our week-long stay. Our villa was constructed with the highest quality materials and appointed with similarly elegant furnishings. The pillows did seem to trigger my asthma (though I am extremely sensitive to mold, and this is the tropics afterall). The privacy of the villa and pool and patio cannot be missed! We felt like we were in our very own paradise! The staff are extremely gracious and service-minded. They were attentive without being intrusive. We thoroughly loved our cooking class outdoors on the grounds! And the food we made was the tastiest we had eaten during our 2 weeks in Bali and Gili. The Swiss host/owner Jurg is amicable and welcoming, with an endless font of stories to share. The location away from Ubud town was actually a boon, given the chaotic pace in the town center these days. The free shuttle was punctual and very convenient.

Room Tip: Alamanda Villa has complete privacy even in the pool and patio, overlooking the river gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The owner wanted to hear our suggestions for improving the hotel, but we could not think of any. The setting of the hotel, on the side of a deep valley surrounded by rice fields is lovely, and both the hotel grounds and the individual rooms are designed in the best taste. The food and service were excellent, with the ideal combination of Balinese charm and hospitality and Swiss discipline and attention to detail from the owner. He also provided excellent advice about trips, for which the hotel supplied very good drivers (who also provided the efficient free shuttle to Ubud town centre). The massage, in pleasant surroundings by the river, should not be missed. Finally, the whole stay was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at Villa Semana for four nights and we choose the villa with private pool for the duration of our stay. A lot of research went into selecting the perfect place to stay in Ubud, quite a feat considering the stiff competition. We were met upon our arrival not only by the owner but by one of the most spectacular rice terraces I have ever seen. I would be lying if I said we didn't feel a little smug about the great choice we had made.

Staff were incredibly helpful and any restaurant suggestions or bookings were taken care of with the greatest of ease. The rooms were ornate and beautifully decorated with cleaning taking place twice daily!! Breakfast was definitely a highlight and an extensive a al carte menu was offered, that and a bottle of the finest truffle oil to drizzle over your scrambled eggs if you were feeling decadent.

Two of our party availed of the spa treatment and we struggled to contain our jealousy after hearing about their experience at the picturesque riverside location. The sentence 'best massage experience ever' was uttered not once but on numerous occasions and believe me when i say they are speaking from experience!

I would have no hesitation in recommending Villa Semana to anyone who plans to stay in or near Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

High standard luxurious villas in a wonderful tropical jungle setting with views over rice fields. The grounds are beautifully kept and the service is kind and attentive service. Restaurant and room service are reasonably priced and the regular shuttle to Ubud is convenient and well run.

Jurg, the resident owner, is a mine of excellent local recommendations from ‘where to eat’ to ‘what to do.’ The Mountain bike tour of the local area, which Jurg guides, was a highlight of our stay in Ubud.

I have no hesitation in recommending Villa Semana.

Room Tip: Call in advance for advice on which Villa would best meet your requirements, particularly if absolut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place, we stayed here in a private pool Villa, it was an great choice, with so many hotels in Ubud it was hard to choose one but I am very happy we choose Villa Semana as part of our honeymoon! Definitely recommended :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Semana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.