We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to come again and again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Semana to your Saves list
Villa Semana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place to come again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came to Villa Semana again to spend some time in the unspoiled beauty of the natural location. The hotel serves you in a soft and unmannered luxury. The experienced hand of the hotelmanagement gives you certainty and reliance: you have arrived in a recluse where relaxing and well treatment is offered at its best. Be it the cool and perfumed flannel you are given as a welcome and before entering the facility, the friendly escort to your villa or the excellency of the dishes in an absolutely romantic setting. It is the place to give your body and mind a treat and to come again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    72
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
437
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

On a recent holiday to Bali, Indonesia, I visited the John Hardy Workshop. John Hardy is a well known jeweller whose jewellery is sold in high end stores. After visiting his workshop (by appointment only), we stopped at nearby Villa Semana for lunch and a tour of the hotel and grounds.

It was amazing! The design of the buildings, the gardens, the location and the service were all superb. I felt like I was in a movie.

We had lunch in the open air dining pavilion. The food was very good and the menu had a selection of different types of food (local, Western, Asian), so there was something for everyone. A glass of perfectly chilled white wine started the meal and a perfect expresso finished it. We then visited the guest villas. Each "room" is a private villa with a garden area and a plunge pool. The villas were thoughtfully appointed. Again, it looked like something out of a movie. Some of the villas over look the winding river. One villa was a two storey building with the main bedroom upstairs and a wonderful view. Then we went through the garden and down to the river and the spa. The spa was another outdoor pavilion with a separate massage area, an area for manicures and pedicures, plus a wonderful outdoor soaker tub by the river. Words don't do just to how beautiful the hotel, its facilities and location were. The staff were attentive, but not obtrusive and the hotel is run by a very efficient and courteous Swiss man, Jurg.

I loved my all to short visit and am planning on returning and including a stay at Villa Semana.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My daughter, husband and I have just come back after our second stay at Villa Semana. And nothing seems to have changed. The place is beautiful, the staff great and the surroundings just so peaceful. We stayed at the same villa, Khamboja, that we stayed in the last time and we just fell in love with it all over again. Old faces such as Poni, Swastika, Dewa, Adi and several others were there to make our stay comfortable. Also, Ngurah who drove us around a couple of times is a great addition to the staff. Of course the manager Ayu was her efficient self. My family and I always enjoyed the lovely and insightful conversations full of interesting tales by the owner Jorg Suter. He is also the best person to guide you whether you want to eat and drink, visit places or do some physical activity. Thanks to all of you for making our second stay just as memorable as the first. And yes, we will try and return at the first possible opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Villa Semana is a very nice hotel located approximately 20 minutes away from Ubud. The rooms are reasonably well decorated with a colonial feeling to it, they are also spacious and clean. The staff is attentive and responsive to our requests. The rice fields and the forest that neighbour the villas are breathtaking. We liked our stay very much but we left with a feeling that it could have even been better. On the negative side, we were not overly impressed by the manager of the structure. In fact, we did not appreciate that he hang around the guest when he was sick. If he was a bit more cautious, we would have given 5 stars .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this peaceful, wonderful place a few times. Views, food, spa treatments and services can not be better and are consistent since many years! This in Ubud, which has changed a lot over the past years and where romantic tranquility has become scarce. For the ultimate feeling book villa cempaka, a two story suite with unbeatable views and atmosphere. Almost to nice to be true!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Villa Semana exceeded all our expectations! The surroundings are beautiful- away from the chaos and noise of Ubud, overlooking a rice terrace, rainforest and gorgeous river. It is easy to get to the center of Ubud whenever you want to because they provide a very handy complimentary shuttle service. Getting into the rice paddies and hills of Ubud, away from the main city center was heaven for us. Joerge, the owner is a wealth of great advice and information and can guide you superbly in what to do and where to go. The manager is amazing- catering to your every wish in such a pleasant and lovely way. The staff provide excellent and very courteous service. We were able to hire a private yoga teacher for a very reasonable price and we did yoga on the deck by the river every morning. you can afford it, go for the Signature Suite- it is amazing with its own large plunge pool for swimming and private grounds and large terrace. It is heaven!! We came for a week and ended up staying two weeks! Amazingly peaceful and a lovely respite!

Room Tip: Go for the Signature Suite if you can- it is like having a private villa to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently spent two nights at Villa Semana at the start of our Bali adventure. We wanted relaxation and we got it. The Villa is situated about 15 mins out of Ubud on the Ayung river, nestled in amongst the rice paddies. The rooms were beautiful, clean and spacious. The staff were amazing, and always willing to assist at any opportunity. The owner was great value also and as a fellow 'foodie' provided some great restaurants to visit throughout Bali. By far the best though was the spa...picture getting a one hour massage while listening to the river flow and the neighbouring villages undertake their day to day tasks....bliss!! Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Semana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.