We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Semana to your Saves list
Villa Semana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 123 Hotels in Ubud
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife, younger son and I spent 3 days at Villa Semana in Ubud in April. We chose the Pool Duplex Villa which had two bedroom over 2 floors and a shared lounge area. The villa was clean, comfortable and the amenities were excellent . Although it was a very short break, we had a wonderful time. The villa is sufficiently secluded and anyone wanting peace and quiet can easily find it here. But what stood out was the warmth and friendly service. Everyone had a smile on their face and was also willing to help. We went for a morning walk and got more than we bargained for with a friendly guide from the villa taking us through the padi fields and the villages showing us unique insights into the life in Ubud. My son and I also signed up for the cooking class and we had so much fun under the guidance of a skilled and patient chef, who was prepared to change the menu to suit our requests. Also, the lovely setting of the spa by the river was another wonderful attraction with its serenity and relaxing massage. Overall, we had a memorable time and would recommend Villa Semana for any one looking for a peaceful get away with all the comforts and luxury of classy holiday resort.

Rgds,
Adam

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    71
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
433
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Villa Semana for 3 nights on our honeymoon, the hotel is amazing, the villas are great and best of all, the service!! I highly recomend the honeymoon treat at the spa, EXCELLENT!!!
The food is also great and there´s a free shuttle to Ubud every hour
Congratulations!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel feels very private and secluded as it has only ten villas. You hardly see the rest of the guest and the staff to guest ratio is very high, hence the service is excellent.
The location is great in the outskirts of Ubud, overlooking a river and the rice fields. We were lucky that we happened to be there for the harvest, it was very interesting to see the farmers collecting the rice in the traditional way just outside of our villa!
There is a free shuttle to and from the hotel to Ubud centre once an hour or so, it is very handy as even if taxis are cheap it is quite a pain to negociate a price with the drivers.
The food is amazing although quite pricey; is worth following the owners recommendations for restaurants in Ubud, he really knows what he is talking about.
We tried the spa and the cooking class. I highly recommend both, the cooking class was particularly great fun.
Overall a great experience, this is the place to go to recharge batteries.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Apart from the culture, Villa Semana would definitely be a main reason for us to visit Bali again. It was way beyond what we had thought it would be. We had booked for a deluxe private pool villa but to our surprise, on arrival we were upgraded to their Presidential river-facing private pool villa- Villa Cempaka and we couldn't have asked for more. We can say it had the most beautiful view, and set up. There was a spectacular view from every corner of the villa, right from the veranda to the pool, to the rooms, even from the bathroom,the view was awesome. The owner Mr. Suter, a very knowledgeable and friendly person, has many stories to share about the local culture and happenings (do take his handy advises). He would give a personal attention to all his guests. What was even more commendable, was the staff. Villa Semana has a very friendly and professional staff who would take great care of you.
They have some lip smacking range of food which my wife still craves for and their inhouse freshly baked banana cake during tea time is a must have. The decision to stay at Villa Semana was solely based on reviews on tripadvisor, and now we can say based on our personal experience that it was the best decision we made. We highly recommend Villa Semana to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Villa Semana is truly a place of amazing service. How many ways can we express our gratitude for their constant catering to our every desire. They know how to make someone feel like royalty and give the VIP red carpet. The entire staff greeted us by name anytime we saw them, and they knew our itinerary for the week. At breakfast we would be asked how we enjoyed riding the elephants the previous day, or how we liked our spa treatment, etc. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and booked the Rekindle Your Romance package. This package was Fabulous! The spa down by the river is a must, the morning yoga session was delightful, the chef prepared dinner poolside was delicious, the list could go on and on. The actual villa was very peaceful and relaxing. We always enjoy outside showers for an exotic feel. The private pool was wonderful and we used it every day. Also, the drivers arranged for us did an excellent job touring us around the island. One of the perks was visiting with our delightful host. He always had great advice and good stories. He answered our questions, sometimes before we even asked them. If you are considering Villa Semana, trust us, BOOK IT!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were really happy with our stay at Villa Semana- the reviews were all true and our villa ( Allamanda ) was perfect . The very private plunge pool was a generous size and we could sit by the edge and watch the river flow below us. The room was kept perfectly clean- the restaurant served wonderful food and we ate there on several occasions on our 4 day stay. Could not fault the staff and would like to thank them for making us feel very welcome. Should we visit Ubud again we would look no further than Villa Semana.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I am usually a budget traveler, looking for the best 'cheap' hotel I can find. This trip was for our anniversary, so we decided to splurge. Based simply on reviews, we picked this hotel and I crossed my fingers. It was easily the best hotel experience I've ever had. (I have also stayed in traditional 'five star' places for work, and they just didn't compare.) I didn't think I'd really like the service -- in general, I don't like service, I'd rather be left alone and just do my own thing. The sincerity and overall helpfulness of the staff here blew me away, though.

I was also nervous about the reviews that talked about lizards and frogs... My wife, especially, isn't a real "country" sort of girl, and we're both more computer-types. However, when we heard a few frogs in our villa, it was charming. We actually named the frog who sat on one of the flagstones near the pool; he was a constant friend, and we saw a few little baby frogs one night! The few lizards were just tiny geckos, also cute and very unobtrusive.

After spending some time walking around downtown Ubud, we were especially glad for the short remove that kept out hotel experience pristine and peaceful. The balance was perfect for us.

The hotel drivers -- for shuttles and for a longer, most-day tour we took -- were outstanding. They had chilled towels for us, and cold bottles of water that were most welcome. The tour we took was personalized by the hotel owner for us, and it perfectly met our desires. (We had looked at the pre-packaged tours, and told him none of them quite worked, so he made up a new one on-the-spot.)

My only 'complaint' would be the spotty Internet connection. There was free wifi in each villa, but I could only connect one out of every four of five attempts, and the connections dropped too frequently to allow a Skype conversation back home. However, I ultimately decided this was probably for the best -- we went on vacation to relax, and this was the ideal place to be away from it all. So I'm still going with a solid five stars, best recommendation I've ever made for a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Semana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.