We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Semana to your Saves list
Villa Semana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Zen location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Villa Semana wonderfully met my expectations. The villa was beautiful. Maid service occurred twice daily. It was such a pleasure showering in the outside shower. The gardens of the hotel were meticulously maintained. I enjoyed relaxing by the river watching birds, butterflies & dragonflies, and locals doing laundry in the river. A short drive to Ubud from the hotel; a shuttle is available to travel there. Easy to go to Ubud for a meal or shopping. The hotel arranged a batik class at the museum and the Bali Bird Walk-highly recommended! The only bummer of my trip was a severe sunburn... No fault of the hotel. Just a caution as the sun is brutal. Stay at Villa Semana. You will be happy that you did.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    72
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
437
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Out of the 23 days of honeymoon we spent in different cities in Asia like Phuket, Shanghai, Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur and Nusa Dua, the most romantic and peaceful days we experienced were during our stay at Villa Semana because of the warm, high-quality, kind hospitality and personalized service they offer.
The location takes to a very peaceful, full of nature, piece of paradise, specially if you make use of the services of the SPA next to the river, where you can have a lovely time with your couple.
I definitively recommend it and look forward to come back again.

Room Tip: Make sure your villa has its private pool : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of best places I ever been (and my expectations are high)
- uniquely place by the river in middle of jungle
- 10min with car to Ubud - cultural center of Bali
- organic cuisine exceptional in taste
- attentive service of nice local people
- well designed and clean rooms (quiet and fast service which you don't even see, but it's done)
- SPA is pure relax
- cars, drivers, bikes and generally personalized service
Privately owed by Gentleman with experience in multinational luxury hotels management. Cuisine is exceptional, I recommend trying at lease half of menu, some Michelin* restaurant can take an example of taste here. Nearby best restaurants (Moziac, Lamak) are good, but there is no this exceptional combination of organic and local cuisine.
Only 10 villas so not a lot of people, but you can meet some very interesting ones.

Do not count on resort facilities:
- no TV,
- not a party place, no loud music (you can go to Ubud to find some entertainment, but that's also not a party spot)
- restaurant is open air only, no resort style buffet, mostly 2 - 4 people there
- villas are mostly open air, AC in bedroom / bathroom
- no fitness
- not a place for kids nor singles

I would like to thank The Owner for attention to details in creating this place and provided knowledge of Bali and Asia.

Room Tip: Best rooms have open view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Villa Semana recently in one of the deluxe pool garden villas, having stayed about 10 times between 1997 and 1998 when we lived in Bali, but not for a long time unfortunately. We loved it very much then and we love it even more now, as we stayed in one of the new villas. A beautiful view and very romantic!
Our view was over a rice padi leading down to the Ayung River, simply stunning. We could float in our own private plunge pool and look at that view for hours. We did a very nice walk along the ridge above the Ayung River, ate beautiful food in the restaurant at the Villa and generally chilled out. We also had a mandi lulur treatment in their spa, and it was really good. The spa itself is on the banks of the Ayung and we were fortunate to have the local kids playing in the river at that time...happy sounds. Some local girls were practising their Legong dance...in the river!
Even though the villa is outside of Ubud there is a free shuttle bus to take you back and forth, which we used to shop and go to dinner etc. A nice touch.
We will be back, and we highly recommend it to all who want to experience the real Bali. A very high quality experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms have plunge pools, but most have the great view too...ask for one of those. Some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Villa Semana for two days soon after our wedding in the last week of November. There are so many things we remember about this place, few words about this place and which stays remembered are Romantic, picturesque, pleasant, peaceful, memorable and welcoming hosts. We reached the Villa at night, which took about an hour from the Airport, the moment we entered the premise, we felt as if we are getting into another world, a warm welcome at the lobby, we stayed at Villa Alamanda, at night all we could hear was the pleasant sound of river which was so soothing. The best part was seeing the real beauty of the place in the morning as soon we got up, the forest, river, small water fall, everything seemed so "out of the world" for us. The staff are very welcoming who made sure that all our needs are taken care, be it cooking us Vegetarian food as we are Vegetarians or the tour arrangements. Honeymoon flower decoration was amazing and the amenities provided were perfect. The location of the villa is so undisturbed whilst having good privacy. It was nice speaking to the owner of the villa Mr Jorg, who provided lot of information about the villa, places around, things to-do and vegetarian restaurants around Bali when we had to go on a tour in Bali. Room service and Spa treatment was excellent. The location of Spa is superb!
We traveled down south of Bali to Seminyak after our 2 days of stay here so to get an experience of staying near a seashore, however this made us realize how much we liked Ubud, and how much we miss Villa Semana.
It has been our lifetime experience, Villa Alamanda - a place to remember.. Thank You Villa Semana! :)

Room Tip: Villa Alamanda gave us a good view of River Ayung, I would want to stay there again if I ever get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked Villa Semana for 6 nights as a quiet and relaxing break after the hectic lead-up to our wedding. We couldn't have asked for a better place to unwind. From the stunning views over the rice paddy fields from our lap pool to massages on the river, this place was perfect. Quiet, private and incredibly well-serviced, there is no downsides to this place. Have not stopped raving about it since we got home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 6 wonderful nights at Villa Semana. It has all been said before in previous reviews. Beautiful location and scenery. The accommodation was outstanding. You could not find more friendly and attentive staff. The late check out was also very much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Semana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.