We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Honeymoon Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Semana

Save Saved
You added Villa Semana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Honeymoon Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked Villa Semana for 6 nights as a quiet and relaxing break after the hectic lead-up to our wedding. We couldn't have asked for a better place to unwind. From the stunning views over the rice paddy fields from our lap pool to massages on the river, this place was perfect. Quiet, private and incredibly well-serviced, there is no downsides to this place. Have not stopped raving about it since we got home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    69
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
411
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 6 wonderful nights at Villa Semana. It has all been said before in previous reviews. Beautiful location and scenery. The accommodation was outstanding. You could not find more friendly and attentive staff. The late check out was also very much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I just finished a very pleasant 2 night stay at Villa Semana near Ubud. Rooms were clean and a good size. Staff was very attentive and knew us by name. After spending a few days deep in central Bali, I came to appreciate how much work goes into maintaining a high end resort in an environment that is always pushing toward its natural state (which is to say a tropical jungle set upon a river).

All that said, Jorg the proprietor made the difference on our stay. He was quick to share his insider knowledge of town, and what to do and not to do in the area and we enjoyed hearing his stories. I would definitely seek out his counsel when you come down to breakfast in the morning. He will set you on the right path.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and were looking for a quiet and beautiful place to spend our silver wedding anniversary, and as always, we looked to Trip Advisor. And as always, Trip Advisor didn't let us down. In fact it excelled itself by taking us to the idyllic Villa Semana, a twenty minute drive from the eat,pray,love town of Ubud, Bali. From the first emails to Agus and Dewi, we knew we'd hit the jackpot. When we arrived, we found we'd been upgraded to their premium villa, Cempaka, a large tastefully furnished duplex villa with a large porch and a brilliant private plunge pool. For the first two days we were immersed in our own, private, undisturbed slice of Bali, from which we were loath to emerge. And when we were finally ready to foray into Ubud, the resort provided us with a complimentary hourly shuttle service. We were there for only four nights (not quite enough, six would be the minimum recommended) and will forever carry lovely memories - the unobtrusive and cheerful efficiency of Ayu and his staff, leisurely breakfasts with a spectacular view, Suastika manfully trying to pronounce our names every time he saw us, the radiant smiles on the faces of Rudiani and another young lady whose name has slipped our minds as they served us a special candlelit dinner the resort had organised for us (not easy, since we were vegans, but they pulled something delectable out of their hats), leisurely massages on the banks of the Ayung river by Ani and Asti, our driver Janawan's descriptions of life in Bali, and most of all, the rollicking stories we were regaled with each morning by the resort's colourful owner, Jürg Suter. There are just two things you should know about Jürg. One, nobody messes with him, and two, he really looks out for his guests. I hate writing reviews with only upsides. So here's the one downside about the Villa Semana. It makes you think only in cliches, and I hate cliches. Words like heavenly, oasis, paradise on earth, stunning views and the like, refuse to leave your head. If ever you want to go to Ubud, and you're looking for a non-eatpraylove experience, then Villa Semana is the place for you.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Was there on my honeymoon with my wife for 2 nights. Upgraded to the best villa in the property. Excellent room, view and private pool all to die for. Hardware may be a bit outdated but forgiveable. (old airconditioning-takes some time to cool rooms down, no bidets in toilets, music/cd player not up to standard relative to the villa). Would recommend more lighting at the private pool area. Service is excellent, real honest Balinese hospitality. Friendly owner. All in all its great and we wished we couldve stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were on our honeymoon in Bali and spend two nights in Villa Semana after a tour across Bali.
It probably was one of the most beautiful places we have stayed at so far. We were immediately upgraded to the best villa and treated to champagne, flowers and chocolate. The villa was a private, two-storey Balinese style villa overlooking a river and rice fields and allowed as well for enough privacy (e.g. private pool, etc). The facilities, such as spa and restaurant were also of excellent quality, in particular the spa on the river bank is worth a visit. Further the owner was very knowledgeable about Bali and gave us a lot of useful tips, e.g. we bought a beautiful painting in an art community he recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from Villa Semana and we are both feeling the benefits of our 6 night stay. We agree with all the outstanding reviews and found the whole experience quite magical. We chose a gardenview villa. Villa Lily was spacious and clean and stylishly furnished. We enjoyed the extra personal touches too, the daily fresh fruit bowl and the evening 'Good Night' sweet treats. Also the afternoon tea served in the garden overlooking the wonderful Ayung River. The location is stunning. The photos we took during our stay give a good idea of the beautiful setting - but to be there in person is to experience the full beauty and serenity of Villa Semana. It felt very exclusive and a world away from busy Hong Kong where we are living. The staff are charming and friendly and service is always with a smile. Our host Jurg gave us such a warm welcome too. We thoroughly enjoyed our bike ride with him - and felt privileged to have a private tour around the neighbouring villages and countryside. The spa treatments are amazing and the therapists highly skilled. Our friends and family will be hearing all about this very special holiday. Thank you everyone at Villa Semana. We very much look forward to returning soon! We miss our beautiful breakfasts already.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Semana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.