We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Semana

Save Saved
You added Villa Semana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Semana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 120 hotels in Ubud
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were on our honeymoon in Bali and spend two nights in Villa Semana after a tour across Bali.
It probably was one of the most beautiful places we have stayed at so far. We were immediately upgraded to the best villa and treated to champagne, flowers and chocolate. The villa was a private, two-storey Balinese style villa overlooking a river and rice fields and allowed as well for enough privacy (e.g. private pool, etc). The facilities, such as spa and restaurant were also of excellent quality, in particular the spa on the river bank is worth a visit. Further the owner was very knowledgeable about Bali and gave us a lot of useful tips, e.g. we bought a beautiful painting in an art community he recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    70
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
420
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from Villa Semana and we are both feeling the benefits of our 6 night stay. We agree with all the outstanding reviews and found the whole experience quite magical. We chose a gardenview villa. Villa Lily was spacious and clean and stylishly furnished. We enjoyed the extra personal touches too, the daily fresh fruit bowl and the evening 'Good Night' sweet treats. Also the afternoon tea served in the garden overlooking the wonderful Ayung River. The location is stunning. The photos we took during our stay give a good idea of the beautiful setting - but to be there in person is to experience the full beauty and serenity of Villa Semana. It felt very exclusive and a world away from busy Hong Kong where we are living. The staff are charming and friendly and service is always with a smile. Our host Jurg gave us such a warm welcome too. We thoroughly enjoyed our bike ride with him - and felt privileged to have a private tour around the neighbouring villages and countryside. The spa treatments are amazing and the therapists highly skilled. Our friends and family will be hearing all about this very special holiday. Thank you everyone at Villa Semana. We very much look forward to returning soon! We miss our beautiful breakfasts already.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spend beautiful holidays at Villa Semana. Everything from pick-up service to spa was excellent.
It's the best place for couples to stay for honeymoon or some romantic weekend.
The staff are very friendly, attentive - so you feel yourself like kings. Room service was really good - we came for breakfast and when we were back, our room was done!
Speaking about the location - the only world is harmony.
We spent 4 days at Villa Semana in pure romance and relax. I hope to come back as soon as it'll be possible!! And I want to thank staff of Villa Semana for such unforgettable time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to Bali for our honeymoon this July and we stayed in Villa Semana for 5 nights.
The villas are perfect; clean, spacious, well maintained & in perfect harmony with the Balinese culture.
The staff are extremely nice, efficient and helpful.
The hotel's location is perfect as you get the calmness but at the same time can be in the center of Ubud in 10 min & the hotel provides shuttles, free of charge, to and from the center.
We just LOVED Villa Semana & we thank everyone there for their extreme hospitality!

Ivy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Villa Semana really is a little gem! The setting is quite fantastic, on the edge of a river valley, and surrounded by sculpted rice fields. The Villas are well fitted, and all seem to have very pretty views - ours certainly did! The food at the restaurant was excellent, and the spa was really pleasant,pretty location, next to the river witht he sound of the running water. Above all, the staff were a delight! Always helpful, full of smiles, and Jurg Suter, owner/manager, had some great stories to tell.We would highly recommend this hotel, our 6 nights were just great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with on eof the better views - they are all good, but some exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Upon arriving at Villa Semana I was given special treatment & made to feel like I was the only guest, even though another couple was checking in at the same time - and then I was given a free upgrade to the Semana Suite, Cempaka -and it blew my mind. The villa is huge, the plunge pool is the biggest private plunge pool I've seen in Bali, the grounds (yes this private "room" is big enough to be worthy of that description) are incredible and to top it off, it directly over-looks the Ayung River in the Sanyan Valley. It's a hidden sanctuary in the beautiful Island of the Gods and one that I will definitely go back to again many times over the years.
The owner, Jurg Suter, made my visit even more welcoming with personal attention, for example when I mentioned I did yoga he organised for me to join a private yoga session with a exemplary Balinese Yogi Master on the Villa's river bank deck the following morning. It was an absolutely invigorating way to start the day. The restaurant over looks the infinity edge pool, the food is amazing, it is well priced for a resort restaurant, the staff are friendly & well trained & some of the ingredients are grown on-site in the wonderful herb garden which lays beside an amazing fish pond. If you are looking for a blissful, peaceful, rejuvenating holiday (or honeymoon) with a wonderful host then Villa Semana is the place to go in Ubud.

Room Tip: The Cempaka Villa is amazing, best view directly out to the Ayung River, has a large pool & grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I only have positive comments about Villa Semana, it was one of my best experiences so far. Carismatic staff, high quality service, marvelous spa, gorgeous landscape, great architecture, superior management and delicious food - everything and everyone were simply perfect! I was even surprised with a birthday cake on my day! It is definitely an inspiring place that invites you to relax, enjoy yourself and nature.

Room Tip: We stayed at Villa Kamboja with a great view to the paddy fields and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Semana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.