We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret - just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Ayu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Ayu
Save
You added Pondok Ayu to your Saves list
JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Sanur
Margaret River
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best kept secret - just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Just returned from 8 wonderful nights. Amazing facilities, simply lovely and friendly staff. Huge very clean rooms and lovely grounds. Too good to be true. Would be hard to beat on value for money too. Thanks to everyone for making our holiday so easy and enjoyable.
The Bucks - Margaret River WA

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fremantle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed at the Pondok Ayu at the end of May / start of June and simply had a great time. The room was very spacious, clean and well fitted. The overall hotel is delightful, and the staff are wonderful.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FreoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

What can i say that has not already been said!! Pondok Ayu is a beautiful small oasis, we were lucky enough to have the villa which was just amazing. Nothing was to much trouble for Gede and Made, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnygirlPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

What a wonderful peaceful place to stay. Home away from home. Gede, Made, Putu and the rest of the staff go out of there way to make your stay as perfect as possible. Having breakfast each morning with other guest was nice because you could talk to each other about the places and things you had done or bought and compare notes.My girlfriend and I had a massage and our nails done in the peace and quiet of the Resort, much more relaxing than down by the beach.I would love to come back with family and friends and book the place out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed for a week with our children aged two and three. This was one of five places that we stayed in Bali over the month we were there and the best by far. Most of the other places were in the same price point as this as well.

The staff are excellent, there English is strong, the drivers are good and know where they are going. The rooms are beautiful and clean. On site laundry and meals are affordable and good, the morning breakfast is delicious. The location is a great hub to see the rest of the island, as most of the major destinations are less than an hour from there. (Kuta, Ubud, Seminyak, Safari Park etc.)

The beach is close, and for the adventuresome a do-able walk. But they provide quick transport anyways. It is a nice beach with good shops, great food and entertainment.

Also, for the timid traveler, the owners and staff have done a great job of balancing the beauty of Bali with modern expectations. They know how to take care of their guests.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Hungry-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skuancy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Hi there Barb & Steve, and Gede, Mede, Putu Wayan, and everyone else, (wayan pool man) Gustu our new driver... and even the guy with the dodgy bike seat.. gardener (Benno, please please maybe give him a new seat)


Great to see all again... really like revisiting family and to meet Barb and Steve was great...


always great staying there, this would be our second time but not our last... as always we were all loved and pampered breakfast at any time you wake up even at 7am when the kids woke up, and ferried anywhere in Bali for a great price. and free in Sanur,

had given some suggestions to Barb while we were there, and I am sure they will get us what we want for next time :) but love your place Barb and steve... hope to see you soon'


Steve

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skuancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

This is my home away from home. The staff are fantastic and really go out of their way to make sure the guests are happy and comfortable.
The rooms are gorgeous and clean and cool.
The breakfasts are delicious.. I feel so safe when I am at Pondok and get the chance to unwind with a massage, facial, body scrub.. They will come to you upon request and the prices are cheap.
Even the taylor will come in and consult. My new garments were returned in a week and the quality was great.
My mum and dad and friends just returned from celebrating Dad's 80th at Pondok.
They haven' t stopped laughing and look so well.
They had a suckling pig party at Pondok with young Balinese Dancers to entertain.
The other guests all joined in.
There is no place like Pondok ....don't hesitate just go.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveachat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.9 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.1 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#11 of 71 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 71 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#10 of 71 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done direct with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing