We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Ayu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Ayu
Save
You added Pondok Ayu to your Saves list
JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Blissful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Friends highly recommended the Pondok Ayu and we joined them on their most recent stay. We were three families in all and there was plenty of areas to either gather for made to order brekky in the morning or retreat to have quiet time in your own space. Peaceful, pretty and family friendly, it has it all. The staff are delightful and welcoming. Transport provided, massages, meals on request and serenity to boot. Do yourself a favour and book

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    38
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
94
122
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Pondok Ayu (14th-21st June).

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children (8yo & 11yo). We booked the suite which was very roomy and beds very comfortable.

The staff are lovely and very accommodating. They kept our room very clean and took away our laundry daily. Gede, Made and company made us feel at home and always had a lovely smile.

The pool is nice and is right in the middle of the complex. So you can't avoid a communal atmosphere.

The breakfast was quite limited, though our boys were happy to have banana pancakes every morning (which they found delicious). I would have liked maybe yogurt to be added to the breakfast menu. Also it's good to know that if you want rice or noodles for breakfast, you have to tell staff the day before.

The location may put people off as you have to cross a very busy road to get the beach. Not ideal if you have small children but it's only a cheap taxi ride.

We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in the suite with our 3 young children for a week and it was perfect. Very spacious rooms and excellent air conditioning. We spent many days lounging by the pool and it was great to chat to the other guests, many of whom are regular visitors to this superb hotel. The walk to Sanur beach was delightful, but if it was too hot to walk the staff were happy to drop us there at any time. The breakfast pancakes were a highlight for our little people!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Recently had 3 nights at this gorgeous hotel. Late night pickup at airport by Gede, our allocated room had broken aircon so first night got put in the suite, this is awesome, living room, massive bedroom, bathroom, dressing room, bath. Sadly we had to move next day but no biggie, staff helped move us to ground floor deluxe room, which there is nothing wrong with either. The pool is perfect, clean and not too chilly. Met lots of diff couples at breakie (all Aussies) and all had previously stayed at pondok. Driver on hand to do restaurant run at night, we just caught a $2 taxi back but had we had.a phone could have rang for pickup too. Gede very obliging to drop you anywhere in sanur during the day, we only walked into town once, yes bit of negotiation across busy traffic. Very quiet and peaceful location, great price too. Only negative breakie was average but it filled the spot and the girls are lovely. We will return, hopefully to book the whole place out with all our friends!

Room Tip: Suite great, deluxe ground floor would be my next tip but only cos we hate stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello Megzy13, Thank you for your comments and so glad you enjoyed your night in our suite, we also appreciate you being so easy with the problem and i am sure you could see how we try to please our guests at all times.

Hope to see you at Pondok again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

with all the bad Bali media going on in OZ I would just like to say that Pondok ayu is very safe and you are extremely well looked after by the staff and drivers. This was my second visit and I will be back next year !

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Kasey60. It is hard at this moment as you say with all the negatives in australi regarding Bali but hopefully it will all be old news soon.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Pondok and all the staff realy appreciate receiving guests comments.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This boutique hotel is the best I have ever stayed in. The accommodation is beautiful & the staff are the best ever. It's like a home away from home only better. It is both clean & very comfortable, air conditioned for the heat & the pool & meals are excellent.

Room Tip: All if the rooms are wonderful, spacious and very clean & modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Jennifers, Thank you thank you I am very proud off Pondok and all my staff, i am sure you experienced their happy smiles that show how much they enjoy their job and looking after all the great guests that visit Pondok Ayu.

Regards,
Gede Kartaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying 12-nights at Pondok Ayu, Sanur in Bali.
It is without doubt one of the best hotel stays my wife and I have enjoyed across the planet!!
More like visiting and staying with a friend in their home, we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we were picked up at the airport - and the ever smiling and happy, Gede there to great us and transfer to Pondok Ayu.
With only 5-rooms, the hotel is a very relaxed style and the location could not be better - no passing traffic; an easy and pleasant 10-minute walk to the beach and always the option for a car transfer by Gede or the team, if required.
The staff provided the best breakfast options every morning and welcomed us with those ever smiling faces and pleasant conversation.
Lunch - if we stayed in - was a great selection - as was dinner - and the ever present "what can we do to please?" a real joy to experience!!
I hesitate to go on - bookings I understand are starting to be a year out or more - but suffice to say, with over 30-years of corporate travel across the globe, I now consider Pondok Ayu the best hotel to relax in, of any I have stayed in - PERFECT IN EVERY SENSE!!
A big thank you to all the staff - Maureen and Gordon look forward to visiting with "our family" again, soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - with only 5 to choose from - all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done direct with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Ayu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.