We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just love Pondok Ayu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Ayu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Ayu
Save
You added Pondok Ayu to your Saves list
JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Margaret River
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We just love Pondok Ayu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent our first New Year in Bali at Pondok Ayu (have stayed there 5 times now) Again it was fabulous. We just love the whole set-up, the rooms are so clean and have everything we needed, the pool is perfect, staff unbelievably friendly and helpful. Food, drinks and laundry are very cheap and the food is so fresh and yummy. Thanks to everyone at Pondok Ayu. We will be back but book early as it's always very heavily booked. Terima kasih

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    38
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
94
124
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I think the positive reviews of this place are well-founded, but the few negatives are not wrong either. It's a nice smart guest house (I think hotel is pushing it) with friendly staff in an inconvenient location. That's it. Personally I think all the 5-blob ratings are over-selling it and setting others up for disappointment.
Advantages -very good value, nice smart rooms with plenty of space -much bigger than at the (now closed) Bali Hyatt for example. Pool area is small but very nicely kept, clean and pleasant. Breakfast is simple but fresh. Staff are friendly and helpful, though the lack of a real manager is sometimes noticeable. Free airport pickup is a big plus, though in our case we looked at all the welcome signs in vain and about 10 minutes after we came through we were weighing up the options of taking a taxi or buying a local SIM card to call the driver when he finally appeared talking about traffic.
Disadvantages -the big one is that it's far from the interesting bit of Sanur. It's clear from the website and elsewhere that it's not a central place to stay but I'd advise others to be clear just how far out it is. To give an idea of the scale of this issue, it's not just the 'wrong' side of the main drag through the town, but even on the wrong side of the bypass road. Adults without kids may just about be able to walk in, but even they will be pretty hot and sweaty by the time they get where they want to go. With small kids it's not remotely an option. The driver (also 'manager', handyman, tour guide...) Gede is well-meaning and a nice guy but on more than one occasion he was otherwise engaged and on another we gave up waiting at the agreed pick-up point after 15 minutes and took a cab. For transport from the hotel the notice in the room says 'take a taxi and we'll pay' but the driver had certainly not been paid so we did. Not a problem in itself as the fares are really cheap, but a bit of an 'information gap'. So for us the idea of a shuttle service didn't compensate for the location. As mentioned above the rooms are nice but the A/C was struggling with even quite temperate heat outside so due for a service.
Not apparent from the website or some other reviews is quite how tiny this place is -just 5 rooms. Some obviously love this, which is great for them. The intimacy can be a pro or con though so go into this with eyes open. The communal breakfast area wasn't great for us for example and the forced friendliness felt rather awkward at that time of day, but others obviously love it.
So -a sweet little place and I can see why some travellers have fallen in love with it. For us it's not really suitable so we won't be rushing back, but as long as you know what you're getting you won't be disappointed. Sanur itself is lovely, much better than chaotic Kuta or artificial Nusa Dua. But wherever you go in Bali you're likely to have a good time.

Room Tip: The two upstairs rooms are a lot more private. All have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We found the Pondok Ayu to be clean, friendly and comfortable. I liked how we had breakfast
with the other guests and so we enjoyed exchanging travel stories with them.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming so we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We are a family of four. Two adults and two children(3 and 5 years old).
We stayed at Pondok ayu for 6nights in december 2013, and are so happy with our stay.
Friendly and servicminded staff. Very nice and clean rooms and pool was perfect for us.
Brekfast was also also great and lunchmenu had meny options to a nice price.
Massage and driving service was also excellent.
Thanks for a very nice stay, Ola, Astrid, Kristian and Linda from Norway

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked Pondok Ayu due to it's reviews, size and cost. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back. We stayed all in the same room with our two boys aged 3 and 5, at first we were a little unsure of this, but the boys were so tired at the end of each day, they crashed into bed whilst we sat outside with a drink. Getting into Sanur was easy, as there was nearly always a driver on hand to take you in, if not a taxi was called. I felt very safe here, and my boys were happy to play in the alley and say hello to the local children passing for school each morning and afternoon. It is a real little haven in the craziness of Bali. All the staff were very friendly and the rooms were immaculate. The cost of beer and soft drinks and laundry was exceptionally reasonable compared to other places we stayed too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

In oktober 2013 we stayed at Pondok Ayu for 8 days. This was our first time here and it will certainly not be the last. The warm welcome was just the begin of a great time. The appartement was comfortable and very clean. The friendly and helpfull staff made us feel at home. Delicious breakfast every morning and Made makes the best fried noodles we ever had. Thank you Gede, Made and the rest of the staff for our great stay at this little paradise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed here with our 3 kids, we were all in the same room and there was enough room for us to feel very comfortable with the kids catered for with roll out bed and a mattress on the floor. The staff are really welcoming and helpful and our kids had a great time interacting with staff and other guests. It was especially special for our daughter who turned 13 while we were staying and staff and guests gave her a cake - great memories for her.

I was concerned we wouldn't get a room when I booked 6 months earlier due to the number 1 position on TA - always give them a try as they do get cancellations. Thanks everyone at Pondok Ayu for such a great experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: JL. Sekuta | Gang Pudak, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done direct with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Ayu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.